Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Island Coast High School

Public | 9-12 | 1532 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2014

I'm actually accepted here. Before this place, I was bullied all the time. I was a misfit. From Caloosa Middle, to NFM Academy of the Arts. I was never accepted and people went over-the-top with me. But this school was different. I was in tears of how open minded the kids were. All you have to do is have a positive attitude. The school spirit here is astounding from admins. The students never bullied me, and I can openly say that I like they find weird, and a teacher or staff member will do all they can, literally, to stand up for me should any one say something, and by something, I mean it won't even go as far as something so little that it's not even a real insult to me. I never knew people could be so accepting of me, and fun! Especially Spanish 1's teacher. If you have this teacher at Island Coast, you will love this school, and that's a CERTAINCY. This school's kindness has me in tears, just thinking about it makes me think I'm truly at home. Keep shining Gators, just keep on shining. :')
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2014

I find it funny how there are countless amounts of good reviews when I myself think negativity. Don't get me wrong, SOME of the teachers well-educate their students but most of them care what's on their pay check! Most of the students are rather accepting towards everyone but also half of the students,from my experience, are RUDE. Principle Bueno on the other hand is great while being heavy on the dress code for unecessary items.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2014

My daughter was sick and feeling strange for a few days and I had no idea what was going on but do to the concern of her teachers, she was sent to the nurse who figured out my daughter was diabetic. It was day before springbreak and she was going out of town with her grandparents the next day. I don't know much about the teaching stuff but I do know they probably saved her life. Thanks to all involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2014

My daughter attends this school and I must say this is a GREAT one! When we moved to Cape Coral everyone told me to keep her out of this school and I was really worried about her attending but hoped for the best and it turned out even better! She is thriving academically and athletically there and has no problems! All of her teachers are wonderful! Don't let the rumors fool you, ICHS is absolutely awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2012

The School is convenient, the food is well and people are nice. I like it
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2012

Cont from prior review-Forgot, the one thing ICHS lacks, and makes NO sense to me with the success of their teams (mainly football) is spirit!!! The concession stands at the football games is a complete JOKE. There is no program for the games (like other local high schools-all it takes is company sponsors) and the band was nonexistant until last year. We have the talent that no other schools have, now lets get behind these kids and show some spirit, like we care!!!! I do all I can do-like feed 150 boys each week during football season and get sponsors for new wrestling gear (along w/ our own donations and more importantly-our TIME) Cmon Gators, let's kick NFM High off in the spirit department!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2010

Excelence in education, maintaining moral and great leadership especially in ROTC. The food though I heard from my son needs to be nutrious and more abundant for growing kids and healthy minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

I feel unsafe here because of all the profanity, explicit talk, and creepy kids. Can't wait to get out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2010

Our school is wonderful! The teachers, staff, and all the hard-working adults are always worrying about the kids! We are great in sports and have an excellent school. We barely have fights and most of all, we're one big happy place :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2010

the teachers are awesome and the school is big just wish they made a little bit better food and larger amount
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

island coast is a terrific school. friendly people, great faculty and staff. our school is clean and contain the best teachers !
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2009

Island Coast is an okay school if you like big schools. I myself am from a one story school with a population of only 400 students. So for me this was a big change. The teachers are really nice, most of the students are nice also.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

this school is a great school. The teachers are great, and so is the staff. The only thing we are missing this the school spirt.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2008

The school is a good school, other then they have petty rules for students. They should concentrate more on education and punishment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

I go to this school and i can assure you that this is the school to be in. The academics are excellent and I learn alot from the teachers at Island Coast.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2008

I chose this school for my son because it was new. I had compared high school grades and most of them were not impressive. I felt that I would rather go wtih the unknown new school then with the track record of the old ones. I made the right decision by far. The school is excellent at parent communication. I feel like there is a wonderful group of parents there that are focused on thier childrens future. They will be moving into the new school this summer and all the kids are excited. I fell like my son got the best advantage of being in a school of all 9th graders as the beginning to his high school career. I look forward to the next 3 years with Island Coast!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

296 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

355 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

354 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

373 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

326 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
66%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

378 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
41%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

338 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 32%
Black 11%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 138%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 25%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 87%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%66%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KRISTIN BUENO
Fax number
  • (239) 772-8405

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2125 De Navarra Parkway
Cape Coral, FL 33909
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 458-0362

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Living Word Christian School
North Fort Myers, FL



Classical Christian Academy
North Fort Myers, FL


Love Laughter Learning Center
North Fort Myers, FL


Anthony Christian Academy
North Fort Myers, FL


Peace By Piece School
North Fort Myers, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT