Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clewiston High School

Public | 9-12 | 870 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2012

my son is a new student to thre school, and I have found everyone supportive and very helpful. They offer quite a bit, and were focused on college prep and ACT testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Now I'm not saying Clewiston is a great school, and it probably does deserve the reviews its been given, but think about this, if we are always advancing, and coming up with new ways to make students learn, why haven't those ways been implimented at Clewiston High? If you truly want to find out what's what with these 'new learning programs', then you need to try them out on schools like CHS and see if they raise test scores. And thats another thing, everything is based on the FCAT. Everything in CHS is focused soley on passing the FCAT. Where is there time, effort, or money to put towards any other classes? This school district needs more money in order to update it's facilities. Period. End of story. And it should not be based on how well you do on a test that the Governer couldn't even pass.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2010

i think this could be a wonderful school if the students were treated like people! they are only human! we are all only human and we all have issues in our life that we sometimes have no control over! sometimes times a certain behavior is for a reason in students and teachers, we only walk in our own shoes! some of these teachers mistake understanding for excuses! they do what is easiest for them instead of what is best for the children! i pray that one day you are experiencing a similar situation and someone is as understanding to you as you have been to others in the same situation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

An overwhelmed administration, apathetic population, too frequently poorly disciplined students, outdated equipment, and frustrated teachers, and pitiful financing make this a rough district to learn and teach in. Even still, students who are serious can learn here if they wish to and there are many teachers who are progressive, innovative, highly involved, and caring...this is definitely a school that gives what you put in. Those who do not care will fare poorly, as will those with poor discipline, but those who apply themselves will thrive and have every opportunity to become stronger.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2009

The school right now is running on low money and the consequences of it all are really affecting not only the staff members but students. We really want to have the best opportunity 's poosible, but i realize that with all the budget cuts there isn't too much good things happening. i'm still a junior but i don't want to leave this school knowing that it's only going to become worse i have a brother and sister who will be coming in a couple of years. I want the best for them and i don't want it to require moving. if we could only get some more financial suppor.....
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2008

I feel that this school couldn't be any better, or any worse. It remains to be below average due to the students, faculty and staff. I do believe the Honors students at CHS are learning the same material that average classes are learning from other schools. The average classes at CHS consist of students who don't even act old enough to be in school. The FCAT scores are too low, which is why there hasn't been any recent technology updates in the school system. As for teachers not respecting students, the students walk into class the first day with attitudes and not even caring whether they pass or not. How is a teacher (who obviously did well in school) supposed to respect someone who shows up to class not even wanting to learn anything? Anyways, Clewiston is Clewiston. How would anyone expect the High School to be anything but below average?


Posted October 3, 2008

i love this school because i believe that ms.lee is a great asst. principle and that she should have the top spot this is her neice...


Posted October 8, 2007

this school is a very good school. the teaching is fair. its the students that need help with attitude. i have never had a problem with any of my teachers. i love clewiston high, and ive learned a lot from it so far.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2007

I feel like the students need to respect the teachers off the bat. They should be learning this at home by having parents that demand and deserve respect. If a teacher does something to lose that respect then that is one thing, but to have this attitude that the teachers are at fault is absurd. I graduated from CHS in 2002 with Honors and can only recall one teacher that I didn't care for. I will agree that there could much more integration of technology at the school but with consecutively low scores on the FCAT, I don't think CHS is going to see any new influx of funds from the government. How about some revived parental involvement with the school and the students? It goes so much further than anything the school could do for the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 31, 2007

This school could do much better. Some of the teachers have attitudes with the kids,and don't care if they pass or not. Technology is outdated. My son loves computers and Clewiston High school has no updated technology classes, everything basic. Some classes are just so boring he doesn't even want to go to them. Teachers have to make learning fun. I believe teachers should respect kids if they want kids to respect them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

The school has many potentials. There is a great foreign language program for Spanish Speakers but needs more languages. The school has a long tradition of supporting the community and visa versa, but requires more emphasis on academics. Teachers seem to care but few understand the growing change of the outlay of the school community which is increasingly more minority. That is not a bad thing, it is simply a reflection of the times. The community needs to change in its outlook toward it youths. Few establishments exist for student entertainment. They need to take that into account when planning events for the community. The high school will improve as the lower grades improve and students advance through the system.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 17, 2006

This school tries hard but needs to try even harder. There is a problem of curriculum not being rigorous and full.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

Clewiston High is a struggling high school. They are currently concentrating on raising FCAT scores and are emphasizing reading and English Classes. This being said their curriculum does not offer much in the way of extras. They do however have a good Ag program and an Arts program that includes ceramics, Drama and their band program seems to be growing if still very small. However the electives available for more academic subject areas are lacking. They offer the basics and thats it. They are in need of more vocational programs. Not all kids are going on to college and it would be nice if they had the skills and abilities needed to get a job after highschool better than working at Walmart or Burger King in an entry level position.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

157 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
51%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
40%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
Black 23%
White 23%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 75%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%73%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 South Francisco Street
Clewiston, FL 33440
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 983-1520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Agape Christian Academy
Moore Haven, FL



Glades Virtual Franchise
Moore Haven, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT