Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Glades Christian Academy

Private | K-8 | 135 students

G.C.A. is a loving, Christian environment with small classes.

 
 

Living in Coral Springs

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $169,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2011

My daughter and I LOVE this school!! This is her 3rd year attending there, and we love the teachers and office staff. They are all not only very caring and treat your children as if they were their own, but they teach them to handle themselves with a Christian worldview at all times. Plus, the fact that they are so family friendly and active is wonderful for working parents who enjoy being able to jump in and volunteer whenever their schedule allows them to. Can't say enough about this excellent school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

This is my son's second year there are no words or stars enough to grade this school have been a blessing to my son the teachers everybody extremely professional & excellent christian background. After a terrible car accident he had brain stroke and unable to move his left arm he had to start from the beginning struggling in public school no help no attention too many kids etc. I extremely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

This is my son's second year and he has learned so much, and I love the fact that he is given a great christian background. The teachers are very caring and loving....great communication! Very family oriented school and great office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

My son has attended Glades Christian for almost four years now and he has never been happier! Before attending Glades he was shy and struggling academically but thanks to wonderful and caring teachers he is thriving!!! I can not say enough good things and would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

My son loves going to school! This is his first school experience and he is learning so much. He comes home singing the songs he has learned in chapel, he talks about his Bible lessons and talks about all that he has done throughout the day. The parents are very involved, the staff is friendly and has made us feel very welcome as a new family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

My daughter is in her 3rd year at this school. We just love it! I attended Christian school from Kindergaten to 12th grade, and it is very important to me that my daughter have the same opportunity. I love that she is getting a Christian education by a very attentive, loving staff. I also love the principal. She is very approchable and is genuinley concerned for the students. The entire staff have been wonderful to us! I also find their tuition to be comperable to other private schools, but with much smaller classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

Best kept secret. Very professional office/administration staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

I believe this school is on the right track, but it is over priced and the principle is unprofessional.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 27% 29%
Black 10% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Christopher Sykes
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (954) 825-0872

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Tennis
  • Tumbling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Brain Bowl
  • Drama club
  • Photography
  • Recycling club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Lakeview Drive
Coral Springs, FL 33071
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 755-6405

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Riverside Elementary School
Coral Springs, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT