Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
150 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Washburn Academy
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
The work study students at this school are fantastic kids! They maintain a great attitude even when faced with less th a n ideal circumstances.

Washburn Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
During my time there I witnessed many students reading or doing math problems far below their age level. I saw no evidence of history or geography; literature, composition, or political science, civics, social studies or religion being taught. In fact, most of the teachers there are either related in some way or are prior students. I'm not aware of any teaching or educational credentials they have


Washburn Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
To my knowledge, the school had a no homework policy. My child never had any and the students in the work study program could not leave school until 530pm or later, so it's hard to imagine they had homework

Washburn Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
No. For the majority of the students I found them to be vain, self-centered and entitled

Washburn Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
In my capacity as a parent and employee at Washburn, I have heard a great deal of disparaging remarks from certain students, mainly aimed at the administration and policies of the school in handling the children who attend by benefit of a scholarship


Washburn Academy
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
The students at Washburn are like a tight knit family. For the most part, they are friendly and outgoing to their peers

Washburn Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
Most children are extremely sensitive to their environment. When the person in charge of the school has shown herself to be prone to prevarication, I can only have doubts as to what character traits the students are exposed to.

Washburn Academy 5

Posted November 30, 2014
- a parent
We moved our teenage kids into Washburn Academy 3 years ago and it was the best move we could have made! They have thrived, found their way as young adults and are productive members of society now. I couldn't recommend this school more! The genuine care and help that's provided every day and completely customized to each child is just amazing and unsurpassed. Love it!


Washburn Academy 5

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
My son has been attending Washburn for about a year. He is 6. His teacher is amazing with him. She got him to feel comfortable right away. He never wanted to leave my side before this. He's reading and writing and is learning so much!

Washburn Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
My 3 boys have gone there for many years now and I love it! They each get the individual attention they each need to succeed. They are doing really well and love going to school everyday! Which that alone shows you how amazing it is!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washburn Academy
222 S. Lincoln Ave., Clearwater, FL  33756
(727) 647-1668
Last modified Washburn Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Washburn Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top