Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
307 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
My son has attended St. Stephen's since Pre-K 3 and is currently in First grade. St. Stephen's is an EXCELLENT school. Teachers are effective, caring, and great communicators. The campus is beautiful but beyond the beauty of the campus is the overwhelming positive attitude that prevails everywhere from the administration, teachers, coaches to the children, everyone is happy to be going to this school. Bottom line: The GREATEST GIFT a parent can do / give to their child is a GREAT education and this school is the BEST!

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Both of my daughters graduated from St. Stephen’s and loved their experience. St. Stephen’s has a strong sense of community and the teachers and staff are very nurturing. The school values traditions, some that date back to 1958 when the school first opened, and it embraces innovation and change in the classroom. The teachers take the time to get to know each child individually and they inspire a love of learning. Character education is a vital component of the school's mission and is taught throughout the curriculum. I would wholeheartedly recommend St. Stephen’s to anyone!


St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
I considered myself blessed to be part of the school. My girls are surrounded by the most loving and caring environment, but at the same time being constantly challenged to be the best they can be. For the last 7 years, my kids leave to school with the uttermost excitement, as if it was the first day every day! What else can you ask for! Schools from all over the world tour our state of the art facilities to learn how to apply technologies in a learning environment while maintaining a healthy balance (education, outdoor activities, technology). Thank you St. Stephen's!!!!

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
We feel very blessed that our children go to St. Stephen's. We seem to be in a world filled with overbearing parents pushing and shoving their kids to be the cream of the crop and many times those same kids grow up lacking social skills and empathy. While academics you can get anywhere and St. Stephen's proves to be on par with the local curriculum of its peers, where the school really stands out is what it teaches the children about self worth, community and the environment. St. Stephen's is unique in its parental involvement of the children's education. Learning begins and ends in the home and the school expects parents and families to deliver on this pledge. Too many parents rely solely on a school for education and if that is you, do not go to this school. However if you are looking for a school that will develop a well rounded child, with the ability to express himself/herself eloquently and confidently, who will have free thinking to come up with solutions within a spiritual and nurturing environment, then St.Stephen's is your school.

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 1

Posted November 10, 2012
- a parent
St. Stephen s is a solid C. Its best features are that it has a well manicured appearance and clean marketing. There are many nice families at the school and it has a well run library. However, the school is completely failing in its learning quality. If the most important priority in choosing a school is what and how your child learns, this will not be the right school for you. The highly marketed technology was nothing more than electronic babysitting. There are problems with classroom management, ineffective minimally-trained teachers and many basic supervision issues. It is almost as if you pay for all the things that do not matter and none of the things that actually do. It was a complete disappointment. Our children have changed schools and the difference has been excellent and also shocking. We were told to expect that our children would be behind coming from this school and they were. Overall, we could not recommend it to anyone.


St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
At the end of the day, what we all want as parents is a great education for our children. If that can be done in a safe and nurturing environment, even better. As a parent who has been part of the school for several years, I can wholeheartedly say that teachers truly care about their craft at this school. Because of this, the administration backs their teachers 100% and makes sure they get whatever tools, resources, and training is needed for them to realize their ideal learning environment. Everything that happens at St. Stephen's is a result of careful planning with a true focus on the students' complete education. That includes academics, spirituality, emotional well-being, global citizenship, and everything else we want our children embrace as they get ready to move into middle school.

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 2

Posted February 27, 2010
- a parent
Very disappointing academically. I agree with the previous parent's response, except I will take my daughter out after the first year. I recommend searching other schools before commiting to enrollment in this one. Good luck!

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted July 16, 2006
- a parent
St. Stephen's provided our son with a wonderful combination of structure, support and creative exploration. The teachers are involved at all levels, as are a great number of parents. It is a welcoming evironment for both students and their families.


St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 5

Posted December 08, 2004
- a parent
St. Stephen's provides a warm and nuturing environment for all its students. The teachers are top notch, the classes are small, and the environment embodies what is so charming about Coconut Grove. The children are encouraged to enjoy the learning process while being taught respect and self discipline.

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School 3

Posted September 20, 2004
- a parent
poor leadership, no plan, no curriculum, unorganized

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School
3439 Main Hwy, Coconut Grove, FL  33133
(305) 445-2606
Last modified St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
St. Stephen's Episcopal Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top