Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,008 students|Lee
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 76 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gulf Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
We switched from Diplomat to Gulf and Gulf is so much better! There are some great teachers there and the principal and vice principal are open to talking to parents and addressing concerns. I love extra activities they do before and after school. They also don't mind if you stop by to eat lunch with your kid, unlike at Diplomat. They are doing a great job!

Gulf Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
I love Gulf! My daughter loves it as well! I only have one child so I don't have anything to compare it to,but I couldn't be happier by the education she is receiving.


Gulf Elementary School 5

Posted July 24, 2015
- a community member
They always give my child the extra help and attention she needs. The after school program and summer camp is awesome! My daughter LOVES it there!

Gulf Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
STEM, technology, Art 1 time per week, the Watch Dog program, the family nights allow for me as a parent to take an active role in my children's education. My two kids love going to school and participating in the after school activities. As a family we are very pleased with the academic programs as well as all the extra-curricular activities.

Gulf Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a community member
I got posted on twitter by the head lee County person on twitter rreading to the kids


Gulf Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school I have a very high standard when it comes to choosing a school for my children as I come from a family of high level educators. I am thrilled with the passion delivered by all of the staff, the highly encouraged parent involvement, and the detail to the curriculum. In regards the other parents post, the children can bring water bottles daily and water fountain use is permitted. Children sit with their peers from their class everyday at lunch. I've also never seen any staff members be intimidating or out looking for dress code violations. Quite the opposite actually and I am at the school on a weekly basis to help out, as well as random visits at lunch.

Gulf Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
My child's school is Gulf Elementary. This is the sixth child we have put through Gulf. 4 of our children graduated from Gulf and Lee County High Schools. All had college scholarships . All were National Honor Society Students. The foundation was set at Gulf.

Gulf Elementary School 1

Posted April 20, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended this school for 3 years and has been miserable. The vice principle stands in the door way upon arrival of the students, staring them down to write all children up for dress code even if it is appropriate. The administration, in my opinion, uses intimidation to scare the children for their own power trips. Children are not allowed to bring water bottles to school nor are they allowed to leave class to go to the water fountains. Kids are split up at lunch and unable to sit with their peers.I myself have complained to the principle in regards to the way the students are treated. the students feel as if they are going to a prison camp. It's very unfortunate, this school has amazing teachers but unprofessional administration, and vice principle. The district should send home surveys to the households and get the feed back about this school to possibly improve policy. It's ashame when students are bullied by their own administration. I would never recommend this school since it destroys self esteem in children, the teachers would benefit from seeking employment elsewhere.


Gulf Elementary School 3

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
I am a picky parent. I want the best for my kids. I have had great experiences with the teachers. My daughter has fit in quite well and is comfortable with her environment. The 2012-2013 school year has brought many significant changes. The new leadership has had time to implement its mission. Change is hard on the parents and I have tried to take that all into account as I write this review. Over the past few months a chill has crept into the school. What was once a warm inviting place has become cold and indifferent. For the first time ever in 4 years it has begun to feel like the largest elementary school in Lee County. Our family has now become a number instead of a name. Sad.

Gulf Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2012
- a parent
We moved from New Jersey and both of my kids went to Gulf Schools. My youngest had some difficulties reading but thanks to his teacher Mrs. Guyan, he improved his reading, he learned not only to read great but to enjoy school. His grades were very good and his experience at Gulf Elementary for him and for myself has been a blessing.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gulf Elementary School
3400 Southwest 17th Place, Cape Coral, FL  33914
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 76 reviews. (239) 549-2726
Last modified Gulf Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top