Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

3,424 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coral Gables Senior High School 1

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
Horrible across the board-/ AVOID! Look at FCAT scores with an average of 50% operating below grade level standards-- that speaks for itself. Add to that a staff that is sorely lacking and you have an experience that is substandard at best. Just signing a student out at the attendance office is a nightmare- rude inattentive employees and students run it and it can be as long as 30 minutes to finally get your child to the office. My daughter actually had a biology teacher who regularly called his students idiots and an English teacher who was absolutely horrible to students as well. It warrants stating that my daughter is a good student and never on the receiving end of this nonsense but was appalled nonetheless. We pulled her after one year at CGSH and it was definitely the right decision. Again, if possible, AVOID!

Coral Gables Senior High School 2

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
The are some good teachers but way too many students. There are lots of resources for the IB program but the rest of the students, especially the non achievers are neglected. Even if it is a magnet IB school, all students need to be challenged. Another regular non charter high school needs to open in the area so there will be less students at CGHS. Also, stressing good English grammar will help the students later on in college, more than speaking Spanish. One teacher even teaches part of the class in Spanish. even though it is not a bilingual class.


Coral Gables Senior High School 4

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
In response to the parent that posted a comment on Aug 12th about Gables not being "Great" anymore. Well, it seems to me that perhaps you should find a new school for your child. I'm a proud parent of two Gables graduates. My daughter graduated Class of 2009 and my son just graduated May 2014. This is still a great Public School, yes it's not perfect but it offers great learning and athletic experiences for those who want to take the challenges. I hope you, as a parent are involved with the schools PTSA that has a great group of parents that work really work hard to provide much needed funds. If you're not involved, i suggest you do, it's a great way to find out what's going on with the school and have you voice heard. As for the kids in the attendance office, that's is part of the school's program to introduce students to office work, those students are "Office Aids". Gables is still a GREAT School and, in my opinion, the school doesn't make the students, the students make the school. GO CAVS. Vania Vincent, proud Gables Parent, PTSA Member, former Cavaliers Band Treasurer, former Cavalier Football Booster Club President.

Coral Gables Senior High School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
Coral Gables senior High School is a great school because it offers many avenues for the kids to succeed later in life. The IB program is an outstanding program.

Coral Gables Senior High School 5

Posted October 06, 2012
- a parent
This is my childs first year at Gables and so far we are very happy with the school. I found it to be one of the few High Schools where an adult actually answers the phone. The staff is very attentive and speaks to the kids. My daughter is enjoying the school and clubs. They have all types of programs and activities for the kids. They don't only concentrate on their magnet IB but they also pay attention to the rest of the students. All students have an opportunity at the school. This is what High School is all about. Also the academics is top notch. They have honors, gifted-honors, IP, AP, dual enrollment, etc. When I went to open house, I saw the principal and vice-principal interacting with parents and teachers. The are very proud of their school. She is really enjoying the school. I hope this remains like this for the rest of high school. Also, before school started and I did not know anyone, I emailed a PTA member out of the website, she was great, answered my questions and helped me out. The PTA is great!!!


Coral Gables Senior High School 4

Posted May 26, 2012
- a community member
Good teachers always bring forth good professionals, I graduated in 1987 and what I learned during those 3 years has been a great base for my professional life.

Coral Gables Senior High School 4

Posted March 26, 2012
- a student
As a Coral Gables High Alumni I can say that this is an amazing school! Excellent AP/IB/Honors Program. The teachers are great. However, there are some teachers that shouldn't be teaching... they have great programs such as the Gablettes and Cheerleaders. Only downfall is how personal the teachers can get with their students... like, no- its not cool for you too be involved in high school gossip...

Coral Gables Senior High School 5

Posted February 05, 2012
- a teacher
A great all around school. It is one of the mid-sized ones in Miami and the school is run well. There are some great teachers at Gables (not all are, but there will be bad teachers at every singe school). Most of the teachers are caring and knowledgable and wonderful to work with. The new administration does a great job of running the school. Teachers have academic freedom and there is not the over-focusing on testing that you find at some schools. The students are generally well behaved and follow the rules. IB/AP/Honors program is awesome! I love working here and have happily done so for 5 wonderful years.


Coral Gables Senior High School 2

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
2 stars - Recently my son had his cell phone stolen. The administration behaved quite apathetic about the whole incident and almost seemed to not want to do anything about it. I e-mailed the principal who never responded. My son's father got a response after a pressing e-mail, however again, the principal never followed through. This is simply unacceptable.

Coral Gables Senior High School 5

Posted August 25, 2010
- a parent
Coral Gables is still the best school in Miami ! And with a Primo IB Program, and the best Advanced Placement program in Miami as well. The teachers are very involved and committed. Excellent Security as well. I only wish they offered more computer courses--but they only have One computer teacher.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coral Gables Senior High School
450 Bird Road, Coral Gables, FL  33146
(305) 443-4871
Last modified Coral Gables Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coral Gables Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top