Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mariner High School

Public | 9-12 | 1474 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2007

They Focus to much on Fcat. and lets face it our children need to learn beyond FCAT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

My daughter is graduating mariner this May. She has loved her 4 years there and is going to miss it terribly, and so will I. She was a varsity cheerleader and always did well in her classes. Her teachers and the staff have been great. Anyone who is deciding to let their child come to Mariner will be very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

I was a student at Mariner,and I must say the school is a joke.Unless you play football or are an exceptional art student,no attention is paid to you or your needs.Most of the teachers and administration are a joke.Needless to say,I feel I wasted 4 years of my life in a high school that just didn't care about the students who would not go on to play pro football or become an artist.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2007

Mariner HS has been a great school for my child. The honor classes are challenging and the extra curricular activities are designed to include all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

We have one student who graduated from Mariner and one still there. Both students enjoyed their years at Mariner and were involved in extra-curricular activities. We have seen four principals in the six years we have been there, although the first one was there for many years before our kids got there. Teacher quality is good, (some are great) and communication with parents is usually good, but there are always exceptions. Sometimes the administration seems more concerned with the school improvement plans they make than in actual improvements. If problems arise in scheduling, academics, or discipline they are dealt with fairly well in accordance with school district guidelines, time available, etc., but not always with the best interests of the students in mind. Overall, our experience with Mariner has been positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

This is my son's second year at Mariner High School. We have moved here from a small town in NH and we have been surprisingly pleased by the staff and administration's communication skills in creating a more community feeling to this large school experience. At the start of school this year, I had some scheduling questions and was pleased to have run into the Principal of MHS in the courtyard. I was impressed that he took the time to inquire about my concerns and took the time to listen and offer professional advise on some resolution. I went to my son's guidance counselor and it all worked out. Thank you Eric.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2006

Very disappointed in Mariner. I have 2 students that were assigned to the school after moving here from midwest. No concern for academic learning, nly preperation for FCAT. My kids worry about being ready for college. Midwest schools far superior. Mariner is a school that is concerned with show, but when it comes to preparing the students for college, and making sure that they are prepared to be sucessful members of the work force as adults, they miss the boat. The administrative team does not work well with parents, and high school at Mariner is miserable. I would never recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

This is an attractive school. My son is doing well and enjoying it. He has some honor classes, and it has a good art department. I wish they offered orchestra as my children played in the orchestra in middle school. They offer many extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

Mariner High school is a nice school. There are different cultures introduced to the student, and many diverse classes that are pleasant.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2006

One child graduated from Mariner, one still there. Overall, we have been happy with the school, students progress, and school's communication with parents. Leadership quality is good. We are happy with discipline policies. Have had a few communication with individual teachers, but overall that area has been good too. There are music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities to chose and students are encouraged to participate. Parents have the opportunity to be involved, and are encouraged to do so, but opportunities are not always made known in time to plan to be there. Overall, teacher quality is good, and a few are excellent, but there are always exceptions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I was Principal of MHS for 2004-2005 year. The students,parents and staff are excellent. The 2005 school grade should be viewed with understanding of the State System. 2005 produced 91% of the 10th grade students at 3.5 or better, the highest FCAT writes in school history. The Math achievement of 73% at grade level or above was the highest in school history. The Math gains of 70% of students showing proficiency were very good and were inclusive of all sub groups. The AYP rating of 80% was up 10% over the previous year. Reading with struggling readers was up 2% over 2004 but failed to reach 50% for second year. The State reduced the C grade to D. Mariner scored ahead of four other Lee County schools who received C. I point this out so that parents can be aware of the achievements at MHS. Go Tritons! I am proud!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 7, 2005

My experience with Mariner High School in the past has been unsatisfactory. My Daughter whom is now 21 took it upon herself to transfer out of Mariner and paid her own way through a private school for her senior year. My son was denied his diploma because his counselor made a mistake with his credits. I'm not very happy with Mariner High Scool, and I would never send another child of mine through their 'wacky' system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2005

we moved here from ohio no school spirit at mariner.alot of racial problems. students should speak english on the shool campus.great parent involvement in wrestling program. no aknowledgement for achievement for the wrestlers. safety is a issue.some teachers seem to care others are there only for a pay check
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

I attended Mariner for my entire high school career. Most of the teachers that were there while I attended were amazing and a few of them still remain, but the district has neglected the needs of the advanced level students due to the state policy of 'grading' schools based on FCAT scores. They focus more attention on at-risk students to get a better state grade, it hurts the overall curriculum, but that's a state problem. The AP teachers, especially in the English and Math departments are stellar. The soccer teams are also very talented and have a good reputation. The band program is very large and one of the best in the state. While I attended the drama department was amazing also, but has lost its sparkle in recent years. The advisors, especially for the senior class are very helpful and more dedicated than most. It's a good school overall.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 1, 2004

This school I believe has a positive atmosphere. Although, I believe students should be given more freedom of expression and be treated as young adults. At Mariner students are babied more then other schools in the county.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 2, 2004

Our children have previously attended schools in the midwest and on the Pacific coast. When it comes to overall learning, Mariner High School gets a 'D' at best. The midwest schools were OK; California schools were 'PC'; this school is lost.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

375 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

333 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
38%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 30% 29%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 89%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%66%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 Chiquita Blvd N
Cape Coral, FL 33993
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 772-3324

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Cape Academy
Cape Coral, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT