Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sterling Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 803 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

I have 3 boys: 13, 10, and 2. We have not attended any other school and would not want to. The teachers and staff all care for each student and I understand how some kids can get lost in the shuffle of things when it comes to learning but its also the parents job to continue at home and to be involved. My older boys love this school and they have gone from pre-k on. I have not one negative thought about the school or staff. Thank you Sterling Park Staff for caring!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2012

My children have attended Sterling Park for the past 4 years. I cannot say enough about the love I have for this school. The staff is great and there is so much parental involvement. So many teachers have been there for at least 15 years. We LOVE Sterling Park and have not had one regret about not sending them to private school instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

My daughter is in Kindergarten here and we are very happy. Her teacher, Ms. Lampe is wonderful, energetic, creative, involved, yet no-nonsense. I toured many private schools before deciding to send my daughter here. I am very pleased with the classrooms and the energy of the student body and school staff. The children are expressive and excited. The coaches here are also very good; the kids LOVE them! The school offers some extra-curricular clubs even for kindergartners. The music and art classes seem a bit lacking, but that is across the board as budgets are cut for public schools. There is a lot of fundraising which can seem a bit much, but again, you're not paying tuition here. Many of the parents volunteer for events throughout the year, not including PTA. I've only had positive experiences, and we feel at home here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2010

Our child was at Sterling Park for about 2-1/2 years. From the beginning, our child was given no help and the first grade teacher didn't do anything to help our child succeed or to prepare our child for the second grade. Communication was horrible and we were misled as to our child's progress. The principal, Mr. Haynie, is incompetent and extremely unprofessional. He takes phone calls and gets up and walks away with no explanation during meetings and even had the nerve to answer his cell phone during a school production while addressing the audience. He cannot read much better than our second grader or the third graders that were narrating the show. Mr. Haynie stopped several times while speaking and stared at the paper he was reading from like he didn't know what the words were and he even mispronounced some words at a Veterans' Day assembly! Seriously, I'm floored that this person is a principal with his lack of ability and absence of any type of social skills. If you want your child to be academically successful, we would highly recommend you investigate other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Transferred my student here from Altamonte then had a Kindergartener start here. it was the BEST thing I could have ever done for my kids. The principal, Mr. Haynie is fabulous, as is all the staff. It is a wonderful, safe environment for your children. Very high parental involvement. All teachers that I have met/dealt with are very kind and caring. The children are well behaved and my daughter tells me theres very few bullies here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This is an excellent school. The teachers are caring and the parents are involved. Overall, it is an excellent evnvironment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

My son has the best teacher! She loves to take pictures and sends us links via the Kodak Gallery to see what goes on at school for fun events. Very pleased to see a lot of teachers at the Roller Skating nite and their efforts to help out and mingle with parents/kids. The teachers are involved and the care is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The faculty and staff are dedicated to the students and go the extra mile to meet each child's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

My son was struggling at Sterling Park, low self-esteem from his 1st grade teacher. The first grade teacher did not care and he felt that and lost interest in learning. By researching alternatives, I found a caring and wonderful private school. I knew I had to get him out of Sterling Park when the principal showed she didn t care either. The private school cost more then most but you can't put a price on a child s development, self-esteem, and education. It s all about what s best for children and their future. If my child was left at Sterling Park, lost in a classroom of 20+ with the 1st grade teacher shredding his self-confidence I would hate to see how he would turn out. Now I can see a bright future for my son and none of my kids will ever attend Sterling Park a gain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My child is in her 5th year at this wonderful school. The teachers and administrators really care about the welfare and education of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

This is my daughter's 3rd year at Sterling Park and I couldn't be more pleased with the teachers. It is evident that they truly care about her achievement as well as fostering a safe and secure environment for her to be. She has been an honor roll student all 3 years and I attribute that success to solid learning during school hours and consistent reinforcement at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

My daughter attended Sterling Park from Kindergarten through 3rd grade, my son also attended Kindergarten there. This is an amazing school with wonderful teachers who strive to get the best out of each child! Extremely safe, bully-free environment; well manicured campus...///
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

I have 2 students that attend. Last year was the first year and we were thrilled. This past year was very disappointing. We have a child that is interested and a teacher that is not. I had to work extremely hard at night to continue to encourage her curiosity instead of kill it. My other daughters teacher was also a disappointment. I also have had problems with the office staff being rude. Hopefully next yr will be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

My daughter spent k- thru 5th grade made honor roll every year i feel blessed to have chosen this wonderful school for my daughter they definitely prepared her for middle school thanks to all her teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

I am not sure why this school has an a rating? I think they got an a rating because the building is really pretty...I'm very disappointed in the learning environment and lack of activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I think that Sterling Park is a wonderful school. Parents are extremely involved. The childen are lucky to have a school as wonderful as Sterling Park. Teachers are always there to help. They take their own time before school to tutor if needed or after school as well. I have a child that has been there since the middle of kindergarden and he has never had a bad experience with a teacher. My youngest is in fourth grade and his teachers are the bomb. This year he let me know that this years teacher is the best. I can tell you something great about every teacher both of my children has had. I recommend this school as a definite A+ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2005

I have been a teacher for 23 years, 6 of them at Sterling Park. Since our new principal began in '03 I have seen wonderful changes in the physical plant-i.e. flowers, grass (much needed landscaping in general), wall paintings, art, overall cleanliness-wow! Much effort has been made to bring consistency to each grade level, and to the school/staff in general. The Art, Music and PE programs are top-notch! Staff who 'couldn't take the heat' caused by change have left, and the new staff members are all very positive additions! Parents at SPE are great-the heart of the school! We truly welcome parent involvement. An active PTA and SAC (School Accreditation) attest to this. In summary, all children who attend Sterling Park will be safe, happy, well-educated, self-discplined children with lots of friends, including the staff at SPE! Quite simply, a wonderful neighborhood school in a great community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 13, 2005

Wonderful school with hardworking teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

This ia a great elementary school with an outstanding music program. I was thrilled to learn that my child was learning to play the violin and has the opportunity to be in chorus or a steel drum band! The media specialist offers many dynamic learning experiences and is continually working to upgrade library materials.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have two children attending also, I am very pleased with the school and the great job all the teachers do. I feel very confident that my children are getting the highest level of education here at Sterling Park Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Hispanic 29%
Black 10%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%53%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

905 South Eagle Circle
Casselberry, FL 32707
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 746-8250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nesper Academy
Casselberry, FL



The Regent Academy
Casselberry, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT