Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 561 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2009

Forest Hills is an okay school. The teachers are good, and they did have the new playgrounds put in last year, but they don't do anything for the kids. My daughter has been there for 4 years, and been on one field trip. They don't have school plays, dances, talent shows, choruses or anything of that nature. They have a whole lot of fund raisers, but then none of that money is used toward fun activities for the children. Very standard school years. Same PTA gatherings every year, field day. Very monotanous. I have to say I am very glad my daughter is going to a new school this coming school year so she can have some fun experiences before she is done with elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

Overall, a great school with hard working, caring teachers. New Administration not very parent friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

teaching is too traditional. need learning for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

this school improved my language and i really improved in school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

New Playgrounds! Yippee for the kids. Honestly I don't care at all about landscaping and did not consider this in my review. Teachers are great, every one I met is big on parent involvement and communication. In 2 years I have watched my daughter grow and change, positively in every possible direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I think Forest Hills it's a great school , but need better outdoor landscaping. Casually I sow today They already start fixing the playground, my daughter was happy pointing what nice it'll be have clean sand. The School should put more outdoor benches, specially for dismissal time, the kid usually sit or laid dawn on the floor until the parents come to pick them up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

I think the School as a Whole is average,The teachers work very hard and definitely don't get paid enough for what they have to put up with. The School grounds have always been the worst looking in all of Coral Springs and I can't figure out why,Does the city just look the other way because they don't want to deal with School Board,Or is it just a lazy maintenance Dept ? I would think that being a title one School,There would be enough money for more than just books. Clean it up Forest Hills,Plant a flower maybe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

Forest Hills overall was an average school. I was not very happy with the way they kept me up to date with what was going on at school. They would wait untill it was a big surprise to me and I do keep very close tabs on my son and talk to him about what is going on. Their administration department is great and very helpfull. I think some of their teachers lack experiance though and they are more concerned about passing the fcats test. All in all I've seen better but I've also seen worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

Academics are ok. Kindergarten is very laid back, and I don't believe prepares the child for 1st grade. My other child is in second grade, and the academics are harder. Hard to believe that 1st grade will take care of all the reading fundamentals for 2nd grade. My older child learned things in 1st grade that he already learned in Pre-K and K in NY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Good school, caring teachers, happy children make a good learnig environment.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 20, 2005

June,2005 - Forest Hills has once again earned an 'A' based upon Florida's A Plus Educational Plan. It has also met all AYP goals as set by the US Department of Education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2005

my daughter has gone there for one year now and we absolutely love it. The teachers are friendly and very educated in what they do. I love all the staff and she loves it there too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

Forest Hills Elementary is an excellent school. They have a great academic program and the also have music, art and sports activities. Parents get involved in many aspects of the school including PTA and different fundraisings throught the school year as well as in their children's academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

My son has been enrolled at Forest Hills since kindergarten and is currently in 1st grade. The teacher communication has been excellent from the beginning. In both grades my son has benefitted in the excellerated reading groups. They work on computer skills at least 3 times a week and this is only in 1st grade which I think is great. Their aftercare program is very highly rated also. The kids do fun activities every day and also have plenty of time to do their homework in a quiet evironment. My son especially likes the cooking projects they do on Friday afternoons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

My son has attended this school since he was a kindergartener. He will be going into 3 grade this fall. It is an old school...the neighborhood is not too attractive and neither is the outside of the building...it lacks pretty landscaping and, as the older schools have, it lacks windows. The inside is attractive...with much artwork displayed and beautiful murals on the wall. The office staff is generally helpful and friendly and they do have a full time nurse in the clinic...which is comforting. However I feel that they have a rather old fashioned attitude towards education...the staff seems to stick up for each other and not the children and parents quite as much. There are many teachers there who have been there many years and are (and always were) a bit crabby and tend to yell at the children. Overall, I am not terribly happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2003

I have nothing but GREAT things to say about this school. The teachers have challenged my son to work his hardest and do his best. Mr. Gruber (5th grade teacher) is really making an impact on his studying skills and we are very impressed with his 'wanting to know the answers' attitude. A teacher can make a lifelong impact on a childs life and we are happy that FHE has given our son a positive outlook! www.fhebroward.com
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 38%
Black 34%
White 17%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 28%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%53%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. BARBARA ROTHMAN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-6440

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 Northwest 85th Avenue
Coral Springs, FL 33065
Phone: (754) 322-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Academy High School
Coral Springs, FL




St Andrew Catholic School
Coral Springs, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT