Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
300 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
My children feel safe and loved by each and every teacher they see throughout the day. I want to say thank you to each one!

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
The standards set by the school are extremely high. Not only are teachers well trained, they are constantly learning more through professional development which is supported by the School Board and the Parent Association.


St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
This is an elementary school. Research shows that homework does not benefit children at this age as we used to think it did. I am glad I don't see lots of busy work.

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
My children are always encouraged, never discouraged, and always have a "can do" attitude. They are not afraid to fail because they know it is safe to try something and, if it fails, they can always try again.

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
This is one of the strongest traits I have seen. The teacher-to-student and student-to-student relationships are amongst the most respectful I have ever seen.


St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
The school has implemented a character trait program that the Chaplain leads and is reinforced by every person on campus. Every month, my children come home focused on how they can be more compassionate, grateful, responsible, etc.

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
There is no place like St. Stephen's! The grounds are beautiful and the facilities are impressive. But that alone does not make a great school. The spirit that permeates the campus and the loving culture that I witness every day is what makes this school so special. Every teacher greets my children and me by name and with a warm smile. Administrators are out and about the campus and always have the time to talk to us parents. The stream of photos and videos I receive of my children playing and learning is constant and I LOVE that! Keep doing what you are doing, SSEDS! :)

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended St. Stephen's since Pre-K 3 and is currently in First grade. St. Stephen's is an EXCELLENT school. Teachers are effective, caring, and great communicators. The campus is beautiful but beyond the beauty of the campus is the overwhelming positive attitude that prevails everywhere from the administration, teachers, coaches to the children, everyone is happy to be going to this school. Bottom line: The GREATEST GIFT a parent can do / give to their child is a GREAT education and this school is the BEST!


St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Both of my daughters graduated from St. Stephen’s and loved their experience. St. Stephen’s has a strong sense of community and the teachers and staff are very nurturing. The school values traditions, some that date back to 1958 when the school first opened, and it embraces innovation and change in the classroom. The teachers take the time to get to know each child individually and they inspire a love of learning. Character education is a vital component of the school's mission and is taught throughout the curriculum. I would wholeheartedly recommend St. Stephen’s to anyone!

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
I considered myself blessed to be part of the school. My girls are surrounded by the most loving and caring environment, but at the same time being constantly challenged to be the best they can be. For the last 7 years, my kids leave to school with the uttermost excitement, as if it was the first day every day! What else can you ask for! Schools from all over the world tour our state of the art facilities to learn how to apply technologies in a learning environment while maintaining a healthy balance (education, outdoor activities, technology). Thank you St. Stephen's!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School
3439 Main Hwy, Coconut Grove, FL  33133
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (305) 445-2606
Last modified St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top