Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Clearwater, FL
Before care: No

3 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


46 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Pauls School 1

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
There may be a positive vibe this year, but this does nothing to change the fact that the education at St. Paul's is far inferior to the public school my child is assigned to. My child fell behind in many subjects while attending here. The worst part is that the students are bullying other students because there is no punishment for misbehavior. One example stands out- how is there class time to "jump from folder to folder, never letting your feet touch the ground"? Or another great example- how do children have the time to "pretend that the other student is a piece of trash, and take turns crumbling one another up and then throwing each other into the garbage". There is no teacher enforcement here, because teachers are too scared of parent retribution. Students are not only learning to be disrespectful to one another, but also to disrespect their teachers too. We are so happy to be back at a school where the rules are being enforced, and education is the priority (not play time).

St Pauls School 5

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
There is no other school in this area that I would consider sending my children. SPS has a rigorous academic program, exceptional enrichment programs (foreign language, art, science, drama, PE). Our music program is above the level of elementary / middle school. Our students are comfortable presenting and performing in front of an audience and do so with grace. The teachers are available to parents, nurture our children and yet have high expectations for performance and independence. This school is a community of families that share a common goal of providing our children with strong leadership and interpersonal skills. All institutions go through challenges, and none are perfect. As parents we set expectations for our children and come alongside the teachers to execute that. I encourage all parents that are considering SPS to visit the campus and ask to speak to family members. Better yet, ask to speak to the children. the vibe on campus this year has been so positive, it's contagious. Where else are you greeted every day with a warm smile by a teacher or head of school? Come and visit.
1 person found this helpful


St Pauls School 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
We are thrilled with our sons' experiences at Saint Paul's. Not only are the academics high above standard, but the additional opportunities with Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Ruth Eckerd Hall are amazing. Our younger son is so happy to play sports after school, like the big kids! The enrichment of the after school offerings have brought additional science, gardening, and chess club allowing even more growth. We are so grateful for the new administrators, faculty, and families that are helping us raise well rounded children! These are the reasons we continue to choose the education offered by Saint Paul's and a school accredited by FCIS.
1 person found this helpful

St Pauls School 1

Posted December 17, 2014
- a teacher
SPS was a great school when Doug was the Head. When Angel arrived the school did go downhill very fast. Many great employees were let go and many resigned because of the poorly ran school. Sad such a nice place was ruined because of Administration.
2 people found this helpful

St Pauls School 1

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
For many years, I was a financially supportive and proud parent who defiantly defended the school s honor and reputation. Sadly though, like a few of the people who posted a comment on this site, this translated into ignorance and judgment when faced with stories about bullying, entitlement and the school s unwillingness to address these problems. Take the time to read through the school s policies and ask the tough questions. Ask them about their tolerance policies and how many times they have actually enforced them. Ask them why so many families recently left the school and why it was necessary to hire a new administration. Ask for real examples of how the school values differences and diversity. If they...like a few reviewers on this site...blame the former parents or the former Head of School or indicate that they had a bad grade of kids well you'll have your answer. To the parents who remain at St. Paul s my heart goes out to you. But my story is but one of many. And until the Board acknowledges what happened at the school and the Administration enacts real and meaningful policies that speak to what happened St. Paul s will never be what it once was.
1 person found this helpful


St Pauls School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
We are a family that has been with St. Paul's for 10 years. We have seen ups and downs as you will see with any school. We are not "too tired" as someone posted to go look at other schools because we have looked at ALL of them. There is not a school in our little local area that comes close to offering what St Paul's offers. You have to go to Tampa or into St. Petersburg just to find comparable schools. If you are not going to do extensive homework just do this; look at all the other schools locally and see what time they start their day and what time school ends and then also look at how many actual days of school they attend. I think you might be surprised. (At one, foreign language isn't even an option unless you come to school before school starts!) Also, there is something to be said about stability and keeping your children at one school instead hopping from one school to another. I can guarantee if you are posting on this site about not being happy at St. Paul's you have come from another school you weren't happy with or you are headed to another school and you won't be satisfied there either. St. Paul's is the best in this area. Show facts to prove otherwise.
2 people found this helpful

St Pauls School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
I feel for parents who insult our teachers and curriculum only because their child is not performing as they had hoped. Our curriculum far exceeds the curriculum at our other option schools. Due to financial reasons we toured at a local Christian school only to find that in math class they were teaching in a 6th grade class what my fourth grader was currently learning at St. Paul's. Someone posted that their child had to give up after school activities and had too much homework. Please know you can get help that maybe you aren't aware of that the school offers. My children both play after school sports and then competitive sports in the evening and still manage to complete homework and stay on the honor roll. That's why St. Paul's offers study hall and teachers stay late for tutoring session. School ends at 3, but sports don't start until 3:30 for this reason. To new families, you HAVE to tour to understand. Just know that there are lots of extras that are available and provided that maybe some people don't know to ask about or look into. It is easy to look for the negative because of the high tuition cost however it is worth every penny when you truly do your research.
1 person found this helpful

St Pauls School 1

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
My children have been attending this school for 5 years now. This school has certainly declined its value. Last year there was a teacher who had no teaching experince what so ever teaching the 7th grade. Her topics were completely irrelevant to what they were supposed to be learning, and the children in the classroom could get away with almost anything. The education at this school is certainly not worth the cost, there are other schools near St. Paul's, with the same curriculum. This school also give loads of homework, one of my children in middle school, had to eliminate all after school activities becuase of the homework. Also, in my opinion, the head of the school does nothing, the head leaves it up to the schools trustees, which are the parents of students, to do everything, so those parents children can get away with anything and won't get introuble for mid behaving or for bullying. If your looking for a great school with fabulous education, worth the money, don't come here.


St Pauls School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
I've been a parent of Saint Paul's for over a decade and truly wonder what school these negative reviews are talking about. Both of my very different and wonderfully quirky kids have excelled in this environment. SPS has given them a unique and very individualized school experience that has let them grow academically and socially. We are not "of means", but would make the sacrifices all over again to insure our children had a Saint Paul's education. I have no motivation other than my true love for a school that has been amazing for our family.
1 person found this helpful

St Pauls School 1

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Saint Paul's is just a shell of what it used to be. Parents researching schools in the area need to seriously taken into consideration why so many families and teachers/staff have left this school. If SPS were so amazing, so many people wouldn't have left this school. Do your research, read reviews that aren't meant to be PR tools, but honest evaluations, and be careful about a school with enrollment that has dropped steadily for years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Pauls School
1600 Saint Pauls Drive, Clearwater, FL  33764
(727) 536-2756
Last modified St Pauls School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Pauls School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top