Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

3,104 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


J. P. Taravella High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Smith in the student affairs office. That is all. She's the only person who treats us with respect.

J. P. Taravella High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
I think that a lot of students are left to their own devices, teachers are more worried about retiring and summer than their education.


J. P. Taravella High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
I feel that the school backs up the teachers and never the students. Sometimes students are treated rudely, because the administrators expect all of the students to be rude. Instead of treating everyone as individuals, they are treated like second class citizens.

J. P. Taravella High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
This school has really changed. It is not the school it used to be and really more hood than I ever knew. I am so sorry and afraid to be a part of this school community.

J. P. Taravella High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
There was just an incident where an administrator Mrs. Pinazzo took flags from students who were doing nothing wrong. It was disrespectful.. Respect everyone.


J. P. Taravella High School 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Every since my daughter been at JP Taravella High School I have had no problems. Every staff there is very helpful and very nice!

J. P. Taravella High School 4

Posted February 13, 2015
- a student
As much as I'd love to give Taravella 5 stars, I can't. Taravella has amazing activities and clubs such as HOSA, JROTC, DECA, BAND, and Debate just to name a few. There are also many after schools sports with great coaches and staff such as Football and Cross-Country. Almost all of the teachers are extremely helpful and knowledgeable (the math teachers could be improved). Mr. Cerra (principal) is very involved and energetic about our schools activities. I can't give my schools 5 stars for a few reasons. The school is very dirty.There is a lot of trash around such as cafeteria food left in stairwells. There's not much of a dress code (no uniform policy) so many students dress provocatively. Students have sex on campus. The school has also become a bit dangerous. This school year there were two fires set by students in the same week. We unfortunately don't have the best security for example as students walk around smoking cigarettes or e-cigs and get away with it. The staff (such as the librarians and office workers) can be rude and unhelpful sometimes. Overall, Taravella is still an excellent school to attend.

J. P. Taravella High School 1

Posted November 17, 2014
- a student
i am being generous with one star, this school is terrible. there are so many fights and bullies in this school. i wish i could go to another school and not this one. i absolutely hate it here. the teachers and staff don't care about us students and don't even teach us anything. i wish i could get a better education because im not getting a very good one here at all.


J. P. Taravella High School 1

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
I am so very disappointed. We moved before my son started middle school and we were careful to purchase a home in an area where my children would be able to attend a great high school. People have raved about what a great school this is, but I can not agree. I have found some of the teachers to be rude and uncaring (some of them downright hositle and/or crazy), administration borderline. We are now looking for a different school :(

J. P. Taravella High School 1

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
My daughter goes to Taravella and the guidance counselor had no concern that she was failing math. Also, a girl at her school made up complete lies about my daughter and the girl told the guidance counselor the lies and believed the girl over my own daughter about stuff about my daughter. My daughter told me that her math teacher didn't teach her anything, that she just wrote notes on the board. Maybe the teachers and staff should pay more attention to students grades and help them pass.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J. P. Taravella High School
10600 Riverside Drive, Coral Springs, FL  33071
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (754) 322-2300
Last modified J. P. Taravella High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top