Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 561 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, October 19, 2014

Having previously worked at this school, the first thing I have to say is that the majority of the teachers at this school are extremely hardworking and care very much about their students. They spend hours and hours of their personal time, and large amounts of their own money on their students. The morale of the school, on the other hand, is terrible. The administration is highly ineffective and cares more about looking good on paper than the education of the students. They do not listen to the input of their staff, who are the ones directly interacting with the students, and implementing the numerous new programs and lessons being mandated. The principal is more concerned with PR and making herself and her school look good on paper than with the students attending the school. She has also done many things to try to divide the staff by choosing "favorites" and allowing teachers to "tattle" on each other. Although the morale is extremely low, as a stranger coming into the building, you would never know. The teachers are extremely professional and will always put on a smile and treat outsiders with the utmost kindness because that is the kind of people they have working there


Posted October 16, 2014

I have been a teacher at Forest Hills Elementary for over a decade. I have always found the staff to be especially helpful,friendly and supportive. Teachers and Teacher Assistants work tirelessly way beyond the seven and a half hour day. Support staff, office staff, administration, teachers, teacher assistants, custodians, and cafeteria staff are all working together to assist students and families in any way possible. We are a child centered school, helping each student to access the curriculum and make learning gains. We also as a school, try our best to support each child's individual needs and any family concerns.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 16, 2014

I am a new staff member this year at Forest Hills Elementary . I can only speak from my own experience. EVERYONE here has been welcoming and supportive. The administration, office staff, teachers, custodial staff, cafeteria staff, parents, volunteers have always been friendly and caring. The team at this school is working tirelessly in support of children and education. I have met other new and veteran teachers and I have never felt anything negative. I am happy to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 15, 2014

I have two children at this school. I am very happy with it. I cannot believe that one of our teachers would have written such a vile, poorly written review. The teachers really care about their students and work very hard. The principal is always there to greet parents and do what she can to help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2014

I too am a teacher at Forest Hills. I truly believe that the comment by the previous teacher is referring to a different Forest Hills. The situations described are not occurring at this school. We have teachers with many years experience working right beside and along with teachers just stating their teaching careers. The veterans are able to guide the new teachers as well as learn from them. I would like the teacher with all the concerns about Forest Hills truly identify themself so we can offer them the opportunity to learn the true Forest Hills. Together we are working to ensure that all our students receive the best education possible and to succeed in all their education endeavors.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2014

Unprofessional administration, staff, unethical enviroment. No integrity or well being for the students or new employees. This school lack confidentiality, ethical, and moral practices and teamwork. Unorganized structure with extracurricular fun play being top priority on many of the school's focus. Parents are deceived, new employees are bullied and administration is frighten to make change due to office staff and senior employees runing the program the way they desire. Employees gossip and speak negative about students among themself in front of other staff. Parents are deceived by the image acted out by those in the front office. Office manager also follows principal's example of not apologizing when errors are committed either by her or the school system, teachers are stubborn, prideful full of arrogance. If you substitute or consider working stay away. They have their own clicks of old wine, no new ideas, youthful teachers unwelcomed. Demons run the air of this school. No one says good morning or even try to help as a team only if you are part of a group of staffs. Administration will speak private affairs in front of students, parents
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 8, 2014

I pulled my child in Dec because of the teaching methods they use as well as bullying. I now homeschool and had to literally start from scratch. My child is learning faster with me at home then stuck in a classroom. Everyone has something to say about socialization HAHA I'm laughing now because my child is going to the park 2 times a week and going on several field trips a month. We have our own homeschool group. We do a lot together and have built a stronger relationship. I allows relied on schools to teach my children well things have changed because all they focus on is the FCAT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2014

Where did all the teachers go? I've been at this school for 3 years and most of the teachers from before are gone. Why won't anybody tell me? The school has a website that is from last year with no information on it. Sad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2014

Our children have flourished at this school. Dedicated teachers and administration. Great communication between school and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

Forest Hills has a problem... There is reoccurring issue with teachers waiting till the end of the year, with no time left, to address issues with your kids. By that time is a crunch to help your child pass the FCAT. There is no leeway in test environment unless your child is special needs. My son as struggled since the day he had to enter this school. Add to it that they have no extra programs. It's very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Forest Hills has been the best option that we have taken, is a school that looks like a big family. we are very happy with the education that our son is receiving. both teachers and office staff are friendly and approachable people. we hope not to have to move out of the area so that our son can continue his studies at Forest Hills Elementary. Thanks for all the care and dedication that you share with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

I don t put much stock in anonymous website post as many of the comments tend to be ambiguous however I find the statements made on 11/7 to be incredulous thus warranting a rational response. In quoting BCSB Superintendent Robert Runcie, it takes a village to raise a child , in other words everyone needs to be involved in the raising and education of our (their) children. Although I am not in a position to rebut any of the statements made pertaining to FHE s field day or the volunteer in question I can only assume the person writing these statements is in no way a part of the FHE village . Mature, educated, and responsible parents will usually attempt to speak with someone of authority about their concerns prior to posting a bully-like threat behind a curtain of anonymity. I take my child s education and security very seriously which is why I have volunteered countless hours at the school, taken the time to get to know my child s teachers, and befriended the school s outstanding Resource Officer. In the future I suggest using the free time you found to write the previous post to focus on teaching your three children the proper etiquette for resolving legitimate concerns. S Lewis
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

My 3 children attend this school from 5th grade to 2nd grade and as of 2013 its becoming more of negelect than just budget cuts. Field day 4 children got broken bones with casts with not even a follow up phone call to one of them, 1 member, volunteer, member of cspd is asking kids questions as what a predator would but the school and cspd back this gentleman up to be a law binding citizen even thought a 9 yr old feel victimized to a careless act. You use to be able to speak to the staff with concern and they were on top of it, but now you can attend a mcdonalds night and all staff and teachers stick to themselves. Something is majorly wrong and on my word is being brought up to the board soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

I reference to the unnecessary comment about FHE C rating was unnecessary. Some individuals fail to realize that FHE is an educational institute and not a day care. FHE has and still holds A rating in schools through broward county. i have 3 children 2 already graduated and 1 in 4th grade. With my many years of experience i have seen dedicated teachers and staff nurture my children to the well educated and well mannered future leaders they are today. FHE offers many fun but educational clubs and activities during school for those who don't KNOW! (chess club, music, eg). Also for those who don't know that though with the massive cuts in the county FHE still excels and makes the grade. With the leadership of Ms.Rothman , teachers and FHE staff, our children will be able to excel and survive in our ever changing society. Thank you to our FHE PTO for the spring fling my children enjoyed every minute.*******FOR THOSE WHO MAKE COMMENTS ABOUT YOUR CHILDRENS SCHOOL AND MAKE BAD REMARKS, BEFORE YOU COMMENT MAKE SURE YOU ARE INFORMED AND INVOLVED IN THE PROCESS OF EDUCATING YOUR CHILD. I INCOURAGE YOU TO VOLUTEER AND BE PART OF THE TEAM!!!!!! DON'T SIT ON THE SIDELINES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

This is a C rated school. School has gone downhill. Need some fun activities for children during the school day. There is not a school carnival, or any other activities during the school day to keep kids happy and interested. There are evening fund raiser activities at area restaurants, and that's it. A handful of clubs after school. The children only have Art class for half the year; and PE half of the year. Office seems overworked and unhappy. There have been many staff changes. There are still a few seasoned teachers on staff. Just a pretty all around boring un-stimulating school. Sadly not what it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

I have had my child at FHE for 2 years now and it has been a great experience. The Principal, Mrs. Rothman is always handy to answer my various questions about anything that may come up. My child's teacher Mrs. Escruceria was extremely helpful and my son loved her. Her teaching methods really helped him to improve his grades. Mrs. Blanco was also influential in helping to get him ready for 4th grade with Mrs. Escruceria. I am overall happy with the experience and the level at which the administrative staff and teachers go to in order to help my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

What a shame that a few apples spoil the bunch! In every walk of life there are times when we all do not agree. When someone has a personal beef against a particular individual or two, it should not be aired in a public forum. Forest Hills Elementary is an excellent school with an excellent staff. They have maintained an "A" grade eight years straight which tells you about the caliber of the teachers and staff. They put children first on all levels. If you are looking for a school where you know your child will get a quality education, where their safety comes first and the staff goes above and beyond to work with your child, then go check out FHE. They are still encouraging parent participation and volunteering, but are thinking out-of-the-box to get parents involved. They may not have a traditional "PTA" but it has not stopped the many activities that bring families together. The new principal has worked very diligently to make the school environment conducive to learning but also keeping in mind that these students need to enjoy their elementary years. Their Partners-in-Education also keep involved by hosting various family nights for all to enjoy. FHE is an A+++ in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

This school is the worst of them all. Some of the teachers need to be retrained on how educate our children. The food is awful it is either not cooked or frozen. They need to update their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

The year started out on a good note, new principal and it seemed as if teachers were all on the same page in motivating the students. However, throughout the course of the year, instead of utilizing everyone's skills and talents, the principal brought dissension among the teachers, cutting out the PTA parents completely, who were the core in parental involvement for this community school. Not sure how it would all pan out to benefit our students. And because of a change in teachers half way through the year, my child was not challenged in the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

I like the teachers and the school's procedures
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 38%
Black 34%
White 17%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 28%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%53%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. BARBARA ROTHMAN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-6440

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 Northwest 85th Avenue
Coral Springs, FL 33065
Phone: (754) 322-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Academy High School
Coral Springs, FL




St Andrew Catholic School
Coral Springs, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT