Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
350 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riviera Day School 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
It's a great school. Academics are great, teachers are awesome. Everyone knows my daughter. Small classes. Very receptive teachers. Most importantly my daughter loves going to school and she is learning a ton!

Riviera Day School 5

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
I wanted to give 4.5 stars, but the good exceeds the not so great enough to where I rounded up! Positives: #1 Academics - very challenging, but not overwhelming & the teachers make learning fun. #2 Technology - Very advanced. All 4th & 5th graders have tablets! Students can access their grades, homework assignments, text books & even turn in assignments! No more heavy backpacks! #3 Lunch program - This year they implemented a new lunch program - my son loves it! Students get 3-4 choices daily & may get 2nd & third servings! #4 Diversity - Several of his classmates are international! #5 (MOST IMPORTANT): Very small class size! There have never been more than 19 kids in his class. Teachers, students, parents, & administrators all know him by name.


Riviera Day School 3

Posted May 02, 2015
- a parent
Was satisfied with the school until the last two year's of tuition increase. My kids enjoy the school but not for $19,000 a year. There is nothing special about the elementary school to justify paying this kind of money. The bathrooms are old. The homework is not from a workbook but from copies. They have lunch in the picnic tables rain or shine. You still have to pay for lunch separately and the list goes on. You don't mind these minor things at $14,000 but when it jumps from $14,000 to today's # in two years, it's not worth it. There are better schools at that price level.

Riviera Day School 5

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
Riviera is an excellent school with superb academics and a warm culture. It is a wonderful place for children and their parents. We have been extremely pleased with all the teachers and their approach to teaching and discipline. Our son just started there this year and it's the happiest we've ever seen him!

Riviera Day School 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
We are extremely happy with Riviera. My child began middle school at their beautiful campus and is entering 8th grade there. This is a very nurturing environment. The classes are small and the faculty is wonderful. At times, there is too much homework for my taste, but that seems to be the trend in every school. I very highly reccomend Riviera!


Riviera Day School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
Riviera Day School is a superb school which provides outstanding academics. My son has attended Riviera Day School for four years. Riviera Day School has provided my son with an excellent educational foundation which will serve him for years to come. Strong academics and personal growth are emphasized at this wonderful school. Students are encouraged to strive for excellence in academics. The Faculty is extremely involved and dedicated in the academic achievements of their student body. Riviera's small student to teacher ratio is ideal in the academic setting. Riviera Day School is equipped with the latest in modern technology, which leads to the highest levels of critical thinking in the classroom. This school has prepared my son for middle school on an academic and social level. Riviera Day School is a magnificent school located in Coral Gables, Florida.

Riviera Day School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just started Riviera Prep as a sixth grader, and the experience so far has been in her words, "awesome." The teachers are enthusiastic, professional, and so supportive. The school does a great job at helping make the transition process as smooth as possible. The counselors are wonderful and are there at a moments notice to easy your worries and make life easier for the students. I have great peace of mind every day that I drop my daughter off at school. Go Bulldogs!!!

Riviera Day School 1

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
Riviera schools are run is a very bad way. My daughter was bullied for many years and they did nothing. We left the school and she is very happy now. At one point I even offered to create and help lead a "no Bully" sensitivity forum , but they were completeley un receptive. I was told by the principle that "life is hard , and the kids will need to grow up eventually" . They would send the only ineffective "guidence counselor/vice principle" to "speak with" the girls that were being mean, but nothing ever really changed. Very "clicky" . This school was not worth the tuition, many of the teachers appeared less than enthused to work there, one very good teacher left because the pay was very low. I also know of 5 children who are not returning to this school because of its poor management and in general a lack of charecter. The aftercare program was chaotic and the kids were bored and unable to work/study. NOT A GOOD CHOICE


Riviera Day School 1

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
this was a terrible school. The administration was very disorganized, charging a very inflated tuition and hiring inexperienced first year teachers who often didn't know our follow a curriculum. This school did not address bullying and took a hands off approach, m many have left for this reason, there is a very high turnover of children. R, moneyiviera cares about one thing, money, not your child.

Riviera Day School 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
My daughter transfered to Riviera late - in 6th grade - from a a year in a Miami public school. What a difference! The classes are small, the teachers know every student personally and pay close attention to their progress. The curriculum is well put together - very challenging, but not extremely overwhelming. From a weak B student and decreasing enthusiasm for learning she became an A student on the Honor Roll and more competitive and eager to learn than ever. I couldn't be more happy. She will be continuing at Riviera's High School as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riviera Day School
6800 Nervia Street, Coral Gables, FL  33146
(305) 666-1856
Last modified Riviera Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Riviera Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top