Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maplewood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 698 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2008

I agree with the lack of music and art at Maplewood. I have 2 college students and 1 current student attend Maplewood and have never attended 1 play. I know other kids that have 2 per year. It is no wonder that kids are stressed out. It is a full time job to be prepared for the FCAT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

I found the school, overall: lacking in personality, cohesiveness and organization. I believe the Principal sets the tone for each school. She is the person who will greet interested parents with warmth and offer support. Parents should be encouraged to get involved in all aspects of the school, without interrupting the daily running of it. Pricipal, parents and faculty should be on the same page as to what would be most helpful for our children. I don't see it here. There are no policies in how or when a teacher should communicate with a parent. I've never been in a school where teachers are so uncooperative in communicating with parents. Children who do best in schools are the ones with involved parents. Maplewood is good now but with open communicaction, it would be a great school. So I'm asking, could we work on it. Please?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

I don't know what happened, but the FCAT reading results for Maplewood were horrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

My son loves his 3rd grade teacher so much, he's sad to leave for summer break.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Administration is too disconnected with the classroom, especially when they utilize a long term subtitute in the class. They don't read info from doctors & other therapists when you provide that info about your child. They stick the info in the file & do nothing with it. After begging for 2 years for the school to learn about my son's disabilities & what his needs are, I give up. My son's teacher said the only thing my son has learned is what I taught him at home. I will take the McKay Scholarship & put him in a special needs school...& my son is only mildly disabled. Go to your child's class. Advocate for your child. Contact the North Area district office if your child still isn't getting what he/she needs. Ms Sanford, ESE Teacher is the one positive thing I can say for the school...she is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

I agree Maplewood is a very nice school. Some of the techers are great. This year my 5th grader is ready to leave the school. She has had a great time there and also had great teachers too!( a honorol) On the second hand my second [student] is really struggleing. Who ever thought my child would be taught site words in stead of phonics? well my daughter was and now we are playing catchup. A because she is struggling in reading we are doomed with this teacher for the rest of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

Maplewood has a lot of discipline and a lot of behavior rules, consequences, etc. There acedemics are geared for fcat success. The children have a lot of work to do. There is poor access to art, music, etc. Parents who want to be involved are encouraged to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

Maplewood Elementary was an adequate school for my children when they attended five years ago. I would have liked to see more teachers take a genuine interest in making learning an enjoyable experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

My child is in the ESE program at Maplewood. So far I have no complaints. The teachers truly care about the children abd their progress.The academic programs are wonderful as well, my child loves the music teacher and the gym teacherr is fantastic. They have the Olympics every year, but they usually have it so late in the year that, the kids pictures don't make it to the yearbook and that is the only time our ESE children really get to shine. The parents in the school are truly dedicated although most ESE parents tend to not get involved because of work scheduling or otherwise. They seem to need their own PTO.My only real complaint is the school does not go on field trips with the ESE I think this is doing a great disservice to our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

Mostly very good teachers, but some bad ones too whom everyone wonders why they are still teaching. Administration is accessable, but not overly proactive or creative. A few good teachers/staff are wearing too many hats to do their main job well. New modular units have allowed specials classes such as art and music to return to dedicated classrooms rather than coming into classrooms to teach. Some past air quality/mold problems that seem to be addressed due largely to parent complaints. Parent involvement is fair, with a handful of the same volunteers doing the majority of the work. School demographics are changing and Latin Americans need to be brought into the fold better. Very good safety procedures but discipline plans for behavior issues could be more effective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

My child is at Maplewood and is very happy. We had a wonderful 1st and 2nd grade experience. Like any school, the right teacher can make all the difference. The problem is some teachers have been at the school too long and are stagnate in their teaching methods. It is a small school compared to other C.S. schools and needs some physical updating. We seem to cater to children with special needs. There are many clusters of ESE children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

My son is in Maplewood elementary and not acheiving his goals because they do not want to give him the FAPE he is entitled being a child with disabilities. And he is unable to access his program. The speech therapist is not very articulate and the ESE or LEA is very condescending to parents that are new to the school. If you are a parent of a child with disabilities I would suggest to look elsewhere. I would have to say though for parents of typical children there is a PTO and lots of activities for the typical children. This would be an excellent school if they gave all children the same education with accessibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

I've had two children at Maplewood. The principal and administration is friendly, and the school is well-run for the most part. The aftercare program greatly improved this year (2005), and ensures kids do their homework, where they did not previously. Like any place, a lot depends on the individual teacher, and some are better than others. I like the gifted program because it provides extra challenge and accellerated education in line with my sons's needs. The school is secure and I feel safe sending my child there, which is a high priority for me. I wish there was more interaction with parents from school in terms of my child's individual progress, but overall it is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2005

Maplewood Elementary has the most dedicated and highlty qualified teachers to guide my children through the most important years of starting life. Encouragement and the need to make every individual student feel specail and and smart comes natual to all of the teachers and principle. I am so grateful I am apart of the 'Maplewwod Family' I know my daughter will have the motivation and self esteem to acheive at such a great level, thanks to her teacher and all staff of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

The admisistration is strong, and the 2 teachers my child has had thus far, themselves have been good. The 'specials' (art, music, science etc..) are basic, bland, unchallenging and extremely dissapointing. Little to no effort is put in above and beyond the county requirements. From what we have experienced I am not surprised they went from an A rating down to a B.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

This elementary school is top notch! Teachers highly regard and understand the need to educate our children and most importantly are qualified to do so. Administrative staff takes an involved, participatory role in the daily activities and studies of our children and with an aggressive approach to making sure all of the children learn more then the basics, they make this school number one in my book! My only regret is that my son will soon have to leave to move onto middle school and we will never find as involved of a school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

this school is one of those don't judge a book by it's cover.i was EXTREMLY disappointed. in my experience was very cold with parents as well as students. I often wondered why the school was given an A at all. The experience my children and myself went through was enough to alert family and friends that our tax dollars are going to waste! Lack of communication with parents, misunderstanding and mistreatment of handicapped children were a few others. And I wonder how much more the school hides that a parent has to go through so much red tape to be allowed to a classroom. The school unfortunately was an experience I'd love to forget! I'd just well had sent my child to a boot camp and they probably would have been more caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 36%
Hispanic 32%
Black 26%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%53%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9850 Ramblewood Drive
Coral Springs, FL 33071
Phone: (754) 322-6850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Andrew Catholic School
Coral Springs, FL


Riverside Elementary School
Coral Springs, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT