Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whispering Winds Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 68 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2013

Whispering Winds started as a place where children who had or would have slipped through the cracks could receive the education that every child deserves. Every school has its ups and downs. Unfortunately, WWCS is facing a downward spiral. They have gotten rid of the art teacher, a fifth grade teacher and most of the aides. How will our children get small groups or one on one? What is the purpose of Whispering Winds if they have nothing different to offer?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

I thank God for this wonderful school. I enrolled my child in Chiefland Elementary for kindergarten, after 1 day of attendance I quickly transfered him to WWCS ! Our experiences for the last 3 years have been nothing short of exceptional. I have only one regret, that WWCS dosen't go all the way to 12th grade. I would like to thank the entire staff for their dedication and kindness, I feel confident knowing my child is in the safest, most wonderful school I have ever known. Thank you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I have two children that attend, they have been attending for the past 3 years.The whole school makes you feel like a family.The teachers are very concerned about the kids and their progress.My 3rd child will start attending next year. WWCS is a great school, my family loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

Our families experience with WWCS began with my very physically active son transfering there from a large school in the area. He was able to do well and will graduate from high school with honors this year. Our daughter now attends there and the wonderful thing about WWCS is that they meet the needs of each child individually. She is now in the fourth grade and has been challanged and stimulated by her teacher and the school as a whole. The small classes, rural setting and close relationship with parents enable a positive learning enviroment for each child. I have been very pleased with the school and especially the response to parents concerns and action taken to rectify any problems. We love WWCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

i was a srudent at this school about 4 yrs ago. when i started i was nine and didnt know how to read yet or anything,then i found this amazing school!! i love it so much and was so sad when i had to leave. i loved all the teachers/staff so very much.They helped me and my family out in so many different ways. i say this is the best school ever!! i love it so much and hopefullly somday again i can visit =) i havent been there in so long =( maybye this nxt upcoming school yr i can come and visit all the lovely people there!! with love always, lily blanchard every one here sends there love,we talk about whispering winds all the time!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2006

Wwcs has had my to sons for the last 4 years. I am upset with the direction of how this school is going with a F score. As a result, my son will not be returning this school year. I understand that all schools have good and bad times, but when there is a wide spread problem in the way this school operates, this something has to give. The charter school idea is a great one. Smaller classes are wonderful, as this was approved by the voting public, but when grades begin to fall, we as parents, must decide where to let our young ones continue on with this program or change to something else. Wwcs was once a great school and can be agian if certain changes in staff and curriculum will change. There are very good teachers there but the leadership has something less to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

This is our fifth year at WWCS, and this is a school that cares about the child, and the child's learning style. We feel like a family because of the personal interest that the teachers take in each child and also the parents. I love WWCs, it has made school a place that my kids want to go to everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

This school under the direction of George Farrow has been an excellant choice for my daughter. The Kindergarten teacher Ms. Farrow teaches in much the same manner that I would teach if I were in charge. The choice of teachers aids is exceptional. Ms. Tammy Okahargbo took the initiative to actually read the information packet that detailed specifics concerning my daughters disabilities. Informational osmosis wasn't an option for Ms. Tammy. Ms. Delaney has a heart of gold, with the voice of an angel. Her patience is extraordinary. She communicates with both the children and parents with understanding, kindness, and respect. The children are taught to respect the teachers, each other, and themselves. The children are valued in this school. Here these children develop a sense of value and belonging for themselves and one another. As a parent my input is always welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

15 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 87%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%61%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. SUZANNE CORNELL
Fax number
  • (352) 490-7242

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2481 Nw Old Fannin Rd
Chiefland, FL 32626
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 490-5799

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT