Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westchester Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1190 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2013

Westchester is a great neigborhood school! My son is going in to 2nd grade, and we couldn't be happier with our experiences thus far. Principal Gerraine is open to new ideas and very open and friendly with parents. The school does not rest on its "A" they are always trying to improve. There is a small group of teachers that are very active with the PTA which is nice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My daughter Gianna goes to Westchester at Coral Springs and she loves it she has had great teachers. We have only two years in this state and are primary language is Latin and my daughter know to read and write in English almost every word and her speaking is amassing and I cant leave out the good security, organization and care for these kids the school has. This has to do a lot with the principal, she is a 100% involve each day I see her and in every activity" is nice to have some one that dedicates her self to are kids". I am very happy and my little girl loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

http://locator.browardschools.com/edulog/school-locator/ To previous post try this link it shows that your child is the zone area for Parkside elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

i m buying house in 2638 nw 99th av coral springs 33068,do you think my san can do elementary there ?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

i went to this school and witnessed and experienced bullying as teachers watched and did nothing... do not send your kids here.


Posted November 29, 2012

Westchester Elementary is the Best Elementary if you want your kids to feel happy and comfortable with Learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

my family and i moved to florida last year from california, i was a little nervous at first about my daughter entering a new school didnt really know what to expect. She was in kinder and got mrs. garg. i must say she was great with my daughter in three weeks she learned to read, add and subtract she worked so patiently with her. Now shes in 1st grad with mrs. smith and she's also amazing. the teachers communicate with the parents all the time. i must say this schools is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I love the Gifted Program! My daughter is a gifted student and at Westchester Elementary she receives all the help she needs to develop her skills. The program focuses on the kids abilities and promotes their development. Teachers are great and the staff is very kind. They also have a very good after school program. Way to go, Westchester Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

great school, awesome teachers. #1 rated school for education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

Westchester has some excellent teachers and a wonderful Principal 'Mr. LeFevre' that really care about the kids academic progress and safety. The PTA is large and very involved and is able to supply additional resources for the students. Not to mention the school is situated in nice area and is adjacent to a middle and high school. I am grateful to have had two excellent, caring, pleasant and nurturing teachers for my son thus far. 'It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.' -Albert Einstein
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I am please to update on the bullying situation with my daughter. With the help of her teacher we were able to nip it in the bud and other parents were encouraged by my situation to talk about it and start doing something about it. I tip my hat to her teacher. Thank you Mrs Hand. You sure are everything a teacher really should be. I know my daughter will miss you.Thanks for gaving my daughter another good year of her school life. Any new shool in the future will certainly be compared to weschester before a move is made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

Westchester is a terrific school. We moved from PA this year and my son started K here - Mrs. Driscoll is incredible and the kids are doing advance work in reading and math. I am very happy with everyone at the school. The after care program is also very good and they are very security focused -- even grandparents have to show their ID when picking up the kids. Have to love that. My son is so so happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

Love the school. I have 2 kids there and couldn't be happier. Teachers are very accessible to parents and the kids are taught to be good citizens as well as good students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

My daughter goes to Westchester and she loves it. We moved here in April so she was the new kid but they made her feel welcome. She has learned so much more here than she did at her old school in MA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

Westchester is the greatest. In our 5 years there we have not had any real problems or concerns. The teachers have been excellent, the principal very visible and involved and the remainder of the staff is always pleasant and helpful. I can't even think of any changes I would recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

My child had an excellent education at Westchester in grades K-5. The teachers and staff were all very dedicated and friendly. My daughter still talks about Mr. Saban 4 years later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

My child has had the opportunity to be a part of Westchester Elementary since Kindergarten. It has been a positive experience from day one. The teachers care about the well being of the children and invite parent participation on many levels. My child is prospering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

Best school I've seen in FL. Great teachers, environment, education, etc. Is everything a parent wish from a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I love Westchester! The teachers really are able to help the students learn while keeping parents informed. The principal is very friendly and helpful. I would reccommened this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Westerchester is a wonderful school. The principal is very engaged with the children, he is caring and firm at the same time. The teachers, I can't say enough, my son is going into fifth grade and we have had a wonderful year. The only thing that I can see needs improvement is, some new items for recess, balls etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

194 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 42%
Hispanic 26% 29%
Black 19% 23%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%53%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12405 Royal Palm Blvd
Coral Springs, FL 33065
Phone: (754) 322-8900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Glades Christian Academy
Coral Springs, FL



Parkside Elementary School
Coral Springs, FL


Riverside Elementary School
Coral Springs, FL


Atlantis Academy
Coral Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT