Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winston Park Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1208 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2006

My son had been in a Montessori-based private school for K-2nd, when a change in my job situation caused us to transfer him to Winston park, our local public elementary school. As he was working well ahead of grade level, as soon as the school year began, I initiated the application process to have him tested for the gifted program. It was not until January that the school tested him, then we had to wait another several weeks for the county to invite my husband and me to a panel meeting to discuss the results. Another 3 weeks later (in late March), he was finally transferred to the gifted class. The principal of the school knows how to 'say all the right things', but in the end does not seem to really care about parents' concerns. My son is now back at the Randazzo School, where he is thriving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2005

Winston Park is one of the best schools in the area. Parental involvement is high from PTA to parent teacher conferences to volunteer work. Music, art and computers are in abundance as well as teaching quality. My son was on the honor roll in this school every year. If the student doesnt understand a concept, the teachers work with the student to help them understand and work with the parents as well so the student gets the best learning environment. It is in a wonderful community and has parks nearby. It has two drop off areas so there arent too many traffic problems during pick up and drop off. The Office staff are always helpful and treat you like a neighbor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

My daughter started here in Kindergarten and loves attending Winston Park. The teachers are fabulous and the level of parent involvement is high. The programs offered to the children are fun and there are great numbers of students involved in the activities. Great teachers = great students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2005

The quality of academic programs given at this school is outstanding. The support and caring of the faculty makes this school feel like a wonderful place to be. The students are happy and excited. The faculty are caring and go above and beyond to help the children. The music program is exciting with many performances throughout the year. Parents are always willing to lend a helping hand. The classrooms have an open door policy allowing parents to volunteer and read with the kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2005

I love this school, my children go here now, and the teachers are wonderful as well as the office staff. I would like to see more physical education available to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

My children have attended Winston Park Elementary throughout grades K-5 and the school has been a wonderful source of education and social development for both of my girls. The quality of teacher education is high and the school has programs to suit gifted or high achievers as well as pull-out programs for children who are struggling in certain subjects. They have a great art, music, and physical education program suited for a well-rounded child. The parents are actively involved with a strong and united PTA that provides support and fund raising activities to the school and community. It is a top-notch, A-rated environment that provides security and a sense of belonging for the children that attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

WPE is a great public school. Although it is a large school there seems to be a real sense of family among the students and staff. The principal is a wonderful leader who runs a well run school with little nonsense. The AP is warm and caring and very visalble at the school always wiling to help. The staff is knowledgeable and takes great pride in teaching the minds of tomorrow.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 13, 2005

Great school and staff. Very friendly environment. Learning is evident throughout the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 2, 2004

Winston Park is a great school with exceptional teachers who really care about there students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

Winston Park Elementary has been a wonderful experience for my son, my nephew and for myself. They have helped in my son and my nephews growth, education, and self-esteem. I appreciate all that the faculty and staff do everyday to maintain a calm and learning atmosphere. I believe that more parent involvement (and discipline) would definitely help in the staff and faculties ability to maintain this atmosphere for many years to come. I am hoping to be privileged enough to let my youngest children attend this school also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2004

This is a wonderful school. In the years that both my children have attended this school, they have recieved a quality education by teachers who are guenuniely interested in their students welfare. There is high parental involvement and I have found that both the principal and assistant principal very accessible. I would recommend this school to anyone coming into the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2003

I have not rated higher due to the treatment my son has received. My son is ADD and the treatment he received from his teacher last year was horrible and nothing was ever done. They worried more about telling me everything my son did wrong instead of trying to help him improve. Luckily the teacher he has this year is a saint and we love her! The principal is also never available. I get tired of being dumped to her secretary or her assistant which is a waste of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

210 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 42%
Hispanic 25% 29%
Black 20% 23%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%53%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 Winston Park Blvd
Coconut Creek, FL 33073
Phone: (754) 322-9000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Quiet Waters Elementary School
Deerfield Beach, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT