Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

McMullen-Booth Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 740 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2013

Our daughter has been going to MBES since kindergarten in 2009. We have loved this school since! It was our first school experience and has lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Every teacher our daughter has had has been great and the whole staff is awesome. My son started going to the pre-k program last school year for developmental delays. We are beyond thrilled and thankful for his teacher and aids. No complaints here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

I am NOT impressed with the administration at this school; awful communication skills. Special needs children appeared to be simply babysat at this school. McKay Scholarship has been a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

We came to this school for Mrs. Fredrick.......and every year after I feel like we hit the Teacher Lotto! I cannot say enough about this school and the staff, people are out there paying for a lesser quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

The teachers and staff especially the administrators are very compassionate to everyones nedds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

My child attends school in an autism class and his teacher and aides are wonderful. He has learned so much and has come a long way. I'm very pleased with MBES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

I have daughter in Pre-K, the teacher Ms.Maggie, Ms Rosenna, Mr Mark..they all are awesome teacher. The way the teach, is really creative and out of the box. My daughter make a big improvement in behavior, knowledge , and critical thinking. I am so overjoyed. The communication is supperb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

My son is in Mr. Frederick class. He loves going to school and the most he likes his teacher. She is very good and kind teacher. I couldn't find better school for my child. Thanks a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

I Love It! Everything is great. My daughter is in Mrs.Tarver's Class and My son is in Mrs. Shultz. And I love their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Being a Military family you are never really sure of the schools your children will be going to, my husband and I were overjoyed when our children started attending McMullen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

PE is beyond great and they have it every day. The cafeteria has 2 pick nick tables outside to have lunch with your kids. The whole campus has a great layout.Everything is secure. The classrooms are very roomy and there is enough hallway room to comfortably volunteer. Great computer lab and great media room. Teachers and office staff are very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

I will change my kids of school next year for sure, dealing with the staff was painful, they are not helpful at all. The new principal lacks communication skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

This is an excellent school! The faculty and administrators care about the kids and treat them like their own. They very much involve the parents in the daily schedule for the students. This truly is the best elementary school around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2005

I have two children enrolled at McMullen-Booth and I have been very pleased with all aspects of the school. The principal Mrs. Moore is wonderful and the staff is very dedicated and loving. The amount of parent involvement is tremendous and therefore many extra activities take place during the year. The one thing our family enjoyed the most was daily P.E. and recess. I didn't realize how many school were cutting outside time and it is so important for children to have a break. My children are thriving at McMullen-Booth Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2004

Although there is some teacher to teacher variability, we have been very satisfied with McMullen Booth. Our 2 children have been there for 1, 2, a3 and 4th grade. There is more emphasis that we would like on 'the basics', but our understanding is that most of this is mandated by federal law. The program for gifted children puts these kids in a different class one day per week, and the kids work on a theme each year (space, Greek History, etc.). I think the theme aspect is a bit rigid, but my kids seem to be fine with it. There is no gymnasium in the school -- the kids play in an outside courtyard with no shade. In this area a typical day is 90 degrees and 90+ percent humidity. There should be some shade or an indoor facility. Overall, the school appears to be run well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2004

The Principal and Administrators take an active role at McMullen-Booth. Most teachers seem to be truly interested in helping children to learn and succeed. Parents, for the most part, are quite involved in the classroom. The PTA is also very well organized and the school has many special events.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 8, 2004

The level of input given by the teachers seams very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

147 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Hispanic 30% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%60%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3025 Union St
Clearwater, FL 33759
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 669-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT