Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

North Broward Preparatory School

Private | PK-12 | 1400 students

Academic rigor, fine arts and athletics
 
 

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Coconut Creek

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $152,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

79 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2010

We love this school! Our daughter started in her freshman year and we feel she will be very prepared for college by the time she graudates. The teachers go above and beyond to ensure that the students are successful. There are so many extra curricular activities to choose from. They offer a good selection of AP, Honors and IB classes. Our experience with the administration thus far has been positive. The college planning department is fantastic. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

2 kids at school. great experience. New Headmaster is terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

Terrible. There are a few great teachers, but the leadership in the lower school is one of the worst I have experienced in any organization...let alone a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Terrible School. Terrible ownership which trickles down to terrible leadership. They are confused. Communication is terrible. Could give you more, but the list is so long and I wish I had the time. Bottom line... I also do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

This will be my children's fifth year at the school and I have nothing but praise for the education my children are receiving. Great teachers willing to give their time to help each student. I have a High School student and a Middle School student both of whom are extremely happy at N. Broward. Having read some of the other new reviews prompted me to share my positive experience. My children will be so prepared for college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

Poor Leadership. Principle unwilling to change stubborn ways. Producers of leaders..watch out what kind of leaders your producing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

I really had high hopes for this school but this school was horriable and cruel. I could go on and on but it's better to let go. I do not recommend this school to anyone. Extremely stressful place for a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

I have been a parent at NBPS for six years. I have found it to a wonderful environment for my children. The new ownership has created a tighter,better run school over the past few years. There was a bit of teacher turnover a few years ago, but that has served to make the quality of education better by holding the teachers to a higher standard. Overall, this has been a wonderful school for all of my children. They are treated as individuals with differing learning styles and gifts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Very focused on my child's performance. Very rich set of resources. Moved from Boston and found the environment far superior to the private school that my kids attended there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

My two sons attend The North Broward Preparatory School and we are happy with this school. This is our fourth year at the lower school. While there definitely have been some 'growing pains' as the school expanded over last two years, the administration has gotten it right this year!! The new principal has exceeded our expectations! The leadership team is experienced and committed to every child's success. From the earliest years, enrichment classes include: Mandarin, Spanish, Art, Music, Computer Library, and P.E.; My sons are in a welcoming, nurturing and safe environment. Classes are small and the teachers use the curriculum to inspire curiosity and build confidence. They develop individual learning plans to help each student succeed. The only downside is the tuition continues to go up almost 10 % annually....very expensive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

My child just started kindergarten at the CS campus. And I am not happy with it. I thought I was enrolling my child into a school that would fit the needs for my child but this is not at all worth the money. My child is constantly bored, the other children are out of control, spoiled. We are a down to earth family no matter the money involved and the other parents well lets just say snobs. My child will not be going here next year! We are looking into other private schools in the Broward County area. Do your family a favor and don't enroll your child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

After a combined 18 years with NBPS- we are seeking alternative schools for our kids. Tuition is extremely high- especially in a down market. Our son comes home regularly and talks about the owner's Maybach (a $300,000 car) and how he leaves it running while he's inside. Do you think this is a bit over the top? The teachers turn-over regularly (othere schools in the area is where they go), discipline is a problem. They really do accept anyone who can afford to go there. Most kids are very privledged and the snobbery is obscene. Kids of 10 & 11 with Imacs and Iphones. I find it obscene. There are 'A' rated schools in our neighborhood as well as highschool programs where the grads go to top level schools and the programs is already an International Baccalaureate School- North Broward is 'trying' for this certification by 2012. Look elsewhere.


Posted April 8, 2008

So sorry to say that we are leaving NB. When we joined the school community 5 years ago, the teacher turnover was non-existent. Now, it changes from year to year. No indoor gym, kids are outside at all times. No theatre for performances...all promises broken while the tuition competes with all other privates in the area. Lunch not included. From all appearances school is run for profit not for benefit of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

Although my daughter is having trouble adjusting I think the school adminstration is great. Especially the online access and immediate connection with a teacher when needed. I can send an email and with in hours a response is normally received. No leaving messages at the front office and hoping it gets delivered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

They have finally gone too far...the tuition rates for high school are outrageous and unrealistic. They have now toped Pine Crest's tuition rates and North Broward's tuition doesn't include lunch or books, like Pine Crest does. Although my child has done well here and has only one year left, I do not think the tuition is worth it. Look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I have two children in this school. We have been part of the NBPS family for 7 years; they are both in HS. They have done very well academically taking Honors and AP classes. Tuition is high and many families get help from grandparents as we do. Music and performing arts programs can not be beat! Sports and other clubs/activities are readily available. It seems many people are put off by teacher turn over but this is a chronic problem in all schools in south Florida...Housing,Taxes and Insurance costs are through the roof (no pun intended.) This is not a NBPS issue it is an issue for all so. FL schools. I can not fault a teacher, administrator or family for moving out of state as many have done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

I have two children at the school and my oldest has been there for nine years. Overall, our experience has been excellent. The school emphasizes a family atmosphere while challenging the children academically. There are lots of extracurricular activities to choose from depending on your interests. Safety and security is a priority at the school and my wife and I feel very comfortable dropping our children off there each day. The school became part of a network of prep schools around the world two years ago and we are already seeing some of the benefits; from travel/study opportunities to cultural exchanges via the internet and video conferencing in the classroom. Lastly, the list of colleges and universities that accept the school's graduates is quite impressive. I highly recommend the school to prospective families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

Our worst fears came true when the original school was purchased by a lawyer, but it was good that he was able to put together the funding to purchase land and build an upper campus for the kids, and keep the tuition below that of Pine Crest as he promised at his first of so many of his too long speaches we all had to listen to over the years. Although the early years of the new campus were a bit 'green,' as any new school would be, it did get better, but then reached a peak and has been on a downfall ever since. Many of the original students left for other schools. Not enough to choose from around here so mine stayed on and graduated. Nice buildings, but many of the great teachers also left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

My children attended North Broward after several years we have decided to change schools. A non-profit school was our final decision where the administrators are focused on the children and not the bottom line profit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

Beware of a very high teacher turn over. My son has been here the past three years and we have seen tremendous teacher and administration changes.The administration that runs the school has not figured out that the teachers are the heart and soul of the school, not the owner or the pretty campus grounds! They do have an excellent music and drama department, but you pay extra for fees for them, along with extra fees to play sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Harvard
Yale
Princeton
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jackie Fagan, Admissions Director
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (954) 247-0012

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • SADD
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Vision The Schools' central vision is to challenge our students to accept responsibility for their own learning with the support of teachers and staff members who care about their future. In that way, we fulfill our responsibility to students to empower them to succeed both in college and in life.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
academic scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Top Schools Throughout The Country
State Schools Throughout Florida
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7600 Lyons Road
Coconut Creek, FL 33073
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 247-0011

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT