Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School Of Celebration

Private | PK-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Celebration

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2013

My son has been a student of Ms.Geiger for over a year. She takes so much time with each child and makes sure that each child's strengths shine. The way she teaches the children conflict resolution, problem-solving skills and patience is just amazing. My 4 year old is reading, writing, doing math, and leaves everyone who talks to him speechless after listening to him talk about animals, nature, geography, culture and science. When the pediatrician heard him talk about the cranium, skeleton and the different bones in his body, his mouth fell open. The vocabulary of the children in the classroom is years ahead of the typical children of that age. In addition, my son is about to start piano lessons and next year he will begin yoga. He also receives spanish lessons. The classrooms welcomes visitors frequently who expose the children to all kinds of new ideas and adventures. Since attending MSC he has become very independent and self-motivated because of the Montessori curriculum. Ms.Geiger is a warm, kind and patient. My son and his classmates adore her. We are very lucky to have her as his teacher. also, school is designed for parents to come in & observe at any time. big plus!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

Our 2 children have been going to MSC for 4 years and both of them are way above average because if the staff, teachers and Montessori curriculum. We had only planned to keep them through kindergarten but after becoming part of the "family", we were hooked. Our children have a love of learning and are excelling because of this amazing school's love and attention to every child. PS. There are no FCATs so the focus everyday is on the child and THEIR needs! Amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

Our children have been attending here since pre-K and we could not be happier with their progress. These teachers go well beyond normal roles to ensure each of my kids gets the support and encouragement they need as individuals. We wouldn't send them anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2011

Our son has attended this school for 4 years and we have been very pleased with his progress and the attention he receives from the entire staff. He has some challenges and they go above and beyond making sure he succeeds. What I love most about this school is its sense of community. It is truly a family. I would highly recommend this school to anyone, but especially for students that don't "fit" into the cookie cutter way of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

Our children love attending this school. As parents we are pleased that they hire teachers who are properly educated and qualified to teach our children. I would recommend this school to anyone and if you have questions then ask the director for answers. Don't rely on rumors to get your information. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

I'm not sure WHAT transpired which has "may parents" so upset: Teachers come and go for a range of personal and professional reasons at all schools. Name dropping, calling out and finger pointing at specific people on an OPINION rated site reflects disgracefully on the person who wrote it. Since the Director (who started the school) was mentioned, it should be noted: She is forthright, concise, fair and looks at each family, student and situation INDIVIDUALLY. In regards to MSC business, she would not with-hold (public) information. Perhaps she didn't know the status of her staff which coincided with the timing of deposits. Odd since our money for the 2011-12 school year is due THIS month. ??? Give the "new teachers" a chance. We don't know their credentials, personalities or what our child(ren) can gain academically and socially from them. As with ANY school: It's only as good as the parent participation ALONG WITH the abilities of the faculty. HELP create a "stable" environment by WELCOMING them, not creating a raucous over something you can NOT "guarantee." Our son is looking forward to a "new" teacher! ---There's your "good review (from this point forward!")
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

This used to be a great school because of the amazing teachers they had. Unfortunately the Director, Karen Simon does a terrible job administrating the school and she lost all her teachers this summer except for 2 assistant teachers and one of them happens to the only one all the children can't stand Mrs. Geiger. What a shame the school became so unstable and lost the most amazing teacher they had Mrs. Orraca. My son had an incredible year in her classroom and I am so disappointed that she is gone along with all the other amazing teachers they had. I just had a meeting with many of the parents this afternoon we are all very upset with the fact that the director kept the truth from all of us about loosing all her teachers until we had all paid our deposits ($775) and some of us already paid for the entire school year. As parents we are all committed to getting the word out so that other parents are not misled by the director. Don't be fooled by Karen this used to be a great school but now it is unstable with all new teachers. I guarantee no good reviews will be added from this point forward.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

My first grader enjoys going to school every day. The staff is caring and the parents take pride helping and making this school a great place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

We have been so pleased with this school. I would recommend it to anyone with children. The teachers are loving and genuinely care about the academic and social growth of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

My daughter has been here since pre-school and all of her teachers have really encouraged her. She constantly surprises me with things she knows and the choices she makes. Its a pleasure to go into a montessori classroom and see the children at work, the children are busy and are happy at there work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

Our son Thomas attended 4th grade after we moved here. The teachers were caring and instuctive, the staff excellent. The curriculum is wonderful for children's learning to achieve, learn and excel on their own. Mrs. Simon is fantastic and truly cares about each child she works with. When we are in town we come by and visit because Thomas stills thinks about Mrs. Simon and wants to see her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

We didn't know much about Montessori when we moved to Celebration, but when our 4 year-old missed the cut-off for entering kindergarten at the public school we went searching and found MSC. Half way through the school year, our youngest was coming home full of interesting facts. For example, she knew all of the countries in South America by heart. Our eldest daughter who was two years older, finally said one day 'why is my sister so smart, how does she know so much?' It was then that we decided to enroll her at the school as well. Five years later, they are both still there and thriving. We absolutely love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

The students are eager to learn and be challenged on a daily basis. It is a pleasure to be a part of a family that has goals and high expectations complemented with caring for the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

As an early skeptic of the Montessori method, I now find myself it's biggest advocate. My child has thrived in the self motivated environment and developed intellectual, interpersonal and emotional skills far beyond my expectations for the age.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 11% 29%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 23%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • Other Montessori,AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 Begonia Road
Celebration, FL 34747
Phone: (407) 566-1561

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Celebration School
Celebration, FL


Celebration Academy
Celebration, FL



Adolescent Residential Center
Intercession City, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT