Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ponce De Leon Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 606 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2011

This is a wonderful school. The teachers care so much about the kids. I have volunteered there for the past two years and have seen not only my kids teachers but my neighbors kids teachers taking extra time out of their lunch or before of after school helping kids with work or just talking to them because they don't seem to have anyone at home who does. Or the kid just needs some TLC. The school has things the kids can do outside of school time. The skating bus comes to get the kids, there's an environmental club, a journalism club, my daughter has been chosen to be a patrol next year. We've been to the fall festival, a spring carnival, Reading Under the Stars, a math and science night. Just so many things. This school really cares about its kids. The principal listens to what parents say and works to help change things. The assistant principal is out helping dismissal run well. Other teachers are all over the school when it lets out to make sure our kids get where there going safely. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

love this school Teachers are great with the kids and help the kids with extra reading and math. I could go to a school right next to my house and work, but I won't take them out of Ponce
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

I have had two children in this school. My daughter is now entering HS and my son the 3rd grade. This school has great leadership and teachers that help to make the IEP a reality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

it is the best school everrrrrr!!!!!! my child attends it and its the besttt ever i recomend this school to everybody even parents whos kids have disabillities or language disorders ponce is the right pleace for every one
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

RUN! The communication at this school is horrible. I would not recommend this school to anyone. The principle is rude and uncaring, and if you are having problems with a teacher, 'good luck', cause you won't find help from her (the principle). I think pinellas county schools need to come up with a better hiring system and stop hiring anyone who walks through the door with a degree and hire more people who actullay care about the education and wellbeing of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

My son's previous school has been closed down. The teachers morale was horrible there so, I am very happy with Ponce De Leon school as his teacher is positive, caring, and communicates with the parents which is great. I should have put my son in this school when he was going to kindergarten he is now in second grade. I believe he would have been happier. My only concerns are not with the school but, with the before and after school care that is on the school grounds. They are allowing toys and hand held games to be brought and I feel the money parents pay for this care should be scheduled group activities. I also see no supervision when the children are asking to get a drink or bathroom-I see them running all around and to me that is a risk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

I am rating between two to three stars due to lack of communication, school spirit (no t-shirts & timing of functions) and general condition of school when compared to other schools in the area. I know education is the most important area in a school and i believe my son is getting an excellent eductaion but school pride and spirit go a long way to helping pride in school and getting the children excited about subjects. I am not just a complainer -- i would be extremely happy to do anything to help raise the school spirit and help with vendors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

I have nothing but issues with this school. The rudeness and the lack of empathy that the staff give a parent. I made request that were told that they would not be meet. Very disapointed in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

My daughter has attended Ponce 4 yrs and every teacher she's had has been wonderful. They all are very caring and helpful. She absolutely loves the school. Also, there is a strong sense of community that you feel when on campus. We are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

Ponce de leon is a wonderful school. The principal is amazing...keeping her staff well informed and encouraged. The students seem happy and involved in their learning. Ponce De Leon has a family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

My daughter went to this school after attending a private school. She loves this school and wants to return next year. She had a great first grade teacher and gave her a dozen roses on her final day. All the staff were wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2003

My son attended Kindergarten with Ms Kaminski and I must say she was the most wonderful, caring and encouraging teacher I have ever met. My son is in the Special Needs programs and Ms Kaminski was extremely supportive and encouraging to him. He made such huge strides in his progress working with her and the Special Needs teacher at Ponce. I wish we could take her with us as we relocate to Arizona.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 42%
Hispanic 29% 29%
Black 25% 23%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%60%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40
School end time
  • 2:40
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Thea H Saccassyn
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (727) 588-3700

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1301 Ponce De Leon Blvd
Clearwater, FL 33756
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 588-3573

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Iva Christian School
Clearwater, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT