Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tradewinds Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1119 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

I like school a lot. it did help my son with his autisem. He started at the age of 3 years. By the age of 5, he was able to go to regular class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

This is our fourth year at Tradewinds. Kindergarten and first grade was an amazing experience with Ms. Manners. She raises the bar for being a great teacher to a very hard to beat level. Although there has been some changes, last year was also good. We absolutely love the school, and would recommend it. Of course, some teachers are better than others, but we are yet to meet an unhappy parent at Tradewinds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

We had the opportunity to have our second grader reassigned to Tradewinds. His home school wasn't meeting the needs of our son and we had received exemplary reviews about Tradewinds. As a parent who was schooled in New York, I have been very skeptical of Florida's education system until now. Tradewinds, Mrs. Stevens (his amazing teacher) and the staff at Tradewinds exceeded my expectations. Mad minutes where my second grader became a whiz at multiplication, the hands on field trips which he learned so much from and the overall environment at Tradewinds makes this one of the top schools in Florida, Public or Private. They don't teach to a test but prepare your children for the future. My son is looking forward to third grade with Mrs. Stevens. She's made him excited to go to school and learn. My husband and I couldn't have asked for a better teacher and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

Tradewinds is a fabulous school. The administration and teachers are all amazing.. Parental involvement is very high, and has a top notch PTA. Everyone goes above and beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

Tradewinds Elementary is a great school, my son is a Kindergarten he is loving it, I see a lot of parent involvement which is great. Also, not so crowed like the others public schools around...Im very happy with this school. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

All three of our children have gone to Tradewinds Elementary. They all loved it, and received, or are receiving a fantastic education. It is the reason we moved into this part of South Florida, and we have never regretted it. All of the programs are excellent and the teachers are wonderful. I especially appreciate that all of the staff really get to know each student. It is a loving and tight knit school community! Also, you can see the difference in education when the children move on to middle school. The Tradewinds students really excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

I went to Tradwinds from KIndergarten to 5th grade. I LOVE this school, i am now going into the 8th grade and everyday I wish i was back at Tradwinds. I had the best teachers ever, Mrs.Kramer, Mrs.Helen, and Mrs.Putney. My little brother is going there in 2 years and I hope he gets the same teachers that i did cause they are the sweetest, most caring and most loving teachers ever!


Posted February 5, 2011

I loved this school, my 3 kids attended it last year and I moved away & out of district, now there back in a crapy B school & failing. They cried everyday for the first 3 months and still ask to go back. The teachers and staff were so helpful there and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

attitude & motivation are the keys to graduation, this school will get you there i wish this was my school when i was a kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

My son is going into his 3rd year at Tradewinds. The teaching staff has taken wonderful care of my son and has given him a great start to his education. I have been involved is the school in areas from room mom to the PTA. Keep in mind, I believe that nothing is perfect and everyone will have some issues but, this is truly a great school. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

My daughter is in Kindergarden and my son in second grade, Mrs. Stollings and Mrs. Bavaro are the best teachers, very organize, and always smiling and enjoing their Job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

This is my son's third year at Tradewinds... and my daughther just started Kindergarten. They both love this school! The teachers and staff are great, specially Miss. Gac, she is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

I moved to Coconut Creek in 2001, my oldest son was in 5th grade, that year was a little rough, only because of his teacher; didn't like her at all. Since then I have put 2 other sons through Tradewinds with the my youngest now entering the 4th grade and my middle son now moving on to middle school. I am going to miss Tradewinds when my youngest has to move on. I love this school, the teachers and all the staff are great. Kudos to Mrs. Carruthers and Mrs. Putney; the two best teachers there in my opinion. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

As a parent, I would have to say that the school is terrific. Mrs. Putney is a phenomenal teacher, and I don't know what we would do without her! There is a great deal of parental involvement! I would like to see a science special and/or a writing special. My son particularly enjoys P.E. with Coach! Overall, I think the school deserves an 'A'!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

We've been at Tradewinds for three years now and wouldn't change it for anything! The teachers and staff are warm and welcoming. The curriculum is challenging but fun. The building and grounds are beautifully maintined with a student-maintined butterfly garden heloing the children to really gain an appreciation of & respect for nature and the environment. There is heavy parental involvement and a strong PTA that recognizes familes of all colors, cultures and socioeconomic levels. Your child will gain a thorough, well-rounded education here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

This is my first year with Tradewinds and in the beginning I was not happy. I almost pulled my child out of the school. I believe they should recognize the higher achievers and place them in a separate class. Not all mixed together. The teacher is wonderful...I love her and that is why we are staying so far..The military style is a bit much and i feel they could be a bit more loving to the kids. The lunch that is served needs some improvement. The field trips are great, the class size is nice and again the teacher is the BEST!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

My daughter is in the First grade and her teacher, Mrs. Vendryes, is phenomenal. At Tradewinds, the teachers follow their class for two years. This is an excellent program as it allows the teacher to continue with where she has left off from the previus year. Having the same children cuts down on the time it takes to get to know the new kids and their strenghts and weaknesses. The kids know the expecations from day one! I am very happy with Tradewinds and I have found everyone affiliated with the school to be knowledgable, committed and excited about teaching our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

Wonderful school! Alot of parent involvement. We have had a wonderful experience with my daughter's teacher -- she was always willing to speak with us. Also, the school in constantly doing activities witht he children such as 'High Tech High Touch', Science fairs etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

Tradewinds is a great school. The teachers are caring and helpful. The school is well-maintained and clean. I am very happy having a student go to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Tradewinds is a good school. My son has attended since kindegarten. I have had problems with individual teachers on occasion, and I have not found the principal very receptive to constructive criticism. However, I have also had experience in other schools. I find that the curriculum is above average at Tradewinds, and the teachers are as well. The lunch menu could use improvement. and the lunch personnel are not always civil to the students. Still, in comparison to many other schools Tradewinds is superior. The office staff is always ready and willing to help. The nurse has always been very kind and approachable. The library and video areas are very nice. The school functions and field trips are numerous and engaging. Overall, Tradewinds is a nice school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

189 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 42%
Hispanic 37% 29%
Black 15% 23%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%53%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Johnson Rd
Coconut Creek, FL 33073
Phone: (754) 322-8700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Primary Learning Place
Boca Raton, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT