Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

717 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 1

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Horrible!! Staff is rude, they don't even make an effort to treat people well (I'm just talking about saying "good morning" or "excuse me"-they don't know this words and its meaning). Principal is always stressed out and rushing things, even rush people out of the office instead of trying to help. How can a school full of people lacking those basic skills teach kids? Teachers screaming in the classrooms without patience and so much more…Not to mention how dirty the school is… bathrooms are the worse, auditorium was built in 1923 and it seems that it haven't been cleaned since then. We came from a different state and a public school with high standards… its been very difficult to adapt to this new school. I just don't want my kids to learn that being rude is normal, because it is not and if you treat kids this way, this will be what they will learn. Sad! I can see the unsatisfaction in the eyes of almost every single person in that school.

Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 1

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
This was my first year at this school and was sadly disappointed. The kindergarten teacher my child had was not only insensitive but incompetent to teach. She played the role of a disciplinarian more so than a nurturing educator. Hopefully not all of the teachers in this school follow the same method of teaching. I have heard she will be retiring soon. Wish it had been sooner.


Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
Horrible, horrible, horrible, top to bottom. I am assuming that all of the five star reviews are either from employees of the school or parents that have never had any experience with other school systems.

Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 4

Posted October 03, 2014
- a community member
I am at my third year now at CGPA and I can honestly say that it is a great school! The curriculum is amazing at the teachers are excellent! Its great that the school is small and everybody knows each other. The only problems are that the security officers are very strict and the principal is horrible!! The vice principal at the middle campus drives me crazy!! The best vice principal to contact would be the one for the elementary campus, she's a saint. I am taking honors classes and I can honestly say, that, thanks to my teachers, I am keeping up with the curriculum and thanks to them, I got a high score on my Algebra 1 Honors EOC last year. I highly suggest you apply your child to this school. Sure, it has it's flaws, but doesn't every school??

Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 1

Posted September 21, 2014
- a community member
Note: I'm writing a review mainly about the middle school experience at Gables K-8 I went to this school from Kindergarten all the way through 8th grade. Let me tell you guys something... I've been wanting to leave that school since 7th grade! It got to the point where I was crying almost every night. Sooo many rude people that don't care about what you have to say, almost no teachers taught at the school, horrible students that made others feel bad in the meanest ways possible, etc. I only had several TRUE friends at gables though... I'm so happy I left! At the moment, I'm in high school (not going to say where due to security reasons) and I can wake up every morning and ACTUALLY looking forward to going to school. I love ALL my teachers, I LOVE all my new FRIENDS, the campus is beautiful, etc. If you want to have a good middle school experience, go ANYWHERE else that isn't Gables K-8!


Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 1

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
The worst principle ever! Nobody like her and she doesn't care. She has her job because of her husband.

Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
To the parent who posted on May 23, 2014: my son is attending another after care one block away, on Douglas Rd, and they are amazing.

Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 2

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
This school has a terrible aftercare program, they do nothing with the children and they are unsupervised. The aftercare is run terrible


Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 1

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
My son had been bullied all of last year and the beginning of this year and nobody did anything about it! He got to the point where he was not eating. To make matters worse the counselor ridiculed him in front of the bully. The principle runs the school like a dictatorship. She is rude to everyone including the parents. This principle is where she is because her husband is a lobbyist for the school board. I thank GD everyday that my son and daughter were excepted into SOMI Academy! YES, I pulled them out as fast as possible and now they are thriving and HAPPY!!! the principle's last words to me me were "I just have to let you know that once you children leave, it is very hard to come back." I'll never forget those evil words. Yes, They make sure they get the "scores" they need but nobody is truly happy. I want my kids to be HAPPY no matter what. They are now!

Coral Gables Preparatory Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a teacher
This school provides an outstanding educational experience for our students. We have an accelerated academic program that is unmatched in the district with a higher percentage of our 7th graders taking the Algebra I high school course and of our 8th graders taking the high school Geometry course than any other school in the area. Only our regular program students take the FCAT for math; 48% of our 7th graders took the Algebra I EOC exam instead. The small school size insures that no student is left out or left behind, and we have very few discipline issues. My colleagues are topnotch--many were school and curriculum leaders before coming to CGPA and have been recognized by the district and state for superior curriculum development, delivery, and assessment. Overall, we provide a unique and high-quality preparatory experience for our middle school students as our numerous former students who are now enrolled in some of the top magnet high school programs in the district will attest.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coral Gables Preparatory Academy
105 Minorca Avenue, Coral Gables, FL  33134
(305) 448-1731
Last modified Coral Gables Preparatory Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coral Gables Preparatory Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. Top