Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cooper City Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 795 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 2, 2005

The number of reassignments in this school has lowered the quality education provided. It is aggravating to buy in an area because of the school and find that due to circumstances beyond your controll your child is not getting the quality education you expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

This is an outstanding school, my 2 girls have gone the past 2 years & they have turned the grades around &all of the credit goes to the teachers who brought some things to our attention that they needed help with & the other school she went to didn't care enough. I can't tell you how please I am with the talented teachers especially Mrs Nolan & Mrs Stein who have worked wonders with my 5th grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

Teachers are the key to Cooper City Elementary. There's plenty of parent involvment and the extracurricular projects keep kids focused and motivated. We are lucky to have a school of this caliber in our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

I think Cooper City is an A school because of the parents, teachers, and kids all working together to achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

This is my sons 3rd year here. He has had ups and downs. The one problem there seems to be is 'bullying'. For the most part though Cooper City Elementary has went to all the highest efforts to help meet my son's learning needs. Ms. Milner is a blessing and has the patience of a saint! Overall rating is good!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 2, 2005

My children have got an excellent education here. Encountered no problems till this year. School is becoming too crowded. New cafeteria and new classrooms should ease this. Teachers and other staff are top quality. It would be nice if Music teacher gets her own classroom again. Parental involvement seems really high. Would be nice to have a few more extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2005

Excellent school with respect to reading and writing. Specials like music, art, P.E. have suffered because of the 'critically overcrowded' status. Parent involvement is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

The school is extremely over crowded. They have put two teachers in one classroom because there is no more room in the school. What a distraction! My son is in first grade and received his first quarter report card. He got just about all three's. I went and talked to the teacher and she was not willing to do a behavior report or send home a note if he had trouble on his assignment that day. Luckly I went and talked to the principal and she solved the whole issue. On the whole issue of the school I think they try there hardest to help the children excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

My daughter started Kindergarden this year & I was very impressed by her teacher. The school has been great & I was able to volunteer in her class a few times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

This is my son's 2nd year at CCES. He's in the 3rd grade & my daughter attended the Pepper Program last year & is now in Kindergarten. For 2nd grade - Mrs. Fitch is fabulous and when I thought it couldn't get much better along comes Mrs. Silverman for 3rd grade. My son has come along way and I thank these 2 teachers tremendously. As for my daughter, in Pepper - Ms. Maria is outstanding, the Pepper Program is top notch. As for my daughter's Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Signorelli - well I couldn't have asked for a better teacher for my little girl. I have noticed a major difference in my children and I feel it is because they have teachers that are dedicated and truly care.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Hispanic 33% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%53%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School psychologist
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Dennis F Sciullo
Fax number
  • (754) 323-5240

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5080 SW 92nd Ave
Cooper City, FL 33328
Phone: (754) 323-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lycee Franco-American
Cooper City, FL



Nur Ul-Islam Academy
Cooper City, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT