Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cypress Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 591 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

71 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2014

The pits! They really need to fix the place up. Cafeteria is miserable to be in for even 5 min. Cooler outside, even with the old ceiling fans running full speed. You can smell the oldness in the building. No place for parents to come and enjoy lunch with child if it's raining out. I have to laugh that someone below said the principal was a forward thinker. Their school website isn't even updated! School starts in two days and some of the info is from last year! Ha
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

Way to go Cypress Ridge! Our 3rd and 4th grade students just took 1st and 2nd place respectively at the Lake County STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) Bowl. Our school-wide focus on the integration of STEM is really paying off with noticable gains in problem solving, cooperative teamwork, and critical thinking. It is a privilege to be able to work with such outstanding students. Thank you to our new principal for supporting this effort.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2014

Thanks to the 'common core' and a new principal, this school isn't the 'best' anymore. I fear for the kids when the principal does not understand basic child development in that children NEED recess. Free play is integral to the proper development of children. PE does not equal free play. In addition, thanks to the common core, teachers have no time to actually instill a love of learning in students. I had to laugh at the other parent below who calls this place militant. I call it the 'internment camp' and actually feel sorry for my poor child because they get no enjoyment from school. It's all about the standardized tests. Sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

CRES is a wonderful magnet STEM school full of very dedicated and very experienced teachers. I am pleased to say that the new principal is making very positive forward- thinking decisions especially concerning technology. I defiinitely saw the bar raised at this years STEM night. I would like to see better internal communication not only between grade levels for the SAIL program, but also between school and after school activities to reduce schedule conflicts. Better coordination between teachers and the after school care is an important issue that I would like to see addressed in the upcoming months. Parent involvement continues to be a key factor in helping the students succeed in this A rated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

Cypress Ridge Elementary is raising the bar when it comes to education. The new principal is by far a FUTURE FOWARD THINKER. I am proud to have my son attend such an amazing school with the HIGHEST OF STANDARDS and QUALITY education. The teachers and staff are EXCEPTIONAL and dedicated to providing great leadership and valuable education to all students. Thank you CRES for embracing change and making CRES A TRUE MAGNET school with a focus on Science, Math and Technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Cypress Ridge Elementary was the best experience for my children. My family had a child in the school for a total of 9 consecutive years While the building is very old, the smaller student body and the excellent teachers make more than up for that. Perhaps the state of Florida will fund education more than the lottery. The school teachers and supporting staff bring out the best in each student. Being a magnet math and science school, the computer and science skills my children learned put them two years ahead of other schools. I'm not familiar with any elementary schools students doing 3 dissections, power point presentations. What's best is the children also learned about community service programs. Through food drives and quilts to books they helped others becoming better citizens of the future. Our family was so blessed by what the school had it will always bring us fond memories when we drive by or rememeber when.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

I had the same experience as the previous person i believe my children attended to the same Christian School and i have nothing but the worst experience there. Last year they move to Cypress Ridge what a blessing after many conferences with the Principal, teachers and psychologist we were able to determine that my daughter has ADHD, it was a rough year but the support I had from the teachers was and still amazing Thank you Cypress Ridge there is not enough words to express how grateful we are. Best School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2011

What a blessing to be in Cypress Ridge, my kids came from a private Christian school in the area the worst experience ever, but this year they were accepted to Cypress Ridge, I have nothing but good comments. The principal, and the teachers are well prepared and qualified they are a total blessing in all the ways, they are always involve in each kid's education, the communication betwen teachers and parents is great I never missed anything, my children love it. The after school care is perfect they have assisted homework it help me a lot after a long day from work , the library and their programs to incentive the children to read is awesome. All I can say is Cypress Ridge is really winning the lottery. Thank you Cypress Ridge
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Cypress Ridge. This is the best dedicated school with loving, caring staff. My 2 boys have be going to this school since kindergarden. My oldest is entering 5th grade. I cannot say enough about the leadership the anti bullying policy. This school is awesome. My youngest son has a speach issue. Mrs. Carson is the best oh totally makes my kids feel special. Great ideas for helping them get over there hurddles. KUDOS my hat off to you.. I totally recommend this school. Iam glad they changed the principle this year. the last seamed to be not very envolved with the familys. Welcome Mrs Cantwell..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

I am so thrilled to have my two children attending Cypress Ridge. They are getting a quality education in a well run school. It is as close as you can get to having a private school education (which my oldest child did get for 4 years) but yet still be a public school. The communication between the administration, teachers and parents is incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

My daughters have gone to school at Cypress Ridge for these past two years. I have nothing but positive remarks to make in regards to their education. The teachers, staff, librarian, principal and assistance principals have been fantastic. They thoroughly encourage children to learn through academics and personal growth. Well done Cypress Ridge and thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

My two kids have gone here for the past three years and done the S.A.I.L. program. The teachers work so well together and they have such excellent communication with families. This is the third school we have gone to in Clermont and by far the best of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

CRES has provided my daughters with an awesome education and a caring and nurturing environment. I could not have asked for a better start to their education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Cypress Ridge Elementary is an amazing close-knit school filled with a caring staff who strive for excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Teachers are fabulous - Parental involvement is high and top notch! Love this school - My oldest just finished 6 years and my youngest just started Kindergarten and looking forward to staying for a long, long time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

It is such an awesome school. My children have had wonderful experiences and the science program is great. My oldest in 10 grade is still keeping up on high scores follow by 2 middle schooler, and one still there. The best teachers who are always willing to help and nurture the children in the classes. We love attending cres. Way to go staff and children...........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Everything!!! The teachers, the Principal, the community involvement, and of course Family Walk Night! Cypress Ridge Elementary School is the BEST!


Posted October 18, 2009

Cypress Ridge is an amazing school for the parent and teacher involvement. The teachers really care and try to go above and beyond the basics. Both my children love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

The teacher's go out of their way to ensure that the students are educated and cared for. They take time with the parents and never make one feel they are intruding on their turf. It is a true symbiotic relationship between parent/teacher/admin/support staff and student. Everyone wins at CRES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Has excellant and caring teachers that are eager to see the students succeed.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 72%
Hispanic 12%
Black 8%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%62%61%
Master's degree 44%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. DALE DELPIT
Fax number
  • (352) 394-1170

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 East Avenue
Clermont, FL 34711
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 394-6633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT