Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Country Hills Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 854 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2009

I have 2 children at this school. One attended the PLACE program and we were thrilled with the teachers and staff. My daughter made huge improvements. We moved our other daiughter into this school in 2nd grade and continued to love it until 3rd grade where we had the worst teacher ever! The staff did everything to help us except to actually allow us to pull her out of the class. Country Hills is great as a whole, but ask around for the best teachers because some are horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

This is our fourth year at Country Hills, not a day goes by that I am not grateful for this school, it's administration, teachers and staff. Country Hills Elementary is truly one of the best schools in Broward County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

As a parent an ESE student I am very dissatisfied. ESE students are treated like red headed step-children. The ESE classrooms are in a separate wing of the school,so there is little contact with typical peers. Parents have to fight tooth and nail to have there child included in general ed. This school has not changed with the times, they still do everything the same way as they did 20 years ago. ESE students are completely segregated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

Country Hills has a wonderful academic program but some of the teachers and the principal can be a little 'cold', even unfriendly. The PTA conducts its meetings in the morning so, if you are a working parent, you will never be able to attend and there seems to be very little room for newcomers. Everything is run by the same groups of people, parents and teachers gossip about students and, I have witnessed some heated exchanges between minority families and administration which made me uneasy because I did not feel they were being treated the way they should be. This school has an excellent reputation but seems to be lagging when it comes to treating all families fairly. They should really take a look at that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

My daughter attended Country Hills from 2006-2008 for their PLACE program. It is special education program for ages 3-5. She received both speech and occupational therapy and the program has worked wonders with my child! The teachers and staff are fantastic. Very caring and compassionate yet firm and structured. My daughter has 'graduated' out of the PLACE program but still has 1 more year of preschool so she will not be attending Country Hills next school year. However, we are moving this summer into Country Hills boundaries to ensure she will be there when she starts kindergarten. We loev Country Hills!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

We are a military family so my children have attended quite a few schools. This school is probably the best school they have ever attended. The principal, admin staff and teachers are very caring and professional. It has an excellent gifted program and science program and the music, art and PE classes are the best. I hate the whole FCAT hoopla but that is a state issue not the school's issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

Some of this information is very misleading. There are a handful of excellent teachers and some good ones. School does not challenge the kids. Classrooms are dirty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

This will be my daughters last year at CHE. The overall learning experience for my child has been very positive. The teachers treat the students with respect and kindness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

CHE has a great Principal. The science program is unbelievable. The teachers and staff at CHE are highly professional and always strive for the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2006

The academic programs seem well structured, I am pleased with his progress so far but its only been a little over a month. Reading is a huge emphasis at this school, more than math I've noticed and talked to fellow parents whose kids are in upper grades. The tardiness/punctuality policy is a bit too harsh however and too much weight is put upon being 1 minute late due to traffic or rain or such. That's about my only complaint so far, so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

I have been at Country Hills for 6 years plus,it is an excellent school, very involved parents, the best! I have put all 3 of my children through there. The principal is great, she has a wonderful staff. The teachers are terrific as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

My son and daughter attended Country Hills for a combined total of 10 years. Overall I think the school is excellent. Most of the teachers are outstanding. The kids stay motivated and want to learn. The one issue I experience for both my son and daughter was reading. Country Hills insists on teaching phonics. It was very evident when my son left Country Hills to attend Eagle Ridge. He was not as prepared for 4th grade as he should have been.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

In a city of great schools, Country Hills is the greatest. The teachers are the best, and under the leadership of an awesome principal. Parent involvment is welcome, and the programs they offer are varied. Music, Art, Science, sports and after school clubs are all available, and they have a great program for gifted children. I moved to the district just to have my kids attend this school. It's that good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

I heard so many good things about this school, however, once my children went there I was very disappointed: The curriculum is weak to say the least. Although modern data shows that the Whole Language approach and Multiage teaching do not work CHE will not move away from this practice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2005

great school...thoroughly enjoyed it...great teachers...more than I could ask for
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 7, 2005

My daughter attended this school for kindergarten through 3rd grade. She was in the multi-age classes and we absolutely loved it! All the multi-age teachers are caring and exceptional. We loved the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

My daughter is a 1st grader at Country Hills. I agree that this is an excellent school. I only have one, well, gripe. I would like to see them doing more math. Reading is very important. I just would like to see the curriculum more balanced. I would also like to see them do more projects and book reports. Overall, my daughter and I are crazy about Country Hills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Academic programs at Country Hills are very challenging and rewarding. Country Hills offers a wide variety of programs for students to expand their creativity through music, art, etc. Parents are very committed to contributing to a safe and happy learning atmosphere at Country hills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

My children attended this school for two years. I loved the support the principal gave the staff, teachers and the PTA. I enjoyed volunteering there frequently. This school recently reconfigured from K-3 to K-5 and boundaries were changed. This did help the school with an major overcrowding problem. This school also emphasized reading and a love for reading and has a program in place for struggling readers. The teaching philosphy is different from most schools with stress on centers and individual accomplishment. While I thought this great while attending, I am not so sure how effective it is now that we are experiencing another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

Country Hills is a school that holds students to high academic standards. The tests scores are consistently high. However, their method of instruction is not suited for every child. Beware that if your child does not fit into the 'box' they will fall behind and also become labled. There is an emphasis on 'Ballpark' spelling (write it the way you think it sounds). This does not work for non auditory learners. There are many bright children who do not learn the way that Country Hills teaches. If your child is having trouble at this schoool, yank them! If your child needs a structured and traditional learning environment, do not send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

143 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 24%
Black 17%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 42%53%61%
Master's degree 55%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. KELLEE STROUP
Fax number
  • (754) 322-5990

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10550 Westview Drive
Coral Springs, FL 33076
Phone: (754) 322-5950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parkridge Christian Academy
Coral Springs, FL



Leadership Academy
Coral Springs, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT