Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gulf Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1038 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

I got posted on twitter by the head lee County person on twitter rreading to the kids


Posted March 11, 2014

This is an amazing school I have a very high standard when it comes to choosing a school for my children as I come from a family of high level educators. I am thrilled with the passion delivered by all of the staff, the highly encouraged parent involvement, and the detail to the curriculum. In regards the other parents post, the children can bring water bottles daily and water fountain use is permitted. Children sit with their peers from their class everyday at lunch. I've also never seen any staff members be intimidating or out looking for dress code violations. Quite the opposite actually and I am at the school on a weekly basis to help out, as well as random visits at lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

Very pleased with school. My kids love the new STEM class. We like how they include the family in events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

My child's school is Gulf Elementary. This is the sixth child we have put through Gulf. 4 of our children graduated from Gulf and Lee County High Schools. All had college scholarships . All were National Honor Society Students. The foundation was set at Gulf.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2013

My child has attended this school for 3 years and has been miserable. The vice principle stands in the door way upon arrival of the students, staring them down to write all children up for dress code even if it is appropriate. The administration, in my opinion, uses intimidation to scare the children for their own power trips. Children are not allowed to bring water bottles to school nor are they allowed to leave class to go to the water fountains. Kids are split up at lunch and unable to sit with their peers.I myself have complained to the principle in regards to the way the students are treated. the students feel as if they are going to a prison camp. It's very unfortunate, this school has amazing teachers but unprofessional administration, and vice principle. The district should send home surveys to the households and get the feed back about this school to possibly improve policy. It's ashame when students are bullied by their own administration. I would never recommend this school since it destroys self esteem in children, the teachers would benefit from seeking employment elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

I am a picky parent. I want the best for my kids. I have had great experiences with the teachers. My daughter has fit in quite well and is comfortable with her environment. The 2012-2013 school year has brought many significant changes. The new leadership has had time to implement its mission. Change is hard on the parents and I have tried to take that all into account as I write this review. Over the past few months a chill has crept into the school. What was once a warm inviting place has become cold and indifferent. For the first time ever in 4 years it has begun to feel like the largest elementary school in Lee County. Our family has now become a number instead of a name. Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

We moved from New Jersey and both of my kids went to Gulf Schools. My youngest had some difficulties reading but thanks to his teacher Mrs. Guyan, he improved his reading, he learned not only to read great but to enjoy school. His grades were very good and his experience at Gulf Elementary for him and for myself has been a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2012

My two children attend Gulf Elementary, and I cannot say enough good things about the school. We transferred here from Palm Beach County School District. Talk about a different between night and day. The teachers at Gulf are caring and involved and treat each student like an individual. The instruction at Gulf is excellent. The classes are exciting for my sons. The ESE program is absolutely outstanding. Any time I've had any concern, I was responded to immediately, and the issue was dealt with professionally and promptly. Thank you to all the hard-workers at Gulf elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

My 2 kids go to Gulf Elementary when we moved here 2years ago I heard many compliment about this school so when we put them in I was excited but The teachers of my kids were so business like and no passion, they were just too busy to finish their task, all I heard from them were "She can't do this he can't do this. I don't know why can't do it" If they can't be patient, passion or simply can't love kids just quit it. And they are so defensive thats make tall walls between parent & teacher. But their substitute teachers & special ED teacher were great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

ESE teachers are awesome..always going the extra mile . The teachers are dedicated and loving nor have I ever seen such a great principal. Walks around the whole campus. Checking on everyone and everything going on in the school. He knows every childs name. Amazes me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

Great teachers but the leadership simply sucks. The previous principal was much more willing to help with issues to resolve them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

My grandson is in K at Gulf and I am amazed at all he is learning. I had heard good things about this school - and it has not disappointed me.


Posted April 15, 2010

My son is in 5th grade at Gulf Elementary and has been here since 4th grade. Our experience hasn't been that great. The teacher is very nice, competent and returns emails the same day. He is very helpful too. However, there is Bully in the classroom, this kid also misbehaves etc The teacher has declared he cannot handle him and nothing has been done about it. There is no support given to the teacher that is faced with such a challenge. Kids do not assimilate different cultures well.... and they do not offer Spanish. Never have I heard of a school that did not offer Spanish in Florida. Teachers need support it shouldn't be all about the numbers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

5 Stars the best school for both my sons. They are learning way ahead of the curve thanks to the great teacher and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Year after year, Gulf Elementary upholds its reputation by being an A+ school. There is much dedication which exists within these school walls and, bottom line, it's all for the sake of putting our children first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Gulf Elementary is a fantastic school! The reading program that is implemented in Kdg. and 1st grade is phenominal. The staff is fantastic and they truely care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

From the staff to the faculty these people love children! The atmosphere and the environment are positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

My daughter has attended Gulf Elementary School since kindergarden and she loves it. Espically Mr Mesch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

This is our second generation of children going to Gulf Elementary School. Mr. Mesch is a outstanding Prinipal! His excellent memory (remembering each childs name and family members) makes everyone feel very comfortable there and his energetic spirit is contagious. No wonder parents and teachers strive so hard to do their best. The school is equipt with computers and the newest learning equiptment that make them hunger for achievemt. Parents are eager to help and the teachers are very dedicated. I would recommend ths school highly to anyone moving to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

As a parent and future educator i am disappointed to say that this school is more concerned with numbers then they are with the education of there students! After expressing my concerns of my sons grades and behavior to the teacher and having no change ... i brought it to the principals in hopes that something could be done ( such as a class change) they were very defensive of there teacher and would not change his classroom to a teacher with a different learning style because it would mess up there class size.In addition I asked to observe and volunteer in my sons classroom to get a better understanding of what was going on. I was ignored and felt pushed away and not involved with my sons education. If you are a parent that wishes to be apart of your son/daughter education please rethink Gulf Elem. School!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

186 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

178 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 42%
Hispanic 23% 29%
Black 3% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%66%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3400 SW 17th Pl
Cape Coral, FL 33914
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 549-2726

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Nicaea Academy
Cape Coral, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT