Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cooper City High School

Public | 9-12 | 2140 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2006

Great school if you have a bright student. Lot's of good gifted and AP offerings, plenty of opportunities for leadership and extracurricular involvement, diverse curriculum offerings.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 24, 2006

I have been going to this school for three years now, I started my 10th grade year.I am sorry to say this school is horriable, most the staff are disrespectful and never listen what you have to say. I do agree with everyone else, the school does only care about the school rateing. All Im saying is this school is not nearly the school you hear about, things need to change starting with Ms.Dolls attitude.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2006

We moved to Cooper City for the schools, only to be very disappointed. The staff could care less, it's the School Grade that matters. What the students learn comes second. The Math program is very disappointing. Most of the school year, during the FCATs is spent only on obtaining that Excellent School Rating. The staff, the really do not care what the students learn. If a student needs extra care, assistance, guidance it is not encouraged. Cooper City High cares about it rating, not educating the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2006

Cooper City High Schools is not the school it was 4 years ago. Perhaps new leadership needs to be introduced to bring this school back to the standards it was once known for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

Cooper City is a good, not great, high school. There are plenty of opportunities for motivated students, exceptional teachers, and a strong base of parent support. My biggest disappointment has been in the lack of rigor associated with the academic elements. Message to administration: It's okay to make kids work hard and it's okay if they don't like it. 'Good enough' isn't the same as excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

I went to cooper city high school. The student teacher ratio. Good athletic team and a diverse student body and great extracarricular activities all add to this outstanding school
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 3, 2006

CCHS used to be the school to go to. It maintained high standards and the kids actually learned. Since Ms. Doll has come in and micromanaged, the school has gone from an A to a C. Drugs are rampid and the quality of learning is next to none. Students have no study skills, the teachers do not challenge, and basically are there for their tenure. I moved to Cooper city for the high school and have been sadly let down in a very big way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

I went here when I was a teenager and I liked it. It hasn't been long since high school and I was very involved. It's a great school. The teachers were very considerate and taught me things that got me through college. I reccomend this school greatly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 26, 2005

This school is what you make of it: if your child is school-oriented, then they will do fine and possibly excell. If your child, like one of mine, is someone who is an average student, then they could easily fall through the cracks if they should encounter a subject that is difficult for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

Cooper City High has been a fantastic place for my son to attend high school. He is involved in the fantastic band program and has engaging, caring, talented teachers. We couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

my son goes there now and thinks it's great! loves the block schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

My son graduated from cchs in 2004 after attending for three years. There are some really excellent teachers at this school. My son especially enjoyed the auto mechanics program, (which has won awards at a national competition) unfortunately, this is a popular program which is hard to get into. In fact, it seemed that it was always a struggle to get the classes he really wanted. The school is overcrowded, and the lockers in the hallways were reportedly removed for this reason. There are several portable classrooms. I sat in my son's algebra class( portable) during parent night and the ac was so loud, I could hardly hear the teacher. The building is old and needs some renovation. Bathrooms are disgusting! I am surprised to see the school has dipped to a grade of 'c', it was designated a national school of excellence when my son was younger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

As a former student of Cooper City High, I am pleased with continuance of excellence at this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 25, 2004

My daughter has been in Cooper High for 1 year now, we are from Europe and I am amazed about the poor level and the numbers of classes only 4 per semester, including 1 class theme ' How to make it thru high school' !!! What do you learn and how deep do you go with 4 months classes! We just had the School Recital on March 7, 2004, $17.00 per parent! Complete inorganization, NO sound and not even batteries in the only 1 microphone, NO lighting and neons light in back stage, NO dynamics and NO teaching of confidence how to be on stage NO motivation from teachers Awful outfits extremely poor level and so boring The worst food ever! I am 36, I went in Europe in 9 Middle and High school at the University in Paris and in the USA at FIU, this recital was the very worst ever and the most expensive....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2004

I just graduated from this school, and honestly, I loved it. Yes, there are good and bad teachers, as there are anywhere else, and the administration is really strict, but one bad experience doesn't make it a bad school. If you are looking into moving into Southwest Broward, CCHS is your best choice of high schools. Take it from someone who knows firsthand. They are strict, tough, and at times, trying. But it has made me a better person for it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 15, 2004

It has been fortunate our son went through the Cooper city school system from elementary at Griffen, Pioneer, thru H.S. His courses and teachers for the most part were beyond the limits of 'A' school interpretation and have given hima great base for college for which he has been accepted to two colleges already.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

I have a junior at this high school and I am extremely pleased with his progress. The school offers a great array of courses that many other schools do not. The staff is hardworking and expects the same from the students. I am glad that my 8th grader will have the same opportunities as my junior next year. We moved to Cooper City over 12 years ago expressly because of the schools, in particular the high school, it is a decision we have not regretted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My student recently graduated from this school. The administration is the worst group of people to ever have to deal with. Some of the hardest working students on campus, the band, never got the recognition and respect they deserved from the administration, the principal, the other students and the school board. If Cooper City High is an 'A' school, I do not know how, and I would hate to see how a 'C' school runs. The people who run the school need work, the teachers do not.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

506 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

517 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

522 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

557 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

419 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

526 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
77%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

509 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
74%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

508 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 31%
Black 7%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 95%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%53%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. WENDY DOLL
Fax number
  • (754) 323-0330

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9401 Stirling Road
Cooper City, FL 33328
Phone: (754) 323-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Broward Academy
Davie, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT