Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eagle Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 811 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2005

their first and somtimes only concern at times is Fcat. writing and other subjects do not get much time devoted. The principal is the one behind this and should not be in charge of this or any school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

New to a BIG school - felt lost and unwelcome, tried to get involved with school functions-was basically blown off and ignored. Also feel detentions are handed out way too willingly, not enough student individual attention, when a student is struggling it needs to be identified immediately, and with suggestions for help. I feel we got none of the above. Was severly disappointed in fundraising outcome of products, they were weak at best, it is a great school on paper with statistics and figures, but if I had known what I know now, my child would have attended another school or perhaps even a private school. Our Eagle Ridge experience has been disappointing, which is sad becuase when we moved to Florida we could not wait for our child to begin at Eagle Ridge. The positive note is, the Principal is very accessible and the school is clean. Loved the extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

As a Kindergarten mom, I have nothing to compare it to, only to say that I am really happy overall with the school. My children love going to school. The principal is always on the ball and is the only one who has 'breakfast with the principal' once a month. Other people from other schools that I have talked to said they never heard of this. It's a wonderful time to talk with her about important issues on your mind. The only thing that worries me is that although you are suppose to sign in when going into the school, the gates are open and anyone can walk in. There are always 'hiccups' and things to work out when there is a new school. Overall I love the school and most importantly, my children are HAPPY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

This school is struggling this year due to a recent reconfiguration from 4-5-6 to K-5. The administration is having a bit of a hard time getting down to the level the K-3 students need. Lack of funding has also affected the in-room supplies for the K-3 classrooms. This school has no playgrounds. A 3-5 playground will be ready for use before school end 2005, however, the K-2 has just broken ground. I do feel my child is covering alot of material in 1st grade and homework is lasting 30 -40 minutes on the average. However, I feel my 4th grader would benefit from a stricter course program. I have been disappointed in the music, art and PE programs in this district in general. Broward County has implemented a class reduction mandate and most specials are 'on wheels' in all classes. The schools in this district are almost all overcrowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

Fantastic school! We, as parents, could not be more satisfied! For the first time, my son is excited about attending classes. The teachers are awesome and the atmosphere is inviting. We highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2004

Excellent School with a mixture of extra cirricular activities that students can join and learn more about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

My daughter attended Eagle Ridge this year and she has learned so much in just the short year she was there. I am very pleased with Eagle Ridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

This was camelot! we will miss the 4-6 configuration and look forward to continuing to hear great things about eagle ridge; where children get the best education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2003

A wonderful school! Most parents choose the option of having their 6th graders remain at Eagle Ridge so they begin middle school in the 7th grade. This innovative program makes the transition to 7th grade a smooth one for both parents and students. The after school clubs are a fun way for the students to enhance their education. Overall we found the school to be excellent in every way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2003

I think this is a wonderful school. Teachers are very involved with their children and it seems the principal cares about the children here. They are not just numbers but individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2003

This is a wonderful school. My three children have gone there. Everyone aims for excellence at Eagle Ridge, from the principal to the janitors. They are always trying new ways to improve. They set high expectations for everyone. This is a magnet school that only houses grades 4, 5, and 6. Miracles happen there in 3 short years. Well done, Eagle Ridge


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Hispanic 23%
Black 13%
Asian 10%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%53%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11500 Westview Drive
Coral Springs, FL 33076
Phone: (754) 322-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parkridge Christian Academy
Coral Springs, FL


Leadership Academy
Coral Springs, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT