Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saint Andrew Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 250 students

 
 

Living in Coral Springs

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $56,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, April 20, 2014

Both my kids study at this school and they both love going there and the school atmosphere is just great which includes the staff and other students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

Both of my boys attend St. Andrews. Great Staff, and great education academically, morally, and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

Our family has been with St. Andrews for many years. We have a special school because we have a special bond with everyone. Administration is very welcoming and compassionate to all whom visit our school. Our teachers are incredible and teach our kids to reach their potential. They are very firm, but warm and caring teachers. Our school has a variety of specialty classes. We have an ESE program, Sports, Media Center, Spanish, Art, Music , Science Lab, and Special Clubs through our the year. Our Parish and School have mass every Wednesday. We have Early Drop off for parents who work early and Aftercare for parents who work later. We are a different school because we also have our own Chef who makes sure our kids have a nutritional meal. Our parents are great volunteers. The best way to see for yourself is to visit and take a tour. The school speaks for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

Called main # asking for information on the school, woman said, "this is not a good time" and hung up on me. I will not be calling back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

BEST SCHOOL ....SECOND TO NONE!. My family moved here from up north and we couldn't have found a better school to call our home. Our two children have fit right in. This is not a school but a family. The teachers are awesome and so kind, caring, young, energetic and knowledgeable. I love all the afterschool activities for my kids and all the family outings to meet the other families. The Principal is great and he exudes Catholic Values. If you want not just a school but an environment of true faith and Catholic Values, this is for you. I highly recommnd this school to all families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

Phenomenal School from top to bottom. The principal is a take charge guy and has done wonders. The teachers are new, young, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and caring Catholic teachers. The students are well behaved and well mannered. The parents are generous and giving. I cannot say enough about the education my children are getting at the school. The curriculum is fully integrated and the technology is the latest for educational classroom. The afterschool enrichment programs are also well rounded and challenging and fun for the kids. This is not a school it is one big family. Stop by and see what everyone is talking about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

Five stars!! My two children are thriving at this school. The teachers are excellent, the principal leadership is outstanding and they have a great team with wonderful committed parents. This Catholic school has mass once a week on Wednesday and the children participate in the choir and also serve as lectors and ushers. Science Fair, talent show, television studio, after-school golf program, band, cheerleading, sports, chess club, Latin club, culinary club and more are offered here. There is something for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

OK!!! Major overhaul and long over due. For the first time in 5 years there is a sense hope and real change. Catholics acting like catholics. There is true leadership going on and it is inspiring. The school has been going through a rebirth. The school has introduced virtual classrooms and the latest technology. Yes there were some tranisitional problems. I am happy to say those problems were worked out and the children are ingaged academically. The children have both a virtual classroom and a teacher in their classroom to help enrich their learning experience. All advanced math classes are taught by our #1 teacher of the year. Another huge improvement this year is a comprensive recess program was introduced for all grades k-8. The school has made so many improvements and I am proud to send my children to St. Andrew Catholic School. I am also proud to be part of the positive change. God bless our school and our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

Oustanding academics, excellent teachers, loving environment, committed parents and Catholic values make for a winning environment for the children. I'm impressed with the new administration and new teachers. When some of the teachers left to follow their husband's to new jobs in different states, the administration acted quickly to replace them with excellent educators. In addition, the administration was compassionate toward the teachers who wanted to be with their families and let them break their contracts in order to move wtith their husbands. The new teachers got right to work not only teaching excellent academics but sponsoring clubs and helping the children prepare for the science fair. The new language arts teacher sponsored a Latin Club and our children are learning Latin after school. All we had to do was buy the book! My one son is on the track team and is being coached by excellent parent volunteers who were track stars themselves. The commitment of the parents here is phenominal and there is a real family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

GREAT CARNIVAL..., but horrible school. The school is going to online classes, guess we don't need actual teachers anymore........ IOWA test scores are very very low, enrollment is way down, no structure. School is a joke. They have an advanced math class that is an online program anyone can get into for a small fee, school charges way above that and says it has advanced math....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2010

The kids are amazing, but there is something wrong witht he administration when they can't keep teachers. This place is like a revolving door. The administrations seems to keep starting over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

This is a our first year at the school and we are very satisfied with the curriculum and the teachers are great. The offer Spanish, Music, and Computer even in Kindergarten. Come join the family at St. Andrew's School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

Wow, I just attended their brand new ,latest technology digital classrooms and I can say these will really enhance my children's learning. This is cutting edge education. I am really excited about this and the curriculum attached to it. Definitely a huge positive. Couple that with warm and caring teachers who are so hands on, I can see why my children have always scored extremely high on their IOWA's. Thanks St. Andrew!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

Two of our three children attend this school and our youngest will start next year. We couldn't ask for a better school for our children. The Catholic enviroment, love, care, disipline and high academic standards along with excellent teachers and staff make this school a wonderful experience for both children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

My two children started this year. We have come from another private school and I am amazed at what the school has to offer. The teachers are caring and have really challenged my children. I am glad I made the move. The other parents are real friendly. I would highly reccomend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I thought it was a 'big' school. I'm disappointed by the art of teaching, financial pressure received in all kind during every day school, therefore the parents involvement is so high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

I have two children that go to St.Andrew & we are very happy. I have seen a noted improvement in leadership & a positive growth in technology that I feel will prepare our children for the future. The music and media programs are great. The teachers & families make the school warm & caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

We love the school and Pre-school! My children are very happy ! Every morning when we drop off our children we have the security that they are in a loving and caring place, and that they are learning and having fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

St. Andrew is a terrific school, which offers both academic and spiritual enrichment. I credit the school with providing a safe and comfortable learning environment for my children. Recent improvements include more emphasis on digital learning with upgraded computer technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

Excellent school with a loving environement and fabulous academics. I have had four children attend here. My two youngest are thriving there now. Clean, excellent facilities and awesome computer classes. The basketball court is a recent addition and is very nice. A nice family school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 44%
Hispanic 24% 24%
Black 14% 29%
Two or more races 9% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FLGA-LCMS
Fax number
  • (954) 753-1933

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9990 NW 29th St
Coral Springs, FL 33065
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 607-7772

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Atlantis Academy
Coral Springs, FL




Parkside Elementary School
Coral Springs, FL



Academy High School
Coral Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT