Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Clearwater, FL
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Pauls School 1

Posted December 17, 2014
- a teacher
SPS was a great school when Doug was the Head. When Angel arrived the school did go downhill very fast. Many great employees were let go and many resigned because of the poorly ran school. Sad such a nice place was ruined because of Administration.
1 person found this helpful

St Pauls School 1

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
For many years, I was a financially supportive and proud parent who defiantly defended the school s honor and reputation. Sadly though, like a few of the people who posted a comment on this site, this translated into ignorance and judgment when faced with stories about bullying, entitlement and the school s unwillingness to address these problems. Take the time to read through the school s policies and ask the tough questions. Ask them about their tolerance policies and how many times they have actually enforced them. Ask them why so many families recently left the school and why it was necessary to hire a new administration. Ask for real examples of how the school values differences and diversity. If they...like a few reviewers on this site...blame the former parents or the former Head of School or indicate that they had a bad grade of kids well you'll have your answer. To the parents who remain at St. Paul s my heart goes out to you. But my story is but one of many. And until the Board acknowledges what happened at the school and the Administration enacts real and meaningful policies that speak to what happened St. Paul s will never be what it once was.
1 person found this helpful


St Pauls School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
We are a family that has been with St. Paul's for 10 years. We have seen ups and downs as you will see with any school. We are not "too tired" as someone posted to go look at other schools because we have looked at ALL of them. There is not a school in our little local area that comes close to offering what St Paul's offers. You have to go to Tampa or into St. Petersburg just to find comparable schools. If you are not going to do extensive homework just do this; look at all the other schools locally and see what time they start their day and what time school ends and then also look at how many actual days of school they attend. I think you might be surprised. (At one, foreign language isn't even an option unless you come to school before school starts!) Also, there is something to be said about stability and keeping your children at one school instead hopping from one school to another. I can guarantee if you are posting on this site about not being happy at St. Paul's you have come from another school you weren't happy with or you are headed to another school and you won't be satisfied there either. St. Paul's is the best in this area. Show facts to prove otherwise.

St Pauls School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
I feel for parents who insult our teachers and curriculum only because their child is not performing as they had hoped. Our curriculum far exceeds the curriculum at our other option schools. Due to financial reasons we toured at a local Christian school only to find that in math class they were teaching in a 6th grade class what my fourth grader was currently learning at St. Paul's. Someone posted that their child had to give up after school activities and had too much homework. Please know you can get help that maybe you aren't aware of that the school offers. My children both play after school sports and then competitive sports in the evening and still manage to complete homework and stay on the honor roll. That's why St. Paul's offers study hall and teachers stay late for tutoring session. School ends at 3, but sports don't start until 3:30 for this reason. To new families, you HAVE to tour to understand. Just know that there are lots of extras that are available and provided that maybe some people don't know to ask about or look into. It is easy to look for the negative because of the high tuition cost however it is worth every penny when you truly do your research.

St Pauls School 1

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
My children have been attending this school for 5 years now. This school has certainly declined its value. Last year there was a teacher who had no teaching experince what so ever teaching the 7th grade. Her topics were completely irrelevant to what they were supposed to be learning, and the children in the classroom could get away with almost anything. The education at this school is certainly not worth the cost, there are other schools near St. Paul's, with the same curriculum. This school also give loads of homework, one of my children in middle school, had to eliminate all after school activities becuase of the homework. Also, in my opinion, the head of the school does nothing, the head leaves it up to the schools trustees, which are the parents of students, to do everything, so those parents children can get away with anything and won't get introuble for mid behaving or for bullying. If your looking for a great school with fabulous education, worth the money, don't come here.


St Pauls School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
I've been a parent of Saint Paul's for over a decade and truly wonder what school these negative reviews are talking about. Both of my very different and wonderfully quirky kids have excelled in this environment. SPS has given them a unique and very individualized school experience that has let them grow academically and socially. We are not "of means", but would make the sacrifices all over again to insure our children had a Saint Paul's education. I have no motivation other than my true love for a school that has been amazing for our family.

St Pauls School 1

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Saint Paul's is just a shell of what it used to be. Parents researching schools in the area need to seriously taken into consideration why so many families and teachers/staff have left this school. If SPS were so amazing, so many people wouldn't have left this school. Do your research, read reviews that aren't meant to be PR tools, but honest evaluations, and be careful about a school with enrollment that has dropped steadily for years.

St Pauls School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Saint Paul's is an incredible school. My child has blossomed over the years from the education he receives from St. Paul's.


St Pauls School 1

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
Sounds like some of these posts are forms of false advertisements. Everyone should be anxious about the downward spiral of SPS. The new Head arriving at the school next year is once again someone without any Head Master experience but full of "brilliant" ideas. The buzz of SPS and the fact that so many families and faculty have left the school is out in the community. No glossy words written by administration or parents too tired to look for other more viable schools will change this fact .

St Pauls School 5

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
Saint Paul's inspires learning in it's students and creates a community feel that the entire family benefits from. We couldn't be happier knowing that our three children have a safe, challenging school that teaches them life lessons, inclusion and what it means to give back to the community. Our interim head of school is kind, fair and a wonderful communicator. We anxiously anticipate the arrival of our wonderful new head of school. We are confident that she will be the perfect addition to the Saint Paul's Family! Come take a look at Saint Paul's!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Pauls School
1600 Saint Pauls Drive, Clearwater, FL  33764
(727) 536-2756
Last modified St Pauls School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Pauls School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top