Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broward Community Charter School

Charter | K-5 | 106 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2007

My son was in the west campus for kindergarten it was totally a mess every morning the class next to his seemed very organized and the teacher was younger and on top of issues i could tell. They have no hot lunch program-no cafeteria ,no computers you see 1 or 2 but never used. I think they try but cant succeed. Mr drag was great but i am not sure of the safety, getting in and out there were always some sort of distraction in the mornings and no one checked for strangers. I will try this school for a year or possibly 6 months and then see how it is going and then that's it i am pulling my son out the class size is not low
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

We took our child out of a local Coral Springs school to put her here because of the Principal, teachers, curriculum and size of the school and classes. We are pleased with the range of academic exposure and with the care that the kids receive from the teachers and all the staff there. As a school with just over 200 students, many of them new to the school, coming from other districts, a few ESL and ESE students and the probability of lower scores for the school is to be expected. It is not a reflection on the ability of the teachers. It is also not a reflection of the capacity or potential for learning of the individual students there. It simply speaks to how easily the results of these tests can be skewed, with fewer children to take the test in each grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

The smaller class sizes at BCCS have helped our 5th grader tremendously. She started at BCCS in the 3rd grade. Comparing her academic records from previously attended 'A' schools with her current records at BCCS; it is very clear that the change in atmosphere has helped her to focus and excel. Our children are receiving a quality education at BCCS in a very warm, encouraging and family-like atmosphere. BCCS is open to parent involvement and concerns at ALL times. Due to not enough students taking the FCAT in it's first and second years, you will not find a rating on the broward county school system website. However, with the students who did take the FCAT, the school would have been rated an 'A' for the '05-'06 academic year. We are confident that BCCS will receive an 'A' this year for their first official Sunshine State Standard 'grade'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

Mr. Drag is dismissive to parents when approached about any kind of problem they are having, and the school is not organized at all. The classes are overcrowded, and our kids are not getting the most out of their education. Parents were told that if a child is behind, they would get the extra attention because of having 2 teachers in the class, and the kids who were ahead would be given more of a challenge. None of that is true, the kids get nothing! The focus of BCCS is art...its more like art is 2 times a month! No hot lunch, no organized PE classes, and no computers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2007

BCCS is still very unorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

I took my second grader out of an 'A' rated Coral Springs school to try the new west campus and we love it. His teacher is by far the best we have ever had. The principal is so hands on and available. Their are none of the behavior problems we were so sick of in the public schools. It is a nice small atmosphere and my son is thriving.They actually teach them things that aren't on the fcats and sats! You can't put a price on a love of learning and we are happy we got in when we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

I have not been impressed by the quality or attitude of either the staff or leaders of this school. Their curriculum is exactly the same as any other Broward County School. I removed my child, as have many other parents. I would not endorse attendance, unless you have a lot of time on your hands and live across the street from their facility.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 26, 2006

:-(My child is attending the new campus on Coral Ridge Drive and I must say the curriculum is unacceptable. My child is moving backwards rather than forward. The work that he is carrying home is equivalent to a kindergartners work. My child is in the third grade and is not learning anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

I have nothing but good things to say about this school. They took my daughter who was 'Failing as a student' in public school and were actually very interested in what they could do to make her a GREAT student. She is now on the honor role thanks to the hard work of all the staff. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

Parents: Beware! This charter school is a Mess! The teachers don't know what they're doing. The principal is only concerned about himself and knows Nothing about education. This school is a mess and should be closed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

I was satisfied with the charter school overall there were a few kinks still to be worked out but overall the principal was always around overseeing and encouraging the children as well as the parents. I had not been at a school that had such parent dedication in such a long time that I was speechless at our first PTSO meeting. I can't say enough about the teacher my children had .They helped throughout the year keeping me in loop with activities and concerns. They both could answer specific questions and concerns I had at any time without skipping a beat! But most importantly they were treated as individuals not as numbers in a classroom as it had been in the past schools. I am very grateful to have found a good community as well as a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

Most of the parents believe charter schools are a great option and certainly it is. But BCCS has to improve academically since its results in the FCATs are not the best. It s a relatively new school and they are working hard ... we hope to see a great improvement soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

I am very disappointed with my son's experience at Broward Community Charter. The environment in the class was very negative and they did nothing to move children ahead. The classroom was very disorganized and the children were always on 'stand by' as the teachers got their act together. This is a new school and I will be surprised if they are able to stay in business with the staff they have hired, including the principal. I would recommend staying at an established school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

14 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

17 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 58%
Hispanic 25%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%53%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CHANA POMMELS
Fax number
  • (954) 345-1199

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11421 Northwest 56th Drive
Coral Springs, FL 33076
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 345-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Leadership Academy
Coral Springs, FL


Parkridge Christian Academy
Coral Springs, FL


Parkridge Christian Academy
Coral Springs, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT