Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 742 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

My child has been at Parkside Elem. Now for 3 years. Once they started Compass Program (project base) my child has excelled and loves going to school because they do "fun" learning. The Compass teachers are amazing and caring, always trying to get the kids to think outside the box. Parkside has a new principle this year 2013-2014 the jury is still not out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Both my boys are excelling this year and very engaged in the project based program they have at Parkside. Their teachers are wonderful and they communicate with the parents all the time, office and administrative staff work really hard to keep the kids safe. Our 2nd year there and we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Administration full of liars. They promise the world and don't do anything. My son is an ESE student and has been there for 2 years. He started in the pre-school PLACE Program and it was a horrible journey. Just to inform that I had to ask for multiple meetings with the principal, ESE director and teacher throughout the years for many many reasons. For example: teacher not being ESE certified, PLACE program teacher later went on leave for half the year and they had more than 5-6 substitute teacher whom were also not ESE certified. I had to involve Broward County Program specialist and ask for OT tech observations. Also had to hire an Advocate to defend my case. Child was coming home upset every day with bad notes. He was just not himself and all other parents were upset as well with the overall school setting. Now he is in Kindergarten in a Mainstream classroom. Teacher is very good but not ESE knowledgeable and needs positive behavior structure and classroom assistant is very serious and an uneducated older person but Administration does not want to help. Speech therapy has not started yet and is not under compliance. I'm working on transfering him another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

Parkside Elementary School is an excellent school. The front office is very friendly and efficient. The teachers are up to date with the latest in education and the latest technology. The administration is highly effective and always answers any questions I may have. I am proud to be a part of Parkside Elementary!!!


Posted April 12, 2012

What a WOW school! I've been very pleased with the education my children have received. The teachers are caring and knowledgable. One of the few schools with PE, Art, and Music. Administration and office are very nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

The teachers are having a hard time adjusting to a rapidly changing student body. It is now the third worst elementary school in Broward county on writing test scores. The Principal is nice but clueless. The VP is a grouch. The students are just existing. Bulling is a problem they are trying to get a handle on, but have yet to achieve success. The school violates state mandates about daily exercise, by not having all students have recess.The Principal lets the teachers decide, and because of this I know 4 classes that only got outside 4 times this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

My daugther now is finishing 6th grade and greatly misses Parkside. My son is finishing the 1st grade. Parkside is an awesome school and has a great aftercare program with Mrs. Wilkerson!!!! They are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

Walk through the hallways and cafeteria and you will not believe what you hear. Staff screams at children constantly. Children at dismissal look very unhappy. Administration is pretty hands-off. They do have some good teachers but most seem very burnt-out. Very small field for P.E. Looks pretty on the outside but the inside leaves a lot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

My daughter just transfered there from another state....she hates it! The girls in 5th grade are nothing but mean and love to bully others. Maybe its just a Florida thing...most of the people we have encountered are just rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

It is a nice school. I have been ther for six years. Very nice teachers that help you understand what they are teching, having lots of fun at the same time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2006

The most devoted teachers I've ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

Parkside Elementary is a relatively new school. My son attended in the 2004-2005 school year. This is a wonderful school. The quality of the teachers and academic programs are great. They encourage parents to be involved and frequently ask for parent participation. Security is number 1. It seems to be a bit restrictive at first but they are all about child safety comes first. The school inspires children and their creative talents. State of the art music and art labs and have a variety of sport programs and extracurricular activities available. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

The school is very small and has portables. Although it was just built it still needs work inside. The classes are very small and the teachers are young and not very experienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2005

My stepson is in the 4th grade in this school. He seems to be truly reaching his potential with the aid of his teachers and the caring of the entire staff. The school provides a great computer lab, sciene fairs, different programs, and the opportunity for parents to be as involved as they wish, or not involved at all. This school is exactly what I would have picked for my stepson had I been able to select all the features that I would like to see in a school. I give this school the highest rating possible for all the caring, education, and personal attention that is provided for the kids, escpecially considering that this a public school in a world full of overcrowding and lackluster educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

My 5th grader just transferred from another local school to Parkside and loves it. His teacher has been very helpful in his transition period and after only a few weeks has been able to evaluate his performance in some challenging areas for him and has made an effort to help him resolve these challenges before he goes onto middle school. I look forward to another 8 years there with my next 2 kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2004

Parents need to take resposibility and stop blaming their childrens problems on the school and the teachers. I've had nothing but very positive experiences since Parkside opened. My hat goes off to the teachers, principal and staff! Get involved, volunteer! Support is there if you request it and the teachers are very receptive to helping and challenging the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2003

It's interesting to read the comments of other parents, everyone has there own perspective. My experience is that we had an extraordinary teacher last year, who went beyond the call and gave my child enrichment course work. This year is a different experience. The teacher has good intentions, I assume, but my child is not challenged enough. I feel that there are opportunities for child who need extra help with reading or perhaps math but not enough is done for above average to gifted students. This is a major concern for me. In addditon, the ESE office needs to be more open and communicative about options available to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2003

I currently have 3 sons attending Parkside. My older son has been attending Parkside since it opened. We have had very positive experiences with the faculty and curriculum. In fact one of my sons was having difficulties with reading and the teacher worked closely with my son and my husband and I to ensure that this problem was resolved. Thanks to the extra efforts of this wonderful teacher my son was able to achieve the necessary results to move on to second grade. He is now an avid reader. In addition, Dr. Miles is a fantastic principal. She is very dedicated to the students and is always available to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

I agree the school is not what it should be. The new principal had big shoes to fill. As a parent I feel you get back as much as you give. SAF and SAC have the most say when it comes to school money and how it is spent. That is those are the meetings to go to if you have changes to make. We had a brand new PTA last year and they did a great job. They had a lot of issues to fix from the years before. So I can not agree with your comments about PTA. If you felt they could do better why were you not there to support PTA and your child? PTA is always looking for new people and not many parents show up to the meetings and no new people ran this year. If you are unclear about what 2002 PTAa did for the school last year I am sure one of the board members can fill you in. I was at the meeting and saw the list of contributions to the school. You get what you give remember.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2003

As the other parent stated the school building is state of the art, it seems that the staffs main concern is the decor of the school year. Children having learning difficulties are not given any testing or extra help. the teacher states that there is only one of her and 30 students. The PTA sponsers very little for the children and gives back even less. I only wish I had the money for private school, or could get a reassignment approved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

125 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 32%
Hispanic 32%
White 27%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%53%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LANEIA HALL
Fax number
  • (754) 322-7890

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10257 Northwest 29th Street
Coral Springs, FL 33065
Phone: (754) 322-7850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Atlantis Academy
Coral Springs, FL


St Andrew Catholic School
Coral Springs, FL




Coral Springs Montessori
Coral Springs, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT