Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Henry S. West Laboratory School

Public | PK-6 | 263 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

Principal and some teacher are animals. I had to move my lovely daughter to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

This school is an embarrassment to the profession. The principal is a stubborn, self-righteous woman who runs the school like a dictatorship. They move staff around like chess pieces. The school librarian was teaching a class, the school counselor is monitoring recess, and the spanish teacher was fired and then brought back. Not to mention the bullying problem, my daughter was harassed by several male students, knocked to the ground and stepped on and nothing was done (the bully was a staff's child). There was an incident where the boys lifted her skirt during lunch. The student was written up for that but they did not even notify the parent that they had written him up; I had to call her and tell her. The kindergarten teachers are hostile and jam 37 kids into ONE room and call it a successful program despite the fact that kids are failing. Several other parents have removed their students and have filed complaints with the school board and the FDOE Bureau of Exceptional Education. Both of my children are thriving in their new school. In an effort to secure their test scores, the school "gets rid of" any students who would hinder this. They should be ashamed of themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

My two sons attend this school. The oldest since first grade and the youngest since Kindergarten. Although there are many things I would like to see changed within Florida's Public School system, I believe this school does a pretty good job within the system's boundaries. Teachers are skilled and motivated, great parent involvement and some real diversity in the student body. Beautiful campus. It is a sweet little school where I have been able to shelter my kids from the craziness that comes with bigger schools. Everybody knows each other and it really feels like a community. Glanced over the comments regarding the principal and from my own experience I have this to say: I have never heard a "no" from the principal as a response to many of the initiatives I or other parents spearheaded at school. I cannot relate at all to the dictator comments. As a matter of fact, she appears to be very lenient as long as activities don't interfere with the curriculum. Very happy here :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

My sons attended this school since Kindergarten and my oldest since first grade. I cannot say how happy I was with the school, the teachers are outstanding, and my sons had the most fun experience learning. Reading and Math are strong, and when the students don't do well they do anything to make them learn, like some of the teachers like Ms Ward, and Ms Cox take time from their personal time to give extra support for students that need it. My sons class scored first in the county in reading and math last year. Also it is a very small school and they know all the kids by name and grade. Betty from the YMCA is a true angel, she knows "very well" each of the kids and shell make sure you know what is going on after school with your child. Lastly, the principal Ms Soto Pujadas makes sure to address parents concerns immediately, I wont ever forget an incident my son had and Ms Pujadas addressed right away with all the seriousness of the case. I hope one day my young daughter can attend this fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2012

This school should be embarrassed to call itself a Wellness school. My daughter is in a class of high achieving students. With no communication to the wonderful & involved parents of this class, PE has been replaced twice weekly with math FCAT prep--- on a computer program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2012

These grandiose statements about the principal are so blatantly political ... parent below is correct; the principal has led to the downfall of what was once an incredible school. The parents/families and 50 % of the teachers make that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

I absolutely love this school! My son enjoys every single day he is at school! He doesn t even want to leave when I pick him up from the After School program. The administration, principal, assistant principal, and teachers are so committed to the school and to provide the best education to the children. They have done so much already for my son that I cannot even express how thankful I am. I really feel as part of a family. I m the mother of 3 children and I can t wait for the other two to come here! I feel proud to be a parent of this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

I have been at West Lab for three years and have been so pleased with the experience. The environment at West Lab is wonderful, it truly is a community. The families are so friendly, down to earth and welcoming. The teachers are professional and dedicated and the administation is dedicated to making West Lab the best. It is not perfect but no school is perfect. I have had my share of complaints but I am certain that I would have complaints at any school. The complaints about the principal are based on a few angry parents who are using this website to voice their anger. The principal is very professional and has an open door policy. I do not think parents at West Lab realize how rare this is and how fortunate we are at West Lab. I hope that she does not change the open door policy because it benefits everyone. Even if you do not like the principal on a personal level you can not deny that she is doing something right. I love West Lab and if I didn't think it was a such a great place I would move my children to another school. I feel very fortunate to be at West Lab, it is a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

In my opinion the 8/13/12 comment was posted by the school's principal herself. I've been at WL 9 yrs & I've put in the time volunteering with the pto, as a room parent & as chairperson for different activities. Bottom-line, I speak to lots of parents & the previous posts ARE Accurate, its either the principal's way or the highway. The reasons why most families stay are because of the amazing families & 80% of the teachers. Furthermore, I wouldn't say any of the previous posts were aimed at giving the school a bad reputation. As a parent, I want my children's school to be the best & if it isn't, it s my duty to take action. The problem remains, when will WL get a true leader? This lady might be great for a different school but we need a motivator not a dictator!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I decided to write a comment because I couldn't believe the comments that are written about West Lab's Administration. We've been there for 2 years and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about it. The teachers are exceptional; very caring and dedicated to the kids. The Principal, in my opinion, is very professional and committed to the students and the school. Her job is to work hard at making our school the best possible. and, that is exactly what she does. She knows all the parents, all the students by name and knows the kind of grades each student has. I personally, met with her about some issues with my child and she was very receptive and understating. Gave me her feedback and told me what the plan of action was. She met with me on the spot; I did not even have an appt. Her doors are always opened to everyone. The students are very happy at West Lab and love their school. The amount of activities is numerous, both within school time and after school! For those parents who have expressed their dissatisfaction with administration and tried to give the school a bad reputation through their comments, I say: Why have you stayed in the school so long? You have a choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

My child started at West Lab in kinder when it was an exceptional school. Over the years the school has lost that specialness it use to have with the pressure and focus now exclusively on FCAT. 1/3 of the teachers are exceptional and really truly care about how the children learn, but most have their hands tied by administration dictating what and how the material is taught to the children. Those teachers who side with administration cannot be bothered by parents wanting to know how their children are doing. Any fundraising has to be towards the ACT fund first which helps get teacher aides, so you encounter a lot of problems trying to raise funds for the library, music or art departments. For my children, the school went from a 5 star to 3 star school. For a school that was exceptional, it is now like every other school you find in Miami.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

My child has been at West Lab since kindergarden and it has been a mixture of experiences. What West Lab does stil have is a nucleas of hard working concerned parents that go way out of thier way to make sure their children are getting the best "Public School" has to offer. The teachers are a mix some like Mrs. Wethington who is probably the best math teacher and human being that your child could have th good fortune of having. And than their are others who have not been able to resist the pressure of the administrations focus on FCAT results. Still Westlab has many talented kids and good families. I think academically it starts to come apart at West Lab around 4th grade when children are expected to score higher and higher. But children are still stronger than most come middle school and West Labs reputation makes it easier to get accepted to some of the top middle schools. I gave 4 stars because overall my daughter says she loves it, the families, the campus is open and green and most of the teachers do care.. If would rate the admistration 2 stars. Not the holy grail west Lab used to be from what I hear 10 years ago. But overall still has a lot of good points.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

I was inspired to comment based on the last review; I too was here with past administration & can confirm the change. When my now HS student was here the environment was geared towards learning, respect & being children. WL has always been an A school, thanks to wonderful teachers (few exceptions) & involved parents, but administration is changing that formula. Teachers I used to talk to openly in the halls are now shying away & hinting that they cannot talk while "big brother" is watching. Very Sad! Now I have to email or make an appt. event for quick HW questions. At the beginning of the last 2 school years, admin. has made it clear parents are to Drop-Off & GO. Maybe its me but that feels like a push to get rid of parents. Parents & teachers are what make WL what it is (or was). I see teachers with little respect for admin. & frustrated by their mandates. Although I understand some of this could be rolling downhill from the district, we all know families in other schools. Where they have the same mandates & still find a way to make it work; keep students & teachers happy while remaining an A school. The difference? Good Administration, which is what WL has lost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

This majority of the teachers are very dedicated, knowledgable, and concerned about the success of the students. However, a few teachers pick favorites based upon the influence of the PTO. The school administrators are either oblivious to this favoritism or condone it. The favored students receive preferential treatment at the expense of the other students.It has been our experience that this unfair treatment of students created a hostile environment not conducive for learning. These favored students insult and bother other students and when reported little or no action was taken. In the end we had to transfer our child to another school. We contacted the District 4 regional office to file a compliant. These over zealot PTO parents are doing harm to a good school and the Principal is complicate. This mob rule mentality has made an excellent open public school seem like an elitest private school. In my opinion it is the over zealot PTO parents that need an education on better parenting and the leadership in this school should change. The mission of a school is to educate and to treat all students equal. Not pander to an influence peddling PTO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

We had an excellent first year at West Lab. We had an amazing veteran teacher who was willing to work with us to instill our child with a sense of confidence and love of learning. The problem with our school system in FL is the Sunshine State Standards, which tie the teachers' hands and diminish creativity since they are always forced to teach the next benchmark and the next--always preparing for the test, rather than having the freedom to spend creative time enhancing learning material in ways that reach all our learners' styles--visual, read/write, aural and kinesthetic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

It was excellent! I can still remember the time when I was captain of school patrol in 6th grade.


Posted February 7, 2011

While the past few reviews do bring up some valid points about the school's administration. Administration can change, but you won't find nicer families anywhere. My child has not had every teacher in the school, but he knows, likes & respects all of them. The teachers that he has had, have all been excellent! He is very happy, loves learning & is excited to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

West Lab is not what it used to be....Administration has a major chip on their shoulders and they go through the motions with a lack of sincerity. They treat parents as if they are a nuisance. All they care about is their rating, not the student's well-being. The principal is lacking interpersonal skills and runs the school by intimidation. The teachers and staff walk around without smiling and look truly miserable. Do I really want to keep my child here another year?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

Boy, how things change from year to year. Last year I was telling everyone how great 'my' school was. Now I advoid talking about it at all. The administration has diappointed me to the point that I will not help or support them in any way. I will do anything for my child but never for them. I am seriously looking into a new scholl for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

My oldest daughter went to West Lab in 1998, back when this was one of the best schools in Dade County. My son is attending now and I'm sorry to say that the lack of administrative leadership has turned this school into an average small school with little sense of community and stressed out teachers. Parent involvement has declined BIG TIME since every attempt to work along with teachers seems to be interrupted by administration (not parent-friendly at all).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 29%
White 32% 42%
Black 10% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5300 Carillo St
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 661-7661

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Sunset Elementary School
South Miami, FL


Riviera Day School
Coral Gables, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT