Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westglades Middle School 4

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school with great teachers. My child is finishing up his years at Westglades Middle and has had a great experience and is ready for High School!

Westglades Middle School 1

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
If you are an average student you will do great. If you need more run away. Teachers are not wanting to challenge students. That would mean they have to work too. When your child is in trouble for doodling in reading because she read the book and finished the book she brought from home what should she do. She was finishing her other work and behaving. OMG that was a problem. Finishing a book early is shunned upon and reading another book that is above the class is not even thought about. Little to challenge the higher thinking students here. You have no one to care and no ability to be in with the class you belong to challenge and push you to grow. Sad this is an A rated school and we moved here because this is a good school. Rethink this school.


Westglades Middle School 4

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
Westglades Middle School--we moved to Florida in the fall of 2011 and specifically to Parkland because we heard that their public schools were the best in the county. Registration of our son was very easy with affable and supportive administrative staff. They had a student walk with him to his classes during the first day which helped ease my son's anxiety with changing to a new school. Overall, I found the teachers very accessible by email and his progress in each class easy to follow on the on-line grading system. The curriculum is fast-paced and if parents don't have the time or inclination to monitor and tutor as necessary (and my guess is that most students do need assistance to some degree), they do provide after school tutoring for a fee. The one issue that I have seen is that it is difficult for a student to ask a question after class because they only get 5 minutes between classes. Trying to get an answer by sending an email may not be a timely option. I would recommend that each teacher reserve 5 minutes before the class period ends for students to ask questions privately with the teacher.

Westglades Middle School 1

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
Teachers should be receptive of students differences and needs and more concerned of improving and making learning more interesting and exciting for kids. PE class should be organized, guided and not have all 6th, 7th and 8th graders together. If your child needs help or support in any area you will not find any support nor guide. If your kid is athletic or into sports dont consider this school.

Westglades Middle School 1

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
Not a good school for children who need a bit more individualized attention from teachers and administrative individuals. If your child has no problem following the school's curriculum and can learn on their own, then your child won't have a problem with this school. However, from my experience with my family over the last 3 years, children who require specialized attention or have additional needs are pushed by the wayside by teachers, administrators and top officials in this school, focusing most of their attention on those students who require the least amount of effort to teach. Most teachers here don't have enough training to handle the needs of individual students who may require more attention than others, which is a shame. Every teacher should be concerned whether each student in their class is able to understand and absorb the materials. Teachers here are also not receptive to concerned parents who would like more feedback on their child's progress and who work with their children outside of the school. If your child has any type of learning disability, don't even think about enrolling in this school. They will do nothing for you or your child.


Westglades Middle School 4

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
We moved from NY when my daughter was entering 6th grade. (1 1/2 years ago) We were coming from a higly rated district with exceptional parent involvement and an advanced music program. We are pleasantly surprised at the outstanding music program in this school, the quality of the teachers, and although any school could use more parent involvement, there is a good amount of dedicated parents at this school.

Westglades Middle School 4

Posted June 11, 2012
- a parent
My son just completed his first year (6th grade) at Westglades Middle School. My wife and I found the school to be a safe and effective learning institution. We had plenty of interaction throughout the year with his teachers and found the school overall to be "Above Average" in all ways.

Westglades Middle School 5

Posted January 17, 2011
- a community member
Great school the best middle school in broward and Palm Beach counties,advanced courses on par with the courses found in the North east. Good teachers and small class sizes.


Westglades Middle School 4

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Westglades Middle School 5

Posted January 29, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westglades Middle School
11000 Holmberg Road, Coral Springs, FL  33076
(754) 322-4800
Last modified Westglades Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westglades Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top