Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Springs Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 876 students

 
 

Living in Coral Springs

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $56,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2008

We found the teachers to be very caring and the school community as a whole to be very friendly. Our daughter was there for 5 years; our son for 10. I did not find the campus to be dirty, it's just an older facility. Parents are given a great deal of 'voice' in the way things are done, but then if their kid gets disciplined there are sometimes 'sour grapes.' In my opinion, that's why some of these reviews are so negative...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

As parents who were looking for the best educational and christian facilty for our child, we were highly disappointed when CSCA failed to meet our expectations. Thankfully, we took a big leap of faith and severed our ties from this school. The facility and staff have a lot to be desired, it is dirty and the teachers seemed to have lost their love of teaching. The moral standards do not seem to be followed by the entire student body with the punishment system not being equal for all. Although it is true that no one school is perfect, your expectations are higher for a Christian school that professes to develop the whole child. Our child is now excelling in a public school setting and for the first time enjoying school. In closing, I would just say take a really close look at this school before getting involved. The facade is nice...and then that's it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

My children have been at CSCA for 5 years. Both my children and us are very pleased with their progress. They are well rounded and inspired both acadeically and spiritually. This school offers a warm family atmoshphere. Everyone from the staff to fellow students and parents are approachable. Your child is a person not a number in this school. We look forward to our children graduating from CSCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

Our family has been at CSCA for 8 years and 2 years at the preschool before that. We couldn't be happier with the education our children are receiving both academic and spiritual. The teachers are highly qualified and use their individual creativity to be able to teach children at all different levels. We find that the administration is extrememly approachable and have personally experienced a situation that needed to be handled immediately and were quite happy to see that our concerns were taken seriously and the situation handled quickly. I would highly recommend this school. As a parent, one of my favorite things about CSCA is the true feeling of being a part of a school family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

My husband and I never thought we would have to take our child out of a Coral Springs public school and go private but that is exactly what we had to do when my oldest son was in first grade. The public school was not meeting our child's needs so we looked to Coral Springs Christian for his education and spritual needs and could not be more happier. The teachers and staff made my son feel right at home and loved and his accomplishments have soared. He has grown into a honor student through the love and care of teachers and staff. My younger son attendes CSCA as well and also has grown into a honor student. I don't think many parents can say that their kids like to go to school but both my kids look forward to going to school because the teachers make learning fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

We have 3 children who are attending CSCA. When we moved to S. Fla. 5 years ago, I was extremely apprehensive and did not feel this was the best environment for raising children. CSCA was and is what has made the difference. It has been a blessing for our family. Our oldest son is graduating this year and was accepted to 5 excellent colleges. I feel he has thrived in this environmment and is totally prepared for college. We also have a middle schooler and previously an elementary student, so we have experienced all aspects of the school. I will be the first to tell you it is not perfect. I don't think any school is perfect, but I think CSCA offers some amazing opportunities in a Christian, family atmosphere. I also think they are continually striving to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

I pulled my children out of this school. My sister and four of my friends have as well. School has gotten to be all about money and not about the students. Staff is uncaring & teachers are burned out. Campus is unclean. Not much good I can say about it at all. My daughter came home with hives every day because she hated the school so much. I have found that children attend because they can afford to go rather than for a Christian education. My children are now receiving a better education in public school & are now interacting with Christian students more than at CSCA as they are involved in First Priority, Meet at the Pole, etc. I wouldn't waste my money sending your children to this school. A better alternative is Highlands Christian Academy for private or public school if you live in the boundaries for one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

The fact that this school claims to have higher academic standards than public school is a farce. The teachers are uninspiring and any complaints to the administration fall on deaf ears. I also agree with a previous reviewer that the 'spiritual' aspect leaves much to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

i think this school is excellent for my daughter. she has alot of friends and she loves to go to school. she loves her teachers and she learns alot there. she is in alot of sports too. This school is great for my daughter!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

I would have to rate this school as mediocre at best. The academics are not as great as the school claims. My kids get A's without studying. There is rarely any homework, the kids are not welcoming to newcomers, the parents are wrapped up in their own cliques, and the conditions on campus are dirty. I know it is an outreach school, but the spiritual environment is appalling and my kids tell of students being downright disrespectful to teachers, including using curse words in class. Most teachers seem fairly qualified but are not good at passing along their knowledge to inspire the kids or even get them to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

Second best to a ghetto school? In life, our children will be expected to follow the rules and laws of our society, or there will be consequences - as a parent, I want my child to realize this. Stealing, cheating, disrespect, lying, drugs, bullying, etc. should not be tolerated in any school setting. The beauty of private school, is that they can expel students that refuse to live up to the school's moral standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

This school has been a blessing. I couldn't have asked for a better school for my son to be in. The education is exceptional, but it's the nuturing and caring environment that sets them apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2007

I think that this school below mediocre. I have seen public schools with a better education, a cleaner campus, and nicer teachers. This school is second best to a ghetto.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

We were disappointed with the cold intolerant attitudes and overly strict disciplinary policies of the school. Overall teachers were experienced. If you want a Christian education that also encourages tolerance and promotes ability to think critically, you may want to seek other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

Coral Springs Christian Academy is overall a truly mediocre school. The administration seems to care more about the raising of tuition, or ridiculous disciplinary points than actually choosing qualified, caring teachers. I am entirely unsatisfied with the education, and contradictory punishment methods. The faculty is extremely close-minded and not understanding at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2007

If you are looking for quality, then I ask you to search for a more suitable environment. The quality of this school is below mediocre and I advise you to take your child to a better, more sophisticated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2006

We have been at CSCA for over 5 years and love it! The faculty, teachers and parent involvement are excellent. The campus is warm and inviting and my children have felt as if it were their second home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2006

My child is a new student to the 9th grade. So far, we couldn't be happier. Good parental involvement, friendly and helpful staff, most teachers are of a high quality. Love the small classes, although enrollment is increasing every year due to the fact that there arent' many choices for private high schools locally. I moved to the area for the public schools, and found that I wouldn't send my child to any of them! This school has a wonderful and diverse student body, school spirit, high academic expectations, and they expect you to live up to their standards of morals and character. The religion is not 'over the top' - and discipline issues are taken seriously. A great experience so far. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

Excellent quality education from elementary through high school. This school educates both academically and spiritually. My daughther has been a student from Kindergarten through seventh grade and I am pleased with the education she has received. I would highly reccommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

Coral Springs Christian Academy has been a second home for our children with teachers and administrators who care for them. High academics, outstanding sports programs, good suucees in college as a result of preparation are all part of what we like about CSCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 42%
Black 19% 23%
Hispanic 18% 29%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • FCCAP
Fax number
  • (954) 346-1112

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our Vision Coral Springs Christian Academy endeavors to instill in each student a Biblical worldview in order that they may be prepared to serve the Lord Jesus Christ in the twenty-first century. Our Mission Coral Springs Christian Academy ministers to students in a Christ-centered learning community which instills the vision and practice of excellence in academics, character, and service for God’s glory.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
state of Florida college and universities
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2251 Riverside Dr
Coral Springs, FL 33065
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 752-2870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Phyl's Academy
Margate, FL


Temple Beth Am Ecc
Margate, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT