Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Patriot Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 671 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2014

My daughter was one of the very first students at Patriot in 2007 and recently graduated from 5th grade. This is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2014

This school is amazing my child was in that school since 4th grade because we had to move away so she didn't finish 5th grade. Anyways this school is the best school, it might say it's a 4 but I grade it a 10. The school has 1 teacher who teaches every single thing and the kids have fun in the school. They have a lot of fun and learning events in that school. My child loves that school, when she heard that we had to move she cried a lot because she was going to really miss this school. That's all I can say, by!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

This school is wonderful! Dedicated and loving teachers who make my son love coming to school. My daughter is in middle school and was very prepared after going to Patriot. I think they have high expectations and push kids to work hard, many reviewers may not want that, but personally, I want my kids challenged so they are prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

We are new to the area and were placed at Patriot Elementary by the strange system Lee County uses. What a pleasant surprise we got. My children love this school and the teachers! They are constantly coming home sharing how much is done at school. They are happy and thriving! What more could a parent ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

This school received a C rating but they should have received a D if it weren't for the new school law that a school can only drop one letter at a time. They were a B so the most they could fall to was a C. But make no mistake about it, they are really a D. How did this happen? What is going on with this school? Some answers need to be given.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

My daughter is a student at Patriot and I have to say I have never seen so many smiling faces! The staff is GREAT. Everyone is very caring and engaged with the children.This school is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

Consistently low FCAT scores, as per the State. Some great teachers, some horrific ones. The new principal is all smoke and mirrors. He is more concerned with appearance than substance. He's best at taking pictures. Also, he lacks core values, including honesty, respect, and integrity. His disrespect for teachers and parents is sad. There are much, much better schools nearby, including Gulf and Trafalgar, and the Charter Schools. Stay away from this one! Your kids deserve much better. Just compare FCAT scores. It's day and night.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

I am a parent of 4 kids, 3 of which I was able to send to Patriot. I have experienced Charter schools, private schools, and this public school. I can honestly say any negative reviews should be thrown out. It is an amazingly organized staff and school with caring teachers. This school is a 10 in my book; my kids are educated, safe, and loved when I in entrust my kids over to them! We have a new principal this year which will continue to lead the school to success. The other principal will be missed, but I had more contact with the Assistant principal last year which I found an amazing woman with a big heart for kids. She knew my kids and my kids knew her which meant a lot. This years principal has already got the year off right and makes his face known to the children and parents. I appreciate that! This is an A+ school in my grade book! The many parents I have talked with that have their children there and love it should be writing reviews as well. I hope they do, because this school deserves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

Was not happy with this school and would not recommend it due to the principal. Office staff is nice and most of the teachers are nice, but unfortunately, the principal makes everyone always on edge and does not seem to welcome any fun or happiness in her school that it affects all the teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I have two girls attending Partiot for 2007/2008 year Kindergarten & fourth grade. I'm very pleased with the school & the employees. The principal always found time to answer questions or have fun with the kids at the many fun events. My girls are back this year for first & fith grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

119 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Hispanic 35%
Black 7%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 142%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 210%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%66%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID BURGESS
Fax number
  • (239) 242-1238

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

711 Southwest 18th Street
Cape Coral, FL 33991
Website: Click here
Phone: (239) 242-1023

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT