Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

718 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cooper City Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
I have 2 children at this school and they love it. My daughter went in unable to read and ended up being the best reader in her Kindergarten class! My son came out so knowledgeable about a variety of topics. The teachers are fantastic and they expect a lot from the students...which they should. They are our future:)

Cooper City Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Sevilla, thank you for teaching my daughter to read and to truly love reading!


Cooper City Elementary School 2

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
Very disappointed with this school. I found that most of the teachers here will say anything to make you believe they care about your child's best interest. I had expressed my concerns regarding some of my child's academic deficits, during conferences, and while both 4th and 5th grade teachers acknowledged the deficits, their response was always the same. They would be happy to consult with the reading specialist and get back with me regarding my concerns. Of course, I heard absolutely NOTHING else from either teacher or the reading specialist. I ended up going outside the school to get my child additional help.

Cooper City Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is in her second year at Cooper City Elementary, and we have been blown away by the quality of education that she has been getting. My daughter's first teacher was excellent, and always provided feedback to us. She always responded to any e-mails or notes that I included. This teacher hand-picked the teacher for my daughter's second year (from K to 1st), and we have been equally pleased with this teacher as well. I can't say enough about this school. This is the kind of education that I would otherwise only expect from an expensive private school.

Cooper City Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Hook and Mrs. Sevilla. They care, and the quality of education my child gets is evident of this.


Cooper City Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
My experience so far with two teachers, Mrs. Hook and Mrs. Sevilla, have been spectacular.

Cooper City Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
There is typically a daily reading requirement, and either a spelling or math assignment. Other subjects (such as science and history) are injected through either the reading or spelling assignments.

Cooper City Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
One thing that's important to me is that the children aren't coddled. It's important, particular in modern times where everyone gets a trophy for doing nothing, the teachers (within the limits of the district curriculum) ensure that students are encouraged, but not unnecessarily rewarded for things that they haven't accomplished. They have a rewards ceremony at the end of the year.


Cooper City Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
In my experience, the teachers have very little tolerance for students that refuse to respect the rest of the class. There is a difference between being disruptive, and purposely being belligerent. The teachers work to create a positive environment for all students.

Cooper City Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 14, 2016
- a parent
The teachers ensure that students know why they are being punished and how their actions affect other students. The "do unto others" mentality.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cooper City Elementary School
5080 Southwest 92nd Avenue, Cooper City, FL  33328
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (754) 323-5200
Last modified Cooper City Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top