Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,005 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


George Washington Carver Middle School 1

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
My child no longer attends Carver but hearing from parents whose children currently attend and their comments reminded me of my experience. My child says Carver was fine, I guess the children eventually found it normal to be called names such as stupid and idiot by the french teachers who assumed no one understood. The school is an American school with a french program, not a french school for french nationals only. And if people can stop drooling long enough pass the french accent they will realize something is very wrong. The teachers need to keep their moodiness and personal lives out of the school. It is not the students fault that they are overloaded with too many classes, it's poor planning and management. There are plenty of people who would appreciate a teaching position. I think the children suffer when they have the same disgruntled teachers 2-3yrs in a row. There is also the complete lack of discipline. When I hear a teacher or parent complain about a class overall or pointing out students whom they find disruptive, I want to ask where was the teacher and why did they lose control of their class. If a parent raises a concern, the teachers take it out on the student and intimidate the parent, that's bullying...The administration needs to pay more attention to the complaints. My child is in high school IB and not everyone in the class comes from an IB middle school or Carver. Carver is not the only choice to get into IB. Carver is rated 979th in the state. I still feel strongly enough to take the time to write this review....

George Washington Carver Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
That being said i was fortunate to have had many good teachers for my child who still remembers and speaks of them.


George Washington Carver Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
Due to lack of disciplineand a sense of entitlement because of supposedly being in the best school, i find the students indifferent and disrespectful towards each other and adults

George Washington Carver Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
The students are too stressed and badgered by the teachers. They learn to hide things and lie.

George Washington Carver Middle School 3

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
The level of the school is average, but the installations are not that good to be honest, could improve a lot


George Washington Carver Middle School 5

Posted May 10, 2015
- a parent
All comments are relative to the individual child and family. I have had had two children educated by Carver....my first child had not gone through Sunset first so struggled with friends but the three years prepared her for the IB Program at Coral Reef High School.My second child thoroughly enjoyed Sunset Elementary and seems to be involved and doing well academically at Carver. She has become self reliant with a strong sense of her own opinion - thanks to the great Civics teacher this year. This is a great school if your child is bright and disciplined. The educators are lying the foundation for high school and college - a subject topic that is relevant as the students on the IS language program will take an AP exam in 8th grade.

George Washington Carver Middle School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
Amazing Academics. If your child gets in, don't even think about it. Best middle school in Miami!

George Washington Carver Middle School 3

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
This is the perfect school for the people that doesn't have a family life. I totally agree with Natalia. This school is overwhelming with the homework, to the point that is ridiculous since,It is proven that excessive homework doesn't make a kid smarter. I also agree that, if you compare Carver or Sunset Elementary with the rest of the schools from Miami, both schools will be outstanding but I would like both schools to be compared with other schools north of Fort Lauderdale. I am sure that up north, there are schools much better than both of them . They can brag in Miami because the rest of the schools are super bad.If you want a school to ruin your family life and give extra unnecessary stress to your kids, Carver and Sunset Elementary are the right schools for you. To my understanding, they do not do that much work in school and then send all the work to be done at home. It will be much better to do home schooling. Home schooling can take you around 3 hours daily. At Carver the daily homework can take from 4 to 5 hours daily plus the 7 hours that the kids spend at school. To me this is child abuse and I don't understand how this has been allowed for so many years.


George Washington Carver Middle School 2

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
I drive my children nearly TWO HOURS in rush hour traffic each morning to get them to Carver--a monumental sacrifice--just because I'm adamant about the value of a good education. I just don't have a good, fuzzy feeling about this school. They care about their "A" and their reputation, but not necessarily about what the children or families need. Because it's a Magnet program, I cannot transfer them to another school, unless I put them at their local middle school, which is NOT a choice. So, I'm stuck with Carver. I'm looking into private schools. I'm SO, SO, SO disappointed.

George Washington Carver Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
This is a magnet school with advanced level for each class. My son is a 7th grader in IE French program and mastered the language in two years thanks to his teachers and self motivation to learn French. He had excellent teachers in French, Science, World History, Gifted, and Algebra. The school provides the opportunity to advance further into math and science if the student passes a test. I strongly recommend this school for kids who get bored in regular classes and are willing to learn/improve a second language (French/Spanish/Italian/German).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Washington Carver Middle School
4901 Lincoln Drive, Coral Gables, FL  33133
(305) 444-7388
Last modified George Washington Carver Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Washington Carver Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top