Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Discovery Middle Charter School

Charter | 6-8 | 161 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

This has its ups and downs but this school and its teachers help you learn the material and show you it if you need help. This is one of the best schools my son has ever went to he used to be getting C's and D's but ever since he went to discovery his reading went up and now he is getting A's and B's.


Posted September 20, 2013

My special needs daughter seems to be ignored. No homework of any significance. Not much classwork in her take-home folders. They worry more about appearances than teaching children. They have a dress down day on Friday and charge two dollars for the privilege. However, they sent my daughter home because "her skirt/pants were too short", they were not. Creepy. The Taliban are employed here and they run the dress code like a madrasa. Comply or suffer. They would rather send children home and quarantine them in a room over a subjective rule than actually teach them math, science, reading....My daughter dresses herself and has no interest in boys or wearing a short skirt/pants to drive interest to her. She is there to learn. They will fail, again, every year with this approach with the lowest test scores in Florida.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Discovery Middle Charter School is nothing more than a money draining drag on Broward County Taxpayer's. This particular school has no concept of a quality education, professional conduct from it's staff, or the ability to produce an environment of academic excellence. Let's put funding back into our public schools where it has value; not into a charter school group like this, that parasitizes the system for personal gain!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

I love my school because it is simply an excellent school! I can log on to view my child's grades and email the teachers from the same website. The school does a lot to get the parents involved monthly. They even have certain nights to meet up at Mc Donalds and other various locations. The entire staff is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

THIS SCHOOL IS AWFUL!!!! Its so bad and the most ghettoest school ever! It claims to be an american school but it mixes kids from bad neighborhoods. My friend was bullied and the principal knew and did NOTHING. She was about to get BEAT UP. I dont recommend this school to no one!


Posted September 5, 2012

It is A HORRIBLE SCHOOL! DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS TO THIS SCHOOL! IT HAS Horrible teachers and the surroundings are SO BAD! It is tone of the most ghettoist schools you will ever find. The community is so bad. Please do not put your children in this school. You will NOT regret it.


Posted February 27, 2010

At first the school was what the other lady or guy said. but now there is a computer lab, better discipline for the students, we have TWO PE teachers, we have an art, music, and spanish class, and the teachers are all great. the school is still new, but its improving every year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2009

I am so dissapointed in this school. I expected 'private school' quality with technology in all classrooms (as advertised). All we got was chaos, unsanitary bathrooms (no soap or towels), no PE or Art, and no computers! My child has been hurt via bullying, wrote up the incidents and nothing changed. The teachers were attentive, however due to budget cuts, were not available after school or during lunch for conferences. The distruptions in the classrooms and hallways escalated to a state that my daughter felt unsafe. I have now placed her in a small private school and she is happy and secure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

hello.This school is a very great school. but I dont think its fair for US middle schoolers to have 7 hours and 30mins of school each day. I mean all other middle schools only have 6 hours and its very tiring for us middle schoolers to wake up at 8 and end school at 3:30 . This school is very fun , but many priviliages have been taken away from us. This school is EXTREMELY Serious about bullying and respect. But lately right now im not really liking the school because of all the horriable things that have happened lately many people have been making fun of others becaus ethey are different . i would recommend this school , but the rules have changed , and we have stricted teahers
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 61%
Hispanic 25%
White 8%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%53%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CHANA POMMELS
Fax number
  • (954) 345-1199

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11421 Northwest 56th Drive
Coral Springs, FL 33076
Website: Click here
Phone: (954) 345-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Leadership Academy
Coral Springs, FL


Parkridge Christian Academy
Coral Springs, FL


Westglades Middle School
Coral Springs, FL


Coral Springs Middle School
Coral Springs, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT