Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine Schools at South Lake

Charter | K-8 | 1012 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

74 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

I don't know where all these negative reviews are coming from. Yes there are certain areas that need some work...library, technology, etc. And that is where the fundraisers come in. I think the fundraisers are a lot of fun and brings everyone together to help better our school. The boosterthon was a blast and we're looking forward to the Carnival this Saturday. My daughter is in kindergarden and I have been very happy with everything. She is thriving at this school. Teachers and staff are always happy and smiling. The principal is very involved in all the activities. We live in Groveland and I don't mind the 30 minute drive to school and back 2x a day because this is such a great school and we are so blessed that she got in. Our 1 yr old daughter will be going here also when it's time - it's an AWESOME school and I love how much parents and teachers/staff come together for our kids. It definitely has a family feel to it. I'm also very involved in my daughter's classroom so maybe these other parents with the negative comments need to become more involved to feel like this school is family. My daughter loves this school and so do we! :-D
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

ISL is not what you think it is. Have you been in the classrooms and bathrooms and the gym/lunchroom?! I agree with all of the other one stars! It's not only a filthy school, it has no resources, terrible leadership and administration and lack of funding. The sad part is that so many families with "problem children" send their child there thinking that they're going to get help or special attention. That is the furthest thing from the truth. The truth is that the public school system has the funding and resources for your child with any type of need whether it be emotional, educational or socially. The teachers and staff at ISL do not have the background, funding, support or systems in place to handle all of the students there. The schools lacks cleanliness, technology, library, gymnasium, proper playground area, good electives, etc. The middle school students should not be on the same campus as elementary students, for so many reasons!! The character education is all a charade. Lastly, there is NO accountability there for teachers or staff. BE AWARE!!


Posted February 21, 2014

I am a former employee and was overworked and under paid. The classrooms are way too small for students and teachers to freely move around...the technology is archaic or nonexistent. And they are forced to spend astronomical rental fees for the leasing of the facilities. Administrators make plenty while the teachers were forced to take an 8% cut in pay. And over the last four years, they have only gotten approximately 6% back.What began as a family friendly choice for parents has become a joke. Send your children to a public school where all their needs are met. And they actually have textbooks and teachers' manuals to guide in teaching the New Florida Standards. It's a beautiful thing!!


Posted February 21, 2014

This school holds one fund raiser after another. Fridays are "dress down" days when students can chose to wear their own clothes if they pay $1 per item. School lunch is $2.95 as opposed to $1.90 at other LC elem schools. How can a school attract the best and brightest teachers while paying them less than LC school teachers ? Review of school audits (available to the public) finds high "management" fees, real estate leases, equipment fees, and not a lot left over for students, academic programs, teachers, technology - which may explain the near constant fund raising. Audits show thousands saved by not purchasing text books for students, funds saved by cutting student field trips and employee benefits - due to an increase in "management fees". I strongly recommend doing your research before considering this school.


Posted December 8, 2013

This school has gone WAY downover the past few years!! Good teachers have left for one reason or another. Funding is terrible, facility is poorly kept the library lacks any resources in fact it is only a few book shelves sharing a computer lab. Fair disipline is non-existent, certain "problem" students are allowed to run wild while other students are unfairly given over the top disiplne for minor issues by the administration. The principle fails to take parent concerns seriously and seems to think everything is just fine eventhough many parents have chosen to move their children to another school. I am considering moving my child as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

They actually do have a mice problem. Last year in seventh grade they dot in the class rooms. I can get proof if you'd like lol. Its an ok school though. Just low funding.


Posted September 10, 2013

We are in our second year in Imagine South Lake and have been very satisfied with the experience. We have had 2 excellent teachers who bring their own style to the classroom making the learning experience unique for all students . I would highly recommend Imagine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

Excellent school!!! My son feels very safe there and he loves it. The teachers are great and very dedicated to the success of our children. There has never been any issues with mice so for the very angry person trying to damage the image of the school there are plenty more standing by it and helping instead of complaining
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

My children have been attending ISL for 5 years. I love the teachers and staff. They genuinely care about the students. To the person who said the bus sign up is a hassle, you must have gone through a different process than I did. I just filled out a form at Meet the Teacher night. The lottery that the school runs for the buses is a nice change from the "first come first served" way they used to handle things. My children finally got on the bus this year. In regards to mice, I have never seen any and my children haven't mentioned it either. Which leads me to believe the forwarded emails I saw this summer were the act of someone interested in stirring up trouble. I cannot say enough good things about this school. LOVE the new fence! LOVE the new sign in computer! So glad I CHOSE to put my kids at ISL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

Under previous administration, this particular location had a sense of community, and a feeling that they were in service to the children of said community. Sadly, I as a parent no longer feel that here. It seems they do not really know what they are doing, or just act that way, and do not accept responsibility. This trickles down to the good teachers, and affects the children quite negatively. The recent directive about volunteer hours shows how badly they have slipped under current administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Imagine South Lake used to be a fantastic school under the leadership of the former principal. The new administration is useless and clueless. They do not know how to communicate effectively with students and I believe they resort to threatening tactics at times. The front office is atrocious and the staff is more interested in gossiping than parental concerns. If you are looking for a school that offers technology, high standards and quality teachers, this is not the school for you. Most of the teachers are ineffective and I doubt they could find employment in the public school system. It's also sad when teachers openly discriminate against students and dehumanize them in front of their peers. This school really needs an overhaul of administrators and teachers. It would be great if they had supplies and books.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

I am very happy with this school and all the teachers and staff there. My son has been at the school for two years, and I really have nothing but good things to say. My son is in first grade now, and I love knowing that he will be at the same school until he is in eighth grade. Hopefully, by then there will be a high school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2011

Very satisfied with SLI. Very responsive administration, great parent involvement, and my daughter is extremely happy there. Glad to find a place she can remain through Middle School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

Imagine Schools at South Lake is the most wonderful school I have ever taught at. We have such great teamwork and I truly love the way everyone has a say in how our school operates. I spend so much time there, not even thinking sometimes about looking at the clock. Even under new administrative leadership, the transition has been smooth, and it still feels like a family atmosphere. If you live in Lake County, this is the school you want your children to go to. It's one of a kind!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2010

Certain teachers cross personal boundaries that should not be crossed. Teachers should be held to a higher standard to ensure their relationship with the children is strictly professional! I understand you will form a band with children during a school year but that bond should still maintain a professional level not a personal level. Teachers try to get to involved in the personal lives of students and parents and basically put their noses where they dont belong. They openly express personal opinions when it is not their place to do so. They have no right to cross these lines and they leave their professionalism in question.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

We are a new family to the state and my son was a new kindergarten student to school and we could have not asked for a better setting, structure and school. My son loved attendng school and I loved being part of the family of Imagine South Lake. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

The teachers are wonderful, my kids are all happy, they are also A students, we love the principle too. I wouldn't change a thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

My son loves this school! I love everything about this school. It's small, student and parent oriented and just all around great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

Great school, great teachers, small family oriented, my kids are happy, learning and getting good grades, what else can I say?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Every once in a while a group comes together that has that 'x' factor and we at SLC are lucky to have it. It's easy to see why SLC has climbed from a C to an A school The principal is a one-of-a-kind motivator and the instructors brilliantly combine teaching techniques with their life experiences making learning fun and effective. What a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 42%
Hispanic 21% 29%
Black 8% 23%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 96%62%61%
Master's degree 4%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2750 Hartwood Marsh Rd
Clermont, FL 34711
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 243-2960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT