Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George W. Carver Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 456 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, September 15, 2014

I love this school. I am very pleased with the academic curriculum and the quality of the staff members. I am so glad I have my son in this school. I cannot wait for my little one to start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

My children attended Little Carver since Kindergarten and I have to say that it was an amazing experience. All their teachers were dedicated to their education and pushed to get the best of them. Administration was always helpful when I had a concern. Best PTA Of any school, supportive of the teachers and always has an open door policy to comments and suggestions. Not enough words to thank everyone involved in my kids' education. Forever grateful Little Carver!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Great School. Great teachers. My son studied from 3rd. grade to 5th. grade. Good principal very helpful and take care of everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

My son had an amazing school year as a Kindergarten student last year....Ms. Miller is definitely the best teacher there...there are former students that are over 30 years old that still come by to say HI to her...she is truly a gift of god.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

With the controlled choice admission procedures in Coral Gables, Little Carver is the only real option. The parental community is very involved and committed to improving the school but it feels like much of our efforts are futile. Some of the teachers are amazing, some not so much (as with any school), the neighborhood is sketchy, and the educational standards are mediocre (unless your child is in gifted, then it is phenomenal). It used to be an A school so not sure why it has been scoring so low for the past couple of years, but families will continue to leave until the school is able to turn around without depending exclusively on the efforts of committed parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

We love Little Carver! The school administration is open and warm. The teachers are receptive and kind. The gifted teacher is phenomenal. The teachers provide out of the box learning opportunities for the children. If ever in doubt- stop by the school and see for yourself. It's a small- but wonderful learning environment. Each child is treated as an individual- the homework is suitable, and not overdone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

GREAT school Great Teacher and Great Leadership with Dr.Johnson leading the pack. Our Child has improved tremendously specialy his a.d.d. with the help of every one Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I love this school. My children's grades have improved immensely since moving to this school. I was very hesitant to move my children in the middle of the school year, but have been pleasantly surprised. The teachers are dedicated & really tune into the children. Thank you George W. Carver for a wonderful learning experience for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My daughter has been at this school for 4 years now and we absolutely love it. It is a close-knit school, the teachers/administrators/staff members are always readily available and the kids are motivated to excel. I wouldn't have her anywhere else. Julissa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

my son is going to 2nd grade and i feel the in the past 2 years he has learn a lot, but what i love the most is that he really enjoys going school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2008

My child loves this school. We relocated from St. Louis and Lil Carver was an absolute blessing. Excellent Staff and Curriculum. One of the best in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2006

My daughter is in kindergarten. Dozens of people working for 'Little' Carver Elementary have gone the extra mile to help my daughter. Safety is highly important to the staff. I could not ask for better teachers. Her teachers are tough and fair, two qualities I admire. As for the education my daughter is receiving from her teachers: excellent. The home learning sent is a mirror image of what they learn in class. The only reason I gave a 'don't know' rating for principal leadership and parent involvement is due to the lack of time I spend at the school. Based on what a great experience my daughter has at Carver, principal leadership and parent involvement is high but because my work schedule I am not able to spend enough time getting to know all aspects my daughter is benefiting from. What little I have seen has be terrific and above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

My son has ADD and he has doen very well at G.W. Carver. The staff is dedicated. The parents are involved. It is a warm and caring environment. The teachers, the principal and the school counselor have all worked very closely with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

My daughter loves this school. The teachers are great at encouraging children to get interested in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

This school provides students with a ' easy to learn ' atmosphere in which parents are strongly encouraged to participate. I wouldn't have my children attend any other school. In fact, my sister and I both attended this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

There has always been a 'we love this place' attitude at this school and parental involvement is the key. The staff and the students appreciate the help parents give and it is a nicer place for it. Don't choose this school if you don't want diversity to matter and you don't want to give as well as take.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 65%
Black 21%
White 11%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%58%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. CHERYL E JOHNSON
Fax number
  • (305) 567-3531

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

238 Grand Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33133
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 443-5286

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT