Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 912 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2008

My Daughter finished Kindergarten and now heading into first grade feeling very confident in her reading and writing skills! Her Kindergarten teacher Ms. Day was great, always encouraged and challenged the children. Wonderful School, Wonderful Teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Great school! My son will be moving up to middle school next year and I only hope that the experience will be as outstanding as it was in PSE. The teachers and staff are outstanding! All around great experience and I would recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I pulled my kids out of Park Springs. The Principal was not very visible throughout the school. There were some very good teachers there, but I think they were under too much pressure to get the FCAT scores up. There was ton of FCAT prep and drilling, especially reading comp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

What a great school! My child is in first grade and has the most amazing, nurturing and loving teacher that has ever walked this planet...Ms. Foster! she has opened up my child's world. My child loves reading, writing and math. She gets very upset when her school day is over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

We moved mid-year to this school. At his previous school he was getting A's and B's consistently. Within two months, he was getting D's. Teachers were critical and yelled a lot in the classroom. If you are having trouble, you are left behind at this school. Pulled him out of this demoralizing atmosphere and put him into a private school. His GPA jumped back up to a 3.75 and he is doing very well. Counselors did not care. Principal did not care.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted November 11, 2006

When my daughter attended Park Springs Elementary School I was thrilled, absolutely loved the school. Since moving up north and attending schools up here I realize how an 'A' school would actually be a 'D' school up here. All the parents are living in a bubble thinking their children are getting a good education in a so called 'A' school. I am posting this because I was in the bubble at one time and would have appreciated someone telling me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

Park Springs does a great job helping ESE students, as I have both a gifted child and a child with ADD. The campus is safe. The teachers are okay with communication, could be better of course. That's it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

I think park springs has given my daughter the ultimate education, the teachers there are awesome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

I would greatly recommend this school to any parent. Its academics and the quality of its teachers as well as its facilities make it a very smart choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

My son's kindergarten experience with Ms. Librizzi was excellent...the next three years satisfactory. Involved parents,pleasant environment, helpful, polite office personnel. Probably true of all Florida schools now...teaching too focused on FCAT testing, and therefore, less interesting and creative...kids are frustrated, pressured and uninterested in FCAT preparation. More freedom to skilled teachers would improve overall experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

My child is in 2nd grade and has attended since Kindergarten. My experience thus far has been mixed. She had an excellent teacher in K and now in 2nd. The first grade teacher was disorganized but 'loving', students loved her parents did not. I think the teachers are the most critical element to the learning process and for the most part, Park Springs has excellent teachers. The principal is relatively new and at first communications home were not very bountiful or timely, but that has improved this year. The PTA is very involved in the school and helps provide additional activities for the students. My only concern is with the 'crowding' issue. The school is well over the average size for the district and double that for the nation. They were supposed to add a new building for additional classes in 2004...and that building is not yet even started.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

This school is the best. Parental involvement/volunteering is highly encouraged-a great way to really get to know the school. There is a real positive and fun school environment that is highly condusive to learning. I purposely moved to be in this school boundary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2004

The Principal likes others to handle her problems for her. Hard to get return calls etc. The front office staff tries to make you tell them, and if you persist you may get Assistant Principal to call you back, but never the Principal herself. It seems like Assistant Principal does all her dirty work for her. He is also very 'by the book', so it is hard to have a down to earth talk about your child. The former Pricipal allowed requests for teachers where this one does not. Do feel that they are trying to put students in classes with students at the same level. I use to love this school, but with the current administrative staff, it is just o.k. Most of the teachers are fantastic, though. Great school if your children are advanced intellectually and do not have any discipline problems at all. Otherwise, it is just fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

Both my children go to PSE. I am very happy with the staff and nurturing environment. The staff (especially the Vice Principal) is very visible and approachable with any questions or concerns. They encourage parent participation and the children come first.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 46%
Hispanic 23%
Black 20%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%53%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ARLENE KLAASEN
Fax number
  • (754) 322-7790

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5800 Northwest 66th Terrace
Coral Springs, FL 33067
Phone: (754) 322-7750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT