Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ramblewood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 800 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2006

My daughter has attended this school for 1 yr. We moved here from North Eastern States. We are overall satisfied with this school. However, we feel that they need to continue to raise the bar for excellence. Play ground for K-2 grades needs improvement. We will work with PTA to improve. We have a very good 1st grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Excellent leadership - always concerned about the children - work closly with parents that want to be involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

Ramblewood Elementary School is a wonderful school. Both of my children attended since Kindergarten. The teachers are warm and caring, and they meet the needs of the individual students. The principal takes an active role in the day to day activities of the school. She is visable and is a very caring role model for our children. This school is a pleasure to be a parent at, as well as a teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2005

My 21 yr old daughter went through Ramblewood Elem, and the middle and high school. I now have a 9 yr old son in Ramblewood. His teachers have all been great, having the students' education and well-being top priority. My son has had some problems and all the teachers and administration have been extremely concerned and helpful through this. Being a teacher/school administrator is hard enough, but with all of the diverse nationalities and foreign languages they have to deal with makes it harder. I have nothing but the highest respect for the entire school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

I believe that the work these kids are doing in this school is way off of there levels, no matter how you divide the grades the work in this school is middle school work and impossible for a kid to learn it no matter how much teaching you do, some kids just dont understand I know me as a parent, have trouble with my childs 3rd grade work and thats sad, I have a law degree, and an accounting degree and what they give these kids is just amazing. I think this school is to demanding on trying to pump to much into a childs head.And I know my child is stressing and is very unhappy with himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

this school is great. I have no complaints whatso ever t. The teachers are very attentive and educate well. Parent involvement is high, and teacher communication is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

I have been happy with most teachers, but there are a few who need some guidence. My daughters first grade teacher had her help mainly spanish speaking kids, when she needed help and did not prepare her for the FCAT. Her fourth grade teacher makes harsh comments to the kids if they are late or miss any days regardless of the medical reason. She also has them do there homework and does not check it making us think, why should it even be done. There is a point system at lunch, if they talk in line or don't clean up there table or talk to loudly the lunch table they loss their recess. And the bathrooms are very dirty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

All in all a good school that needs some inprovements but have kept up there ratings and stats for the time my son attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

My son and daughter did and are doing fabulous! My son is excelling in eighth grade as a result of his fine start at this school. My daughter is also doing a fabulous job and is on the honor roll! The teachers there work really hard to help the children succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

As a parent of a kindergartener, I was thrilled to see the teacher took time on the first day of school to call me at work and let me know how my son was doing. She has been nothing short of a fabulous teacher all year long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2003

The teachers are eager for parent involvment which is commendable on their part. I do believe there should be a program in place geared for advanced students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 35%
Hispanic 32%
Black 27%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%53%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. BETTY COLYER
Fax number
  • (754) 322-8190

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8950 Shadow Wood Boulevard
Coral Springs, FL 33071
Website: Click here
Phone: (754) 322-8150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Maplewood Elementary School
Coral Springs, FL



Temple Beth Am Ecc
Margate, FL


Phyl's Academy
Margate, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT