Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cape Coral Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 656 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

This school is beyond help!!! I have three children in this school and this is their second year. (K,4,7) We gave them another shot this year, because we were told that things were going to change. Nothing has changed it has just gotten worse. The kids are talked down to on a daily basis. The spanish class for middle school is not a spanish class they just sit in there and do study island, with a different teacher everyday. Teachers are rude for the most part, you can tell they are just there for the pay check. Office staff is horrible and the VP and P are disrespectful and rude. My middle schooler has no homework, and they don't grade kids papers or homework they just mark it if it is done. There are no after school activities or clubs for the kids to participate in. They embarrass kids by posting their benchmark scores outside the classroom with their names on them. So kids who aren't doing well on the benchmarks are in the red and the other kids are higher. This causes bullying, and other children to be made fun of. I could go on and on.... This school is a joke and we are sending our kids to a new school next year. Run very far away from this school and don't look back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2014

A really bad School,with many ridiculous rules ;they have to focus in students academic performance and not in the student appearance,like hair style.They have some classes like spanish where is not even a teacher;is a computer program that teach them . They teacher dont stay for long time ,so the kids constantly have new teachers.My only reason to have my kids there is that is close to my house,but I dont reccomend to anybody.Is really bad becouse the other charters are really good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

I was looking online to check the school's phone # and stumbled across this site.I am surprised to see the negative reviews.One thing I read I is not true because they dont take 3 year olds.My daughter attended this school from K-5 and although there were a few problems concerning a crazy secretary (there is a new better one) the teachers are great.The school is very safe which can sometimes be inconvenient, it is for the better.There is free tutoring & I can access my kids grades anytime online.My daughter was in a cheerleading club that she loved and a book club, for a small fee.The principal was never there,but anytime I wrote to the teacher in my daughter's planner I always got a response the same day except maybe twice.One year my daughter, had two teachers leave the school but she didn't seem to care & liked each new one. I will admit the the K-2 staff is a lot better than the older grades but good overall.Parent pick up can be long in the beginning but gets quicker as the year goes on, I think less than 30 minutes.I went to PTO meetings that were very dull, but the PTO events were pretty good.There is a great Halloween event and one year they had snow for Christmas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2013

When I moved here from North Carolina I heard how great Charter Schools were and thought I would give them a try. My son has always been an above average student. They said that since that was the case they would enrol him in the Cambridge program. I thought that was going to be perfect. At open house I noticed that they didn't put him in the class like they said they would. I let it go after trying to find out why for over a week. My son was in the 4th grade during the 2012-2013 school year and I thought it very odd that he NEVER had homework. I got his report card and he was making straight A's so I figured everything was going great. I had to relocate and couldn't keep my son in this school any more. What a blessing in disguise! When he was enrolled into his new school in Lee County my son was struggling with the new curriculum?!?!? He never had an issue before, so I couldn't understand what was wrong. I found out that the Charter Schools don't have to follow the same rules as the public schools do?!?!? So since they weren't teaching him what he needed to learn he got behind. Never once did I ever hear from his teached either. Very disappointed in this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

Cape Coral Charter School...This is a great school for families who want a private school feel at no cost. The academics are great, the uniforms are easy and no hassle. My daughter has been there since Kindergarten, (now finishing 3rd grade) and my son will start Pre-K at the start of this next school year. The office staff is very helpful but SIS NEVER has the homework or information its supposed to have. That would be my only complaint (SIS DOESNT DO WHAT ITS ADVERTISED TO DO), other then that we are very happy and our child has great grades and good friends :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

This school is terrible! I have two children that will not be attending next year. After they made my son change his shorts on picture day, which clearly started no uniforms. My son wears a size 7, they made him change into a size 10 girls. He was so embarrassed that he came home crying. This could have been a simple error on the paper they sent home which would have been fine. They could have at last called to see if we could bring him his own clothes. I have emailed both the principal and vice principal with no response for over a weak. Unfortunately, there have been other issues that we let go. Please beware if you plan on sending your children there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

This school is a nightmare for our family. Run for the hills. Not only are they completely not responsive...not but they are verbally and physically abusive to the kids that attend this school. If you have no problem with your 3 year old being isolated on the playground in 95 degree weather and getting sunburned because of it... Take your child here :) they have no compassion for children...its like a military school...rules, rules, rules...no play, no PE, no arts, just prep for FCATs...this school traumatized my child and gives us little faith in ever putting our children in a public school. They are a disgrace!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

Im suprised this "school" is even still running. Im a 7th grader, and I've been there since 3rd grade. It was great at first, but they cant keep teachers for more than a month! There has already been 3 teachers for Middle School math. Plus at the beginning of the year you have to buy overpriced uniforms in a busy store with rude staff members. The principal is never even there, and when she is at the school, she watches us at P.E. and corrects us on everything we do! If i could, I'd rate this school negative 17 stars. Rude teachers, bad staff, and a principal that uses the fundraising money to buy more BMWs.


Posted July 17, 2012

My daughter had a great experience starting her school career at CCCS. Her teacher went above and beyond helping her. Mrs. Sorkin is definitely there for the children. I truly hope when my younger two are ready for school they can have her as a teacher! They did offer her after school tutoring in Kindergarten which helped her also. I found the office staff friendly. To top it off, we are looking forward to the next school year!! Keep up the good work CCCS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

My son attended the 1st grade at CCCS 2011/2012 school year. The school is very safe, helpful staff and good teachers; however, there was not a tutoring program available for my son nor are there extra curricular activities available for the elementary students (only middle school students), and also the children are never sent home with information regarding Cape Coral events or sign-ups for sports. With all of that being said, overall I am very pleased with CCCS and will also send our younger son to Kindergarten there, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

What a great school. The activities are so neat for an elementary school. The academic experience and my child's teacher are super. I really appreciate the communication from the principal and that when I had a question the principal helped me without delay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

This is school is horrible. My children attended for approximately 2 years and I would never go back. The AP is ok but the principal is absolutely horrendous. I have personally witnessed her being rude to teachers and staff while I was signing was children out in the front office. The office person is rude as well. DO NOT SEND YOU CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

I WOULD NOT HAVE MY SON IN ANY ANOTHER SCHOOL. THE TEACHERS ARE HELPFUL, KIND OUTGOING. AND PUT THE STUDENT FIRST. THE NURSE IS WONDERFUL AND HELPFUL TOO! THANK YOU CAPE CORAL CHARTER SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

Great School,with great new vice principal!! Dr.Nauss is NEVER available. Lots of Fun events held at school by Pto. Nice teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

This school is one of the worst I have seen. the principale is un-responsive to email or messages we even went there and could not talk with her so we left a message again with the front desk and were told for 3 weeks someone will contact you. no one ever did so 3 weeks later we withdrew our son and enrolled him in a school where they actually care about the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

Red flag red flag!!! do not send your child here!!!! where do i begin? You are forced to purchase school uniforms from an over-priced vendor who is very slow to deliver and rude on the customer service end. Secondly, parent pick-up is atrocious. If your kid misses their name being called in a loud auditorium, you have to get back into the line and wait again - talk about 'going round in circles'. I've seen mothers cry with a baby crying in the back seat. They won't bring your kid out to you - they make you go through the whole line again. As parents, who needs more stress????That's a good way to describe the way that parents are treated 'going around in circles'. The parents are 'alerted' and called on silly things like stepping out of line in the cafeteria- but where's the phone call when your kid is struggling????Nowhere!!!run!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

I will be withdrawing my kid from this school soon, there is no walking-parent pickup and it takes approx 40 minutes in the car line. It's been 3 months since he started the VPK program and he hasn't learned any letter or number. He says that the teachers are mean and he is only 4. You go to the PTO meetings and absolutely no one speaks to you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

We have pulled our son from this school after his kindergarten year. He will be starting at a local public school this fall for his first grade year. We were new to the area and chose this charter B grade school because some of our friends kids went there. Huge Mistake!!! His teacher could care less and often called him by the wrong name. There is no gym at this school, all of the children use the same bathrooms no matter the age/grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

I was pleasently surprised 2 find all the negative comments on this school. I wish I would have read these b/f we got invovled 2 yrs ago. You have to order special uniforms from a specific company. The kids (8 & 12) always had so much hmwork they couldn't B kids M-F. The staff ACTS helpful but you will never get results. At times they seem rude & talk down to you. The prinicpal Dr. Naus specifially has promised to help w/ a few situation but never never never has come through. We recently w/drew & are hoping to find better. If you are thinking bout this school...stay away!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

We have 2 children..one in 1st and one in 6th grade. Can never get through to anyone in the office....always get voicemail and no one ever calls you back. My child in 1st is often mistaken for another child in class even though it has been half a year. I have recieved the other childs reportcards and work. I do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 42%
Hispanic 39% 29%
Black 9% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 97%66%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Deborah Nauss
Fax number
  • (239) 995-0369
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

76 Mid Cape Ter
Cape Coral, FL 33991
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 995-0904

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT