Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Forest Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 561 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Our children have flourished at this school. Dedicated teachers and administration. Great communication between school and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

Forest Hills has a problem... There is reoccurring issue with teachers waiting till the end of the year, with no time left, to address issues with your kids. By that time is a crunch to help your child pass the FCAT. There is no leeway in test environment unless your child is special needs. My son as struggled since the day he had to enter this school. Add to it that they have no extra programs. It's very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Forest Hills has been the best option that we have taken, is a school that looks like a big family. we are very happy with the education that our son is receiving. both teachers and office staff are friendly and approachable people. we hope not to have to move out of the area so that our son can continue his studies at Forest Hills Elementary. Thanks for all the care and dedication that you share with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

I don t put much stock in anonymous website post as many of the comments tend to be ambiguous however I find the statements made on 11/7 to be incredulous thus warranting a rational response. In quoting BCSB Superintendent Robert Runcie, it takes a village to raise a child , in other words everyone needs to be involved in the raising and education of our (their) children. Although I am not in a position to rebut any of the statements made pertaining to FHE s field day or the volunteer in question I can only assume the person writing these statements is in no way a part of the FHE village . Mature, educated, and responsible parents will usually attempt to speak with someone of authority about their concerns prior to posting a bully-like threat behind a curtain of anonymity. I take my child s education and security very seriously which is why I have volunteered countless hours at the school, taken the time to get to know my child s teachers, and befriended the school s outstanding Resource Officer. In the future I suggest using the free time you found to write the previous post to focus on teaching your three children the proper etiquette for resolving legitimate concerns. S Lewis
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

Just read some of the comments here. As for the school letter grade, the State of Florida keeps playing with the scores which determine the grades. Do your research and you will see that there was a huge drop in scores statewide because they keep playing with what is a passing score. What is taught at school is set in Tallahassee and Florida is now part of Common Core. From what I've read, this is not a good thing for kids or their teachers. They are all being pushed to their limit with lots of stress for all. When teachers give their own time to run a club or go to a parent night, to me, it shows they care deeply about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

My 3 children attend this school from 5th grade to 2nd grade and as of 2013 its becoming more of negelect than just budget cuts. Field day 4 children got broken bones with casts with not even a follow up phone call to one of them, 1 member, volunteer, member of cspd is asking kids questions as what a predator would but the school and cspd back this gentleman up to be a law binding citizen even thought a 9 yr old feel victimized to a careless act. You use to be able to speak to the staff with concern and they were on top of it, but now you can attend a mcdonalds night and all staff and teachers stick to themselves. Something is majorly wrong and on my word is being brought up to the board soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

I reference to the unnecessary comment about FHE C rating was unnecessary. Some individuals fail to realize that FHE is an educational institute and not a day care. FHE has and still holds A rating in schools through broward county. i have 3 children 2 already graduated and 1 in 4th grade. With my many years of experience i have seen dedicated teachers and staff nurture my children to the well educated and well mannered future leaders they are today. FHE offers many fun but educational clubs and activities during school for those who don't KNOW! (chess club, music, eg). Also for those who don't know that though with the massive cuts in the county FHE still excels and makes the grade. With the leadership of Ms.Rothman , teachers and FHE staff, our children will be able to excel and survive in our ever changing society. Thank you to our FHE PTO for the spring fling my children enjoyed every minute.*******FOR THOSE WHO MAKE COMMENTS ABOUT YOUR CHILDRENS SCHOOL AND MAKE BAD REMARKS, BEFORE YOU COMMENT MAKE SURE YOU ARE INFORMED AND INVOLVED IN THE PROCESS OF EDUCATING YOUR CHILD. I INCOURAGE YOU TO VOLUTEER AND BE PART OF THE TEAM!!!!!! DON'T SIT ON THE SIDELINES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

This is a C rated school. School has gone downhill. Need some fun activities for children during the school day. There is not a school carnival, or any other activities during the school day to keep kids happy and interested. There are evening fund raiser activities at area restaurants, and that's it. A handful of clubs after school. The children only have Art class for half the year; and PE half of the year. Office seems overworked and unhappy. There have been many staff changes. There are still a few seasoned teachers on staff. Just a pretty all around boring un-stimulating school. Sadly not what it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

I have had my child at FHE for 2 years now and it has been a great experience. The Principal, Mrs. Rothman is always handy to answer my various questions about anything that may come up. My child's teacher Mrs. Escruceria was extremely helpful and my son loved her. Her teaching methods really helped him to improve his grades. Mrs. Blanco was also influential in helping to get him ready for 4th grade with Mrs. Escruceria. I am overall happy with the experience and the level at which the administrative staff and teachers go to in order to help my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2012

What a shame that a few apples spoil the bunch! In every walk of life there are times when we all do not agree. When someone has a personal beef against a particular individual or two, it should not be aired in a public forum. Forest Hills Elementary is an excellent school with an excellent staff. They have maintained an "A" grade eight years straight which tells you about the caliber of the teachers and staff. They put children first on all levels. If you are looking for a school where you know your child will get a quality education, where their safety comes first and the staff goes above and beyond to work with your child, then go check out FHE. They are still encouraging parent participation and volunteering, but are thinking out-of-the-box to get parents involved. They may not have a traditional "PTA" but it has not stopped the many activities that bring families together. The new principal has worked very diligently to make the school environment conducive to learning but also keeping in mind that these students need to enjoy their elementary years. Their Partners-in-Education also keep involved by hosting various family nights for all to enjoy. FHE is an A+++ in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

This school is the worst of them all. Some of the teachers need to be retrained on how educate our children. The food is awful it is either not cooked or frozen. They need to update their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

The year started out on a good note, new principal and it seemed as if teachers were all on the same page in motivating the students. However, throughout the course of the year, instead of utilizing everyone's skills and talents, the principal brought dissension among the teachers, cutting out the PTA parents completely, who were the core in parental involvement for this community school. Not sure how it would all pan out to benefit our students. And because of a change in teachers half way through the year, my child was not challenged in the least.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

I like the teachers and the school's procedures
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

this school has some of the best teachers and staff all around
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Forest Hills is dedicated to the education and welfare of each and every student that comes through their doors. The school communicates with parents to ensure their is a school to home connection. They have been an "A" school for 7 consecutive years. Under new administration the school continues to put children first!


Posted October 13, 2010

Because they have great teachers that really care - especially the First Grade Team!


Posted October 12, 2010

Forest Hills Elementary is an amazing school with wonderful teachers, students, parents and administration. The teachers and administration strive to do what's best for the students, and challenge them every day. Forest Hills is an "A" school which reflects on the dedication from everyone.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2010

The teachers are caring and really give their all to their students. We have a very supportive PTO who do many great things for our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

The teachers and staff love what they do, and care about each and every child, and it shows! They dedicate themselves to really bringing out the best in our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Forest Hills is an okay school. The teachers are good, and they did have the new playgrounds put in last year, but they don't do anything for the kids. My daughter has been there for 4 years, and been on one field trip. They don't have school plays, dances, talent shows, choruses or anything of that nature. They have a whole lot of fund raisers, but then none of that money is used toward fun activities for the children. Very standard school years. Same PTA gatherings every year, field day. Very monotanous. I have to say I am very glad my daughter is going to a new school this coming school year so she can have some fun experiences before she is done with elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 38%
Black 34%
White 17%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 28%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 53%53%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. BARBARA ROTHMAN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-6440

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 Northwest 85th Avenue
Coral Springs, FL 33065
Phone: (754) 322-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Academy High School
Coral Springs, FL




St Andrew Catholic School
Coral Springs, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT