Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 912 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

This has been such a great experience for both of my children, we are sad to move onto middle school. The 7 rating is way too low. Every parent I speak to is so positive about there experience here. There are so many great teachers that truly care about their student's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

My daughter loves this school. We just moved to Coral Springs and now we plan on staying because park springs has been such a positive experience for my daughter . Compared to her other kindergarten class , she has done a complete turn around . She is loving first grade and most definitely loves her teacher she is genuine . Park Springs is the best and we are so happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

Park springs elementary, keep the students motivated and challenge them so they can reach their maximum potential. Great admin people and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

We are very happy with this school (it's our 6th year). All the teachers have been caring and good. I wish PSE went through 8th grade! Assistant Principal Ms Policastro is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Administration forms classes based on student achievement. Very hard on the teachers. Attention has to be divided in so many ways because too many students in one class are so needy. It was better when Ms. Kip was there. Each class seems to be fairly formed. Even the gifted class. All the teachers had the same types of classes.


Posted May 30, 2012

Excellent school!!! My daughter has been attending Park Springs since she was in Kindergarten and our experience couldnt be better. Her teachers have all been extremely professional and its obvious that they put in the hard work and effort to give the students a top notch education. Im a teacher myself so I know quality when I see it. Aside from the excellent staff, I must say that the extras that the school provides (winter festival, musical performances, Tuesday Nite Live etc....) give us wonderful things to look forward to all year round. Kudos to Mrs. Sheib and Mr. Levitan for all the work they put in. They are truly exceptional. Administration is always visible and the school has a wonderful inviting look and feel to it. Park Springs is a gem and we are very lucky to be a part of it. Couldnt have asked for anything better for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

Parents need to take a more active, proactive role in their children's education. Teachers are not responsible for RAISING your child; just TEACHING him or her. If your child doesn't do his/her homework, don't expect him/her to be successful. And don't blame the school when he/she fails. Don't like the FCAT? Tell your state representatives, not the teachers/principal. We would do much better if parents worked WITH us instead of AGAINST us.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 28, 2012

Both of my children have gone through Park Springs and we've had a wonderful experience. The teachers are fantastic, creative and caring. The new adminstration is doing what is in the best interest of the students. I know that my children have received a quality education and are well prepared for middle school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

This school is AMAZING!! I graduated 2 years ago from 5th grade there and now im in 7th grade. All my teachers were great! I was in wpse and a media clerk and mrs.sheib is an great media specialist.I miss pse!!


Posted June 6, 2011

The gifted teachers are very knowledgeable. You have to insist on educational testing though and not leave it up to the school. The front staff can be very rude to parents and they have a general lack of caring about student welfare especially in regards to whether they succeed at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

My daughter has been at Park Springs for 2 years and has enjoyed every moment! The teachers are wonderful and provide a disciplined yet loving environment. As an active parent, I can personally say the Administration is open minded and receptive to new ideas. The Principal is involved and accessible. Park Springs has been a wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

Park Springs Elementary school is by far one of the best elementary schools located anywhere in Broward County. The student to teacher ratio is outstanding. The teachers are very attentative to the specific child's needs. The school is located in one of the more desirable areas of Broward County, specifically Coral Springs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2010

If there is an A++++ rating, Park Springs deserves it. I have 2 children in the school. Ms Donahoe and Miss Judy (pre K) are exceptional and are two of the most caring, positive people you will ever find. Also can say that Ms Maughan deserves teacher of the year, every year, as she is also a phenomenal leader. Ms Foster, though she left, was also phenomenal. Don't forget Alyssa Stout (PTA), she is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

My daughter moved here from another state in the middle of a school year, and did just fine. I would rate this school a 5 star if they did not put so much pressure on the students with the fcat's!!! You can not judge a child on one day of testing. I wish they put as much into year round teaching as they put in fcat prep!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

Mrs. Trejo is a great teacher not evento mention a great person! She teaches, cares, inspires, guides, disciplines, motivates...there are so many great things about her. I am glad the school has her as a teacher. The guidance counselor, vice and principal are always on top of everything. It has great parents involved too. My daughter has improved so much since she started there two years ago. Not only in fcat scores, but as an individual with great values. Kids learn by example. We are very happy to have her there. Thanks to all the Staff and a very special one to Mrs. Trejo!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

My son had trouble with some kids bothering him. The guidance counselor really helped him a lot and was very caring. The carline is very long though!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

I love this school. Mrs. Maughan is my son's teacher. She is always so positive and caring. He has learned so much this year. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I just can't believe that my daughter is almost done with kindergarten. Ms. Librizzi has taught my daughter to read. She did not even know all her letters when she came to school. Now she is reading! I am so thankful for this school and her kindergarten teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

My son Jos loves his Teacher Mrs. Wolhrab...I love the results I'm receiving. Security is great and they are very organized. My son tells me all the time how much he losves his school. I'm very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

My son came to this school in the middle of 1st grade and had the best time. He is now in the 4th grade and has loved all of his teachers Everyone is so nice and caring they also all know him by his first name and that makes him feel so good. We have absolutley Loved this school and will hate leaving when that time comes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 46%
Hispanic 23%
Black 20%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%53%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ARLENE KLAASEN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-7790

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5800 Northwest 66th Terrace
Coral Springs, FL 33067
Phone: (754) 322-7750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT