Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ramblewood Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1355 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2011

I am in 8th grade at RMS and i love it. The school is one of the best schools I have ever been enrolled in (and I have been in 5 different schools, but only one other middle school). The teachers there really are great and the students make me feel excepted. I came to this school in 7th grade and I thought I wouldn't like it but when I came in I really felt like I belonged there. A lot of reviews say that there is a problem with bullying and fights but as a student there i have to say that at this school I have not been bullied or have been in a fight. I am not saying that it doesn't happen, because it does, but it doesn't happen all the time. There are a ton of extracurricular activities but I am only involved in two. Yearbook, which is a good program but you have to have a lot of patience. I am also involved in the drama program which is fantastic! I love being in drama. We are working on our one act and I know that it will turn out fantastic! The school is great and I would recommend it to anyone.


Posted October 9, 2011

RMS is overall an ok school. Are principal is very nice and cares about our education. There are alot of hardworking teachers that work there but theres always some that aren't. There are some really nice substitutes but not all of them speak english very well. The kids that go here aren't always very nice. There are many that follow the crowd and steal(usually phones) and fight. They think they're all tough and think they're all that. Don't get me wrong. There are alot of really good students who actually care about school. There are alot of students who are not like that.The ones who are ruin it for everyone else. This is from a students point of view, this school is very good and I would recommend it but you have to stand up for what you want and ask for it.


Posted June 7, 2011

Serious problems with bullying and a high number of burned out teachers made for a not great experience for us this year past. Our son will not be attending this school for that very reason. Extracurricular opportunities are limited and the PTO is not very welcoming to new and interested parents. I would call this school "average" in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

My son just finished middle school at RMS and I have to say that this has been a great experience for the past 3 years. Awesome teachers!!!! We will miss this school and our wish is that it continues to be an A school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

This school is amazing. I feel comfortable with the teachers. I also love SSR (a program where you read 30 min. a day in a different period each day). Reporting an incident of bullying is always encouraged and taken care of. I feel like everyone falls into place and know one is left out. Not only is this a place for learning but it is a place for having a good time. The library is huge! There are a ton of erxtracurricular programs. One of the best and biggest is drama! We put on a show and do competitions + field trips. Wanna know da truth about this school? Well, you just got it! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

i love how teachers are there they really care for the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

My daughter graduated last June, and is currently in Honors classes at JP Taravella I attribute this to the excellent teachers and staff at Ramblewood Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

I used to go to this school. There were the best students and the best, nicest but strictest teachers. I moved and I think it was the biggest mistake and I would have loved to to stay there and I enjoyed every second of being there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2008

This is a great school! I am a student in 7th grade and i love it! The teachersvery dedicated to their students and take time and effort to make sure we understand fully and completly! I was also very impressed becuase i knew 9 or 10 people that used to go to this school! The principle was one of my moms teachers and my uncles and one of my teachers was also several of my family members had one of MY teachers! Alot of history at this school! Great students. teachers and environment. Also a great library!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

I am both a teacher and a parent at RMS. My daughter transferred in after the first quarter of school. Compared to where she previously attended she was three chapters behind in algebra. The teachers here are experienced ,care for cildren and have great acedemic expectations. Our principal and PTO are wonderful. I am glad my child attened RMS. Her experience there prepared her for High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Great School.Great Staff and a great Principle
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I went to this school many moons ago now my daugher finished ramblewood middle it is a great school i have to say she had a great learning expreience there thank you to att the teachers and ms jed and mr t love the levine family (gracee)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

It appears the teachers are uninspired and frustrated with their work. They do not reach out to the kids and make it very difficult for the kids to approach them. When this was brought to the attention of the principals, they were generous with their time and there was a lot of discussion, but no follow through and ultimately things stayed the same. Send your children to a school where the teachers love to teach and can see the potential in all their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

Ramblewood Middle School also known as RMS, is a great school. The teachers at this school are involved in the children's life, and tend to their every need. The extracurricular actvities are very well instructed. The school supplies all of the specials, including band, p.e., teen challenges, orchestra, and even library assistance. The parent involvement is on the highest scale that there can be. Whether your child is above, in the middle, or below, average, you are contacted. Conferences are requested and assigned to all of the parent twice a year. In conclusion, if your child is switching, leaving, or staying, Ramblewood Middle School is the way to go!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

Now adays, bullying has gone to a whole nother level, where students are afraid to report threats and bullying, if you think this school is different you are wrong, also, help is minimal for the LAW REQUIRING SPECIAL HELP FOR ADHD STUDENTS, i notified school upon entry and here it is 4th quarter and she is JUST NOW being tested for learning disability, which was discussed with guidance counselor during or at the beginning of the 2nd quarter, this is outrageous and i have very little hope in the coral springs school system and how they prevent harm to students against students. my daughter is NOT a fighter, nor does she now how....this worries me as well as other bus issues, which i have now removed her from the bus, to drive her! bus overcrowding, class overcrowding, it's horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

My son started at Ramblewood in the 3rd month of 6th grade last year. He transferred from Margate Middle when we were very dissapointed in the supplies and safety of the school. We are very happy with the change. Although, as a typical 13 year he complains about the fact that the teachers actually expect more from him, even he admits the teachers are more experienced and the academics better presented. The orchestra program is great, he is really learning a lot about trying out something creative and challenging. Overal the school is cleaner, safer and better run, in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

Rambelwood is a good school for average students. You do have access to extracirricular activities. Academics are fair to good. Parent involvemnet is good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2005

Great school, great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

RMS is one of the top middle schools here in Coral Springs. No matter what level of learning your child needs you will find it here. The teachers are on top of all the new education that is available. Our band program is better than most high schools. The teachers make themselves available to the parents most of the time. We also have a great principal who knows a lot of the kids and parents names. He's young and brings to his work a level of knowledge and coolness that is second to none.The kids really love the staff and you can see it in the way the teachers care for our kids.Our PTO and parent involvement are wonderful. Through fundraising we are able to buy the latest in educatioal equipment for our teachers, which in turn keeps our kids at the top of the educational ladder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

Ramblewood Middle School was a very safe and clean school. I had a great 8th grade year there. I had just moved into Coral Springs, and i felt like everyone treated me like family. The teachers teach very well. You might think that the teachers are very hard on the students but they were just perfect. I was a straight A student before i moved to Coral Springs, and i still am. The teachers understand and get to know the students very well. The grade leaders are the best also.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

371 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

373 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

370 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

431 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

423 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

549 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 35%
Hispanic 31%
Black 28%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 135%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 49%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:15 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Christina Recchi
Fax number
  • (754) 322-4385

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8505 W Atlantic Blvd
Coral Springs, FL 33071
Website: Click here
Phone: (754) 322-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Phyl's Academy
Margate, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT