Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Potential Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 250 students

Students rank in the top 22% or better nationally in reading, language or math.

 

Living in Cooper City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $382,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2007

I would just like to address the previous review. I currently have 3 children enrolled at Potential Christian Academy. My family has been at this AMAZING school since 2008. In the past years I have never, not once, witnessed any inappropriate behavior from any faculty member. The faculty and administartion have done nothing but shower my children with love and given them a strong foundation in their faith. This school and church has been such a blessing to me and my family. Walking through those doors every morning is like walking into home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

I just moved in town and quickly became a part of Potential Church. Once I found out they had a school attached my children were enrolled. I have been nothing but impressed with the staff and children that attend this school. Everyone has a smile on their face and a true feeling of family and love is felt daily. The administration is friendly and very professional. Christ shines through the staff and kids. Security is high and front office is very pleasant and well informed. The academics are very important in my family, and the learning coming from this school blows me away. Highly Recommend this school to EVERYONE!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2013

My daughter is so happy at this school, Wonderful enviroment. The teachers are top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

I am so happy with this school. My child has been attending this school since she was in preschool. She is currently in 4th grade and reads and comprehends at a 8th grade level, her test scores are literally off the charts and she is a beautiful well adjusted 4th grader. The teachers love the children and love teaching and that passion is absorbed by the students. PCA is a wonderful school to come to everyday. My little girl loves to come to school and her dad and I couldn't be happier with the academics. We love that Christ is at the center of everything and the staff and students are all striving to be all that God has created them and called them to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

I would not recommend this school to nobody, because of the lack of learning and favor picks with students. Some of the teachers don't know what they are doing. And the office is always covering up for the teachers, and the school only cares about is only MONEY out of the parents pockets. I DON'T LIKE THE TEACHING IN THAT SCHOOL AT ALL. KEEP YOUR CHILD AWAY!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

I absolutely have been blessed by PCA. The teachers and administration have a heart that beats for the Lord and they shine into the lives of my sons each day. Academics is very high and the school committed to helping students and families reach their God potential! PCA is our home and we are blessed!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

Potential Christian Academy is an excellent school! My kids have been here since 2008. I am blown away by how this school loves on our children on a daily basis. Our teachers and staff are like no other. We are truly blessed to be a part of an extraordinary school. Our academics and our Accelerated Reading programs are superb! I love this school and highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

This school is AMAZING! Our son started in the baby room at 18 months (K1) and continued through K4. We would have continued with PCA but we moved out of state. We always knew our son was in a kind, loving, fun learning environment. Each teacher our son had treated him like they were his Auntie. They truly love their students. The school does a ton of fun activities for the kids every week and especially great at the holidays. The entire faculty from leadership to teachers and coaches are absolutely phenomenal. If you want your child to thrive in confidence this is the school for you. As a very picky Mom I can whole -heartedly say that both my husband and I would HIGHLY recommend this school to any parent without hesitation. We are so thankful this is where our son got his start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2010

Flamingo Road Christian Academy is like being in a small town school with all the tools and technology that a large school provides.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 7, 2010

I have two girls one in 2nd and one in 6th grade.This school is absolutely amazing! My girls have been at the top prep schools in the area including Heritage, Miami Country day, and Westminster which all were lacking in some way either social or educational. The program at Flamingo is very challenging and competitive comparable to the above mentioned prep schools. The teachers are both patient and thorough with each child. The environment for the girls is amazing all the children get along no cliques to worry about. This school was truly a blessing. I just wish I had found out about them while the girls were little so they could have started pre-K here. Take a tour you wont be disappointed..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

I love this school! I am a student at FRCA and it is so cool. They are really nice, and they help me when ever I don't understand something and there is alot of afterschool activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2008

My son goes to school here and it is a wonderful environment that challenges him academically. The staff is loving and godly. I give it a four out of five only because they lack in sports (during school) and they are weak in the technology dept. Certainly not bad enough to switch schools though. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

I have two children who went through FRCA from K-5 to 5th grade and they blossomed under the love and caring of the staff. The staff loves every child and it was the very best I could have given my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

I really love this school. The teachers and staff really care about the children and thier familes. They all pull together as a team and really try to make every problem work out and child feel special. Havinging chapple once a week has really started to structure our family again our 3 year old son almost 4 now helps when time get rough he reminds me of jesus. I am greatful for the schools teachings I havent been strong for a while. And the class is great too a b c's counts to 20 knows colors shapes and a lot of really cool songs. I highly recomend this school, children really need sturcture and as a parent it is nice to have a lot of help. Thanks frca
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

We have three children and love this school. This is an awesome school for a Christ centered education. It has a preschool program that is wonderful and very academic. My son left the K-4 program reading well and excited to learn to spell. I had to other children in 1st grade and 3rd grade. Both of thier teachers were excellent. It could not have been a better year for our family academically and spiritually. I highly recommend this school. The entire staff is a Christ serving,and love the children very much. It has a very nice facility but could use some work with the playground area. The music program is done very well. The principal left this year and has new one on board. The school remarkably well with an acting principal. The new principal seems like his is very strong and will do well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Love this school. The teachers truely love and enjoy the children.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted November 9, 2005

I have been so happy to know my daugher attends a quality school. Besides the loving teacher, the academics are outstanding. They are very big on reading and take pride in their AR program. They have plenty fo extracurricular activities, and much more. Parents are always welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

This a great school with quality teachers and a very loving enviroment....You couldn't ask for more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

Strong school curriculum. Teachers are actively involved in student development
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

This school is completely an all around awesome school. I am currently a high school senior and I attended Flamingo Road Christian Academy PreK-4 through 5th grade. I graduated with the same kids I was in PreK with. It was most definitely a growing and learning experience, so much so that I have taken a Child Development class in high school so I can come to Flamingo Road and volunteer with the pre-school. I am a teachers aide with the same teacher I had for kindergarten. It sure is an experience to be on the other side of the tape and get to see all the faces of kids who one day will understand how much the loyalty, friendship, faith, and unity provided by Flamingo Road will effect and help them through the best of times and the worst.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 29%
White 38% 42%
Black 9% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • FACCS
Fax number
  • (954) 318-0077

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Step up for Students
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


3 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
60
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
180

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Step Up for Students
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12401 Stirling Road
Cooper City, FL 33330
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 434-1550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Mark Catholic School
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Franklin Academy E
Cooper City, FL


Franklin Academy F
Cooper City, FL



Temple Beth Emet Day School
Fort Lauderdale, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT