Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Cecelia Interparochial School

Private | PK-8 | 425 students

We are best known for Excellent Academic Programs.

 
 

Living in Clearwater

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $87,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

St. Cecelia is still an excellent school and even better than ever. I have been an involved parent for the past 13 years. The administration change referred to by the previous reviewer (6/9/14), has led to improvements in many areas. EVERY rule is now enforced even more consistently and fairly than ever before. In the past, some of dress code infractions and missing homework may have been overlooked or enforced sporadically. There is now a stronger attitude of, "if it is a rule in the handbook, there will be consequences for non-compliance." Isn't this what our children's experience should be, rather than the current popular mindset of "if I think it's a stupid rule, I don't need to follow it and can probably get away with doing what I want". Bullying can occur in any school. What is important is how it is handled. Our new principal has implemented a school-wide proactive anti-bullying program, enforces non-tolerance of such behavior and has demonstrated a very objective, thoughtful, and thorough handling of reported incidents. The character limits of this review don't let me enumerate the strengths of and many improvements at this wonderful school over the last two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

St. Cecelia's was a wonderful school until two years ago. Since a change in the administration of the school, we have seen an increase in bullying (for which there is no consequence for the bully), yet there has been an increase in discipline for things like late homework and the wrong color socks. Some of the teachers are wonderful, and others berate kids in front of their peers for not doing well on exams, etc. My child will not be returning to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

My child has been at St. Cecelia for 2 years and has had a wonderful experience. He came from a very expensive private school and we have found the catholic education to be comparable if not better. One of the added benefits of getting a catholic education is that he he has become very compassionate as opposed to the "me me me" attitude at the private schools. This particular school has a tremendous faculty and a "can-do" attitude. The tuition is a little higher than what I would like but it certainly is within reason as compared to other local private schools. Remember that this is a Catholic school and catholism is evident but that is expected. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Fantastic, safe school. Our son is receiving a well-rounded education and is forming positive academic habits. Parents can be as involved as they want to be, which helps to build a strong sense of community. We highly recommend this school. Great value for a Blue Ribbon education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

St. Cecelia School was just awarded a Blue Ribbon from the Dept. of Education secretary for recognizing that all children can learn, despite their differences. This school has a rigorous curriculum, a dedicated faculty, and a strong volunteer group of parents. Teachers +children+parents = a successful child! Besides the core academics, art, drama, and music are a part of the curriculum during school and after school. SCS is and has been the best school in Clearwater for many years, and they have finally been recognized for their efforts!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2010

They give the children a wonderful education and a sense of worth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

Our two children have attended St. Cecelia for a total of twelve years. They have received an excellent education, and are well prepared to be successful in their future years of high sdchool and college. The teachers are encouraging and very supportive to each child. The Catholic teachings and traditions are an intrical part of the total education of each student. I always feel welcome to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

St. Cecelia Interparochial School is an exceptional school. Our VPK recently scored a perfect 200. Our students consistently rate in the top 25% on standard test scores. Fundamentals are stressed in a loving, caring community. Students are able to participate in a wide variety of activities including Student Council, National Junior Honor Society, drama, and sports to just name a few. I highly recommend St. Cecelia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Both my children attend St. Cecelia School. One is in kindergarten and one is in 2nd grade. I am 100% satisfied with every aspect of our School. The teachers are terrific and you can tell they truly love their students. I would highly recommend this school to anyone. My husband and I definitely made the right decision when we decided to send our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

Three of our children attend St. Cecelia school and we absolutely love it. Our oldest child also attended for nine years and is excelling in high school because of the wonderful foundation she received at St. Cecelia. At times it has been a sacrifice financially, but the outstanding education, nurturance from the teachers, and faith filled day they receive is worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

My daughter came into this school this year. We love it. She is learning so much. The children have been kind and the teachers are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

My daughter attended K-8th and my son has also attended since K and will graduate in May. I have watched them both mature into terrific young adults and know that St. Cecelia School has played a major factor in their development. The teachers strive to educate the whole child. The course work is organized and many projects in various subjects enhance the learning process. More importantly, my children leave with a self confidence that comes from the extras they have been given a chance to participate in such as reading at school wide masses...even reading at local churches during their masses as representatives of SCS, participating in a few of the many sports programs provided and most recently the amazing drama production of the Wizard of Oz! We all want the best for our kids and we found the best at SCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

My children are in kindergarten and third grade, and overall it has been a positive experience. My kids enjoy this school and look forward to growing educationally and spiritually. The oldest has done well on the Iowa Tests of Basic Skills (ITBS), so I believe that they are getting a solid education. They have an excellent reading system, and both my kids enjoy reading. I have found the teachers very organized and willing to work with me to help with issues my child has had. All have either given me updates via email or in person or notes when I have requested it. Positives are the teachers, strong community feel, education including religion, and the aftercare program. Negatives for us are the tuition with all the additional fees and fundraisers, cafeteria progam, the lackluster Spanish program, and the lack of regard for working parents' schedules and vacation time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

My children went here from K thru 2nd. They both got excellent ratings on their report card. After switching to a closer public school my children were labeled 'struggling students' and were on the potential retainee list. The best aspect at this school is the loving families that attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

The school has gone downhill over the past few years. The tuition is outrageous for what is offered. In our recent research, we have found that the local public/charter schools offer a higher degree of education, technology and support for our children. I would advise looking into local Charter schools prior to registering at SCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

This school needs to do something about bullying!! My son got picked on so much. He switched schools because of it! Tv school is 2 cheap to do anything to make the school better. Unimpressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

I am very fortunate to be able to work for a school with a strong sense of community and spiritualism. The staff works together to bring students the best education possible in a safe and fun learning facility.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2009

St. Cecelia School is an exceptional school. The administration and faculty really care about each individual student. The school just celebrated its 60th anniversary and is building on its foundation of excellence. While SCS is a Catholic school, they welcome families and students of all faiths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

My three children attended St. Cecelia School and were well prepared for high school, where they were placed in honors classes. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a quality education as well as a strong spiritual foundation for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

The education my three children received at St. Cecelia School was top notch. My children were well prepared for high school and were placed in honors classes. The sense of community while at the school was something I have yet to experience anywhere else. I would highly recommend this school to anyone wanting a quality education with a strong spiritual foundation!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 42%
Hispanic 7% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon School Award Winner (2010)
  • Outstanding Board of Catholic Education Award Recipient (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mary Beth Scanlon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (727) 446-9140

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of St. Petersburg
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • St,Cecelia Catholic School is a National Blue Ribbon Award Winner and offers a Gifted Enrichment Program. The school also offers a variety of after school clubs. The school has been in existence for over 60 years and has provided its students with excellence in education.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Clearwater Central Catholic High School
Palm Harbor University High School
Clearwater High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1350 Court Street
Clearwater, FL 33756
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 461-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Washburn Academy
Clearwater, FL


The Little School
Clearwater, FL





Astra Sailing Academy
Clearwater, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT